WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND IS AN ALCOHOLIC

He can drink 100 barrels of alcohol a day; refused to pay back N1m I borrowed on his behalf —

Tinuke had sued for divorce on the accounts of lack of care, battery and indifference to her state of barrenness.

Toye, when the claims were read to him, did not accede to divorce.

“My lord, my marriage to my husband was nothing but a mistake. Rather than enjoyed it, I endured it for the six years we were together.

“While other men dot on their wives, my husband took to beating me. He would descend on me with heavy blows and would not let me go until I bled from the wounds I incur from his beating. At some instances I would nurse a swollen face for days.

“He often fought with me when he was drunk because I always complained of his irresponsible and disgraceful behaviour. He could drink a hundred barrels of alcohol in a day and would not leave the joint until it was late in the night. He would stagger home at unholy hours and wake up our tenants with his noise. When I complain he would sometimes give me a slap which would blur my vision for a moment.

“My lord, our marriage was a childless one but he never cared. He was indifferent to my plight and watched me running from pillar to post seeking for help. He refused to go to the hospital with me for medical check up and also failed in attending to the issue spiritually.

“I made a report of him to his parents on several occasions but they always took side with him and never showed concern about our childless state. They made it obvious they never loved me, “Tinuke told the court.

“My lord, I experienced nothing but setback for the six years. I took a N500, 000 loan from a bank twice on his behalf to boost his business but he never paid me back. I’m presently indebted to some people because of him. He also owes me personally a reasonable amount and has refused to make a refund.

“I moved out of his home the last time he beat me; he beat me blue black and left me with a swollen face and a bloodshot eye. I was ashamed to inform my parents of what happened while I put up with my sister for a while.

“All I pray the court is to put an end to this our unhealthy relationship and grant me grace to pack my belongings from his house, “she concluded.

Bauchi traders get N1Bn Interest-free loan from gov
“My lord, I don’t accede to divorce, ”Toye stated.

“All she said was an exaggeration. It’s true I drink, but I don’t drink to the point of getting drunk. She knew I was drinking before she married me.

“I don’t deny the fact that she used to borrow me money and in appreciation for her support, I pamper and cherish her. But she never ceased to misbehave which often caused misunderstanding between us but there was never a time I beat her.

“She left home the last time we had a clash. The next day she came with her sister to pack her belongings from my house, he stated.

Ruling after listening to both parties, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade dissolved their marriage and ordered the defendant to allow the plaintiff pack her belongings from his house.