WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND TRY USE DEM BABY FI MONEY RITUAL

He stole my N50, 000, attempted to use our baby for ritual —Wife

drinkA woman, Folashade Ahmed has dragged her husband, Olayinka Ahmed before Oja Oba/ Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, praying it to dissolve their five-year-old marriage because of her husband’s bestial act.

She further implored the court, if her prayer was answered, to grant her custody of their two children so as to give them adequate care.

“My lord, I’m tired of my husband’s bestial acts and the kind of lifestyle he has subjected me to.

“He seeks every opportunity to beat me. After beating me to a pulp, he will lock me up in our apartment and go out with the key. This is a picture I took on one of the occasions he dealt me with me brutally. (She handed the picture over to the court registrar as proof).

“Our neighbours had on many occasions, come to my rescue by forcing the door open and letting me out. The last time he beat me, I sustained serious injury and was hospitalised for days.

ALSO READ: Court dissolves 25yr-old marriage over husband’s behaviour

“He once beat my mum blue-black for interfering in our differences, “the plaintiff stated.

“I reported him to his mother who admonished me to be patient with him and also try and endure. According to her, she suffered the same fate in the hands of his father.

“My husband lives a fake life. He likes to give the impression that he has a lucrative business and uses to mention big sums of money when discussing on the phone. Despite this display, he will still come back and steal my money. Few weeks ago, he stole my N50, 000 and is yet to refund it.

“I look after our children’s welfare and pay their school fees as at when due. He never gives a dime towards these.

“My lord, he attempted to use our 11-month-old baby for ritual. He took her away from home for two weeks without my knowledge. Neither did he disclose her whereabouts He brought her back only after I threatened to report him and his mother at the police station, “she told the court.

“It is true we always fight and one major reason for this is that her mother has never been in support of our marriage. She always instigates my wife against me.

“My wife is always meddling in our neighbours’ affairs and these often result in misunderstanding and sometimes fight between us and them.

“I’m not an irresponsible person as she had painted me. I carry out my responsibilities towards my family dutifully, “he said.

Adding to the evidence given by the couple were that of their parents.

Olayinka’s mother stated thus:”My son no doubt, has a notorious character. I have done my best in discouraging him from toeing his father’s footsteps, but all my efforts have proved abortive.

“His wife is also not better. She hates to see any of her in-laws in their house. She turns cold towards us and doesn’t give us any attention till we leave.”

“Olayinka hindered my daughter from acquiring adequate education. He impregnated her while in secondary school. I fainted and was on admission for days when I learnt she was pregnant.

“She almost lost her life while putting to bed and I was regarded as a witch. I allowed her to move in with Olayinka after much plea and promises from his family to take care of her. A month after this, he started maltreating her. I took her to Osogbo so that she could start life afresh, but she went back to him and the beating continued.

“He has no regard for me and addresses me rudely. The day I made an attempt to mediate in their differences, he almost snuffed life out of me. He beat me till I almost fainted, “she concluded.

Having listened to all parties, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade observed that their relationship had broken down irretrievable.

Ruling, he dissolved their union and granted custody of their two children to the plaintiff.

The defendant was asked to pay the sum of N10, 000 monthly to the plaintiff for their children’s upkeep and be in charge of their education and health.