WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH SHE NEVA DUH NOTHING AND HUSBAND PUT HAR OUT

A woman, Nimofatu Adewunmi has approached Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, seeking the dissolution of her nine-year-old marriage to her husband, Abass Adewunmi.

Nimofatu told the court that Abass called her last year and ordered her to pack her things and move out of his home without giving any reason for his decision.

She added that since she moved out with their three children, her husband had not deemed it fit to ask after her and the children let alone make provision for them.

She thus prayed for divorce and custody of their children.

The defendant refused to agree to the plaintiff’s plea for divorce until he had listened to the suit she had brought against him.

The plaintiff stated, “It is glaring that my husband doesn’t love me anymore.He is no longer interested in our marriage. Therefore, there is no reason for me to continue to stay in the marriage, “the plaintiff told the court.

“I was dazed the day he called me to pack my things and move out of his house. I didn’t believe it was happening to me.

“I reported him to my parents, they were shocked at his behaviour, but told me there was no more room for me in their house. They told me to look for an accommodation and promised to pay the rent which they did.

“I also reported him to his family members; but all they said was that I should make sure I take good care of the children. Neither him nor his family members contributed to our children’s upkeep.

“Since he doesn’t care if my children and I are alive or dead, we can as well do without him. I, therefore request the court to separate us so that I can move on with my life. “

The defendant, after listening to the suit his wife brought against him, agreed to a divorce, but disagreed that the plaintiff be granted custody of their children.

“I have listened to all she had to say and since she wants our marriage dissolved, then, let it be. But I pray that the custody of the children be granted me and not her because she is now living with another man, the defendant said.

“It is true that I told her I could no longer afford the rent of the house we were living in and that she should move her things out.

“When she was leaving, she left with all the property including the bed. All she left was a chair. If I threw her things out as she stated, would she have left with those things?, “he asked.

“We have had misunderstandings before then which, on many occasions, ended up in fighting,” he told the court.

“I was informed of my wife’s promiscuous ways. I did warn her, but she denied the allegation. I was actually waiting till the day I would catch her red-handed.

“But I must say that my mother in-law was our greatest problem.

“If I gave my wife any instruction, she would inform her mother who would direct her to flout my orders.

“If my mother in-law wanted to buy anything, she would call my wife who would go without my permission.

“I set up a school for my wife, but she refused to work there. She has been working at her present work place for five years but has not been confirmed as staff.

“Initially, she would leave for work by 7:00 am and return by 4:00 pm. But subsequently, she started coming home late and would not return earlier than 8:00 pm. As a result, the children were left uncared for. I kept warning her, but she refused to listen to me.

“I later discovered she had a particular number on her phone which she always called around 3:00 pm everyday. The number was that of a man whom I was told often picked her on her way to the office.

“I caught her talking to this fellow one day after she returned home late. She was thanking the man and promising to see him the following day.

“She was shocked to later discover that I was standing behind her. I seized the phone from her and wrote down the number and name of the person she called. We fought that night. When I returned the phone to her, she immediately deleted the number and the text message from the number. She also tore the paper I wrote the number on.

“Since she no longer regarded me as the head of the home, I later took another wife. She wept the night I told her.

“The house she moved to was 10 houses away from where I was staying and I usually send my brother with money and foodstuff to her and the children.

“I called and asked her why she chose to date other men despite the love and affection I showed her. She denied being promiscuous but stated that I will soon understand what was going on.

“My brother later told me she had moved out of the place. She sent me a message through him that I should pay the rent of the three months she spent there, which I did.

“I sent her a text message asking her if the love she had for me was still intact and she replied that she was not sure because I had hurt her.

“I called her twice after this , but she didn’t pick my call. When she did, she told me she had moved to another man’s house.

“I asked for the children, and she stated that one of them was with her mother which I was against.

“I called my mother in-law and insisted on having my child which she’s yet to release to me, “he concluded.

The court president, Chief Agbaje Olasunkamnmi, having listened to both parties, noted that the evidence of their parents would be necessary.

He, therefore, adjourned the case till April 19 and ordered the couple to come to court with their parents.

One thought on “WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH SHE NEVA DUH NOTHING AND HUSBAND PUT HAR OUT