WTF AFRICA-WIFE SEH SHE NUH WANT THE HUSBAND

Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, has adjourned a divorce suit brought before it by a woman, Ronke Ademoyegun, against her husband, Elijah Ademoyegun.

Ronke, in her suit, alleged that her husband was a brute and was fond of beating her at every given opportunity, thus hampering her health.

She, therefore, prayed the court to separate them and grant her custody of their two children.

Elijah, who did not accede to the claims, stated that his wife made up all she had said. But he appealed to the court to help settle their differences.

The court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Agbaje, after listening to both parties stated that more evidence would be needed. He, therefore, adjourned the case till May 9 and ordered the duo to come to court with their parents.

The plaintiff stated thus: “My husband is irresponsible and care less about me and our children. He sees no worth in me and has turned me into a drum he beats every day.

“We quarreled in 2015 and he beat me till I went into coma. I was in this state for two weeks. I later moved to my father’s house when I came around and was discharged from the hospital. On hearing that I was with my father, he came there to beat me again and left me nursing wounds. Our differences were later resolved and I moved back to his house.

She ruined 6 businesses, kept late nights —Husband
“We fought again in 2016 and by this time, I was already two-month pregnant. He failed to put my condition into consideration. He descended on me with heavy blows and didn’t let go until I started bleeding. I lost the pregnancy at the end of the day.

“There was a repeat of this early this year when we fought as a result of his nonchalant attitude towards my welfare and that of our children. He shifted his responsibility of paying the rent, feeding the home and training our children in school to me. He would complain of paucity of fund any time I challenged him on his duties in the home. But I noticed that while our children and I were growing lean, he was looking fresh and his tummy was growing bigger. I later discovered he was a regular face at a restaurant on his way home. There, he would treat himself to good food and chilled alcoholic drink every evening before coming home. He beat the hell out of me when I threw this in his face. I was then two and a half months pregnant. I lost this pregnancy again as a result of his beatings.

“He further destroyed some of my property like television, DVD, clothes and the likes. I reported him at the police station; the police came for his arrest, but met him heavily drunk. They came for him in their patrol van the following day, but he locked our children up in the house went into hiding,” she stated.

“I don’t admit to claim, “Elijah told the court, adding,“I don’t want to divorce my wife because of our children’s welfare. All she had said were planned to indict me. I pray the court to help settle our differences in order that peace might reign in our home.”