WTF AFRICA-WIFE SEH HUSBAND LOCK HER UP AND EAT OUT THE FOOD

He’s in the habit of locking me out, eating up the food I used my money to cook’

UwagweOja Oba/Mapo Court C Customary C, Mapo, Ibadan, has dissolved the four-year-old union between Aminat Sheriff and Ajani Sheriff.

Aminat had sought for divorce on the accounts of irresponsibility and lack of care by the husband.

She further prayed the court to grant her custody of their children.

“My lord, it’s better to be separated from my husband than live like a window. I carry all the responsibility in our home from feeding, clothing and sending our children to school to the paying of house rent.

“My husband feels unconcerned about what is happening to me and our children. Any time I complain he beats me mercilessly.

“Sometimes when I struggle to prepare a nice meal, he will find an excuse to fight me and send me out of the house locking the door behind him.

“My husband will serve our kids a small portion of the food and eat up the remaining. He will then open the door to me when he’s finished eating.

“My lord, I’m tired of his beatings and while my health is deteriorating by the day. I don’t love him any more, please separate us, “she told the court.

Ajani refused to come to court after being served a court summon twice.

Ruling, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade dissolved their marriage and granted custody of their four children to the plaintiff.

The defendant was directed to pay N10, 000 monthly as their children’s feeding allowance. He was also mandated to be in charge of their education and health care.