WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND WANT DOUBLE PORTION

A woman, Vilomina Starley has told Oja Oba/Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, she’s no more interested in her 25-year-old marriage to her husband, Odeta Starley.

Vilomina alleged that her husband had shirked his responsibility as breadwinner and was in the habit of beating her at any given opportunity.

She, therefore, urged the court to terminate their union and grant her custody of their three children.

The defendant failed to show up in court after being served a court hearing thrice.

The plaintiff told the court while giving her evidence that: “My lord, it’s better to be alone than be married to an irresponsible and shameless man like my husband.

“He reiterates it every now and then that he’s the head of the home, but does nothing to back up his claim.

“I’ve been the one shouldering the responsibility of running the home since we got married 25 years ago.

“He doesn’t know what sacrifice I make in ensuring our belongings are not thrown out by our landlord. I deny myself of many things so as to ensure our rent is paid. He has never made any effort to pay the rent because he believes I will pay it.

“Our children have stopped asking him for their needs because any time they do, he will shout on them and ask them to come to me.

“I feed and clothe the whole family from my little income. He takes a double ration when eating. After eating and belchings, he would then complain that the salt in the soup was not enough or that the fish was small. He’s always asking for more food.

“His best way of showing gratitude for all I do in the home is to beat me, “she said.

“He was introduced into a business which fetched him a reasonable income. This change in his financial status got into his head and he started misbehaving at home and throwing orders at me. The peace in our home was finally eroded.

“He later sent me packing. I moved out and rented another apartment.

“He got frustrated when he went bankrupt again and sought every opportunity at fighting me. He accused me of turning our children against him.

“He came to my new apartment, beat me blue black, threw me out and locked the place up.

“My lord, no reasonable person acts the way he does. I want to be permanently free from him, “she said.

After listening to her, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade, observed that her love for her husband has waned. He further stated that the defendant’s refusal to come to court after being served a court hearing thrice shows he was not interested in saving his marriage.

Giving his judgment, Odunade dissolved their marriage and gave custody of their three children to the plaintiff.

The defendant was asked to pay N8, 000 monthly as the children’s feeding allowance and be responsible for their education and health care.