YOUNGEST PERSON EXECUTED IN THE U.S CLEARED OF MURDER AFTER 70 YEARS

STINNY-Optimized-1
A judge has vacated the conviction of a 14-year-old boy who was executed for allegedly killing two girls some 70 years ago in South Carolina.
The judgment against George Stinney, the youngest person to be executed by an American state since the 1800s, effectively exonerates the boy, said family attorney Matt Burgess.
A black teen in the Jim Crow South, Stinney was accused of murdering two white girls, ages 7 and 11, as they hunted for wildflowers in Alcolu, about 50 miles southeast of Columbia.
Stinney, according to police, confessed to the crime.
No witness or evidence that might vindicate him was presented during a trial that was over in fewer than three hours. An all-white jury convicted him in a flash, 10 minutes.
“Given the particularized circumstances of Stinney’s case, I find by a preponderance of the evidence standard, that a violation of the Defendant’s procedural due process rights tainted his prosecution,” wrote Circuit Judge Carmen Tevis Mullen in her decision, dated Tuesday.
She said that sentencing a 14-year-old to the death penalty constitutes cruel and unusual punishment.
Earlier this year, attorneys for Stinney’s family had asked for a new trial, saying the boy’s confession was coerced and that Stinney had an alibi, his sister, Amie Ruffner, who claims she was with Stinney when the murders occurred.
Ruffner, Stinney’s sister, told CNN affiliate WLTX that she and Stinney saw Betty June Binnicker, 11, and Mary Emma Thames, 7, the day they died. Stinney and Ruffner were tending to their family’s cow near some railroad tracks close to their home.
“They said, ‘Could you tell us where we could find some maypops?’ ” Ruffner recalled. “We said, ‘No,’ and they went on about their business.”
The girls were found the next day in a water-logged ditch with injuries to their head. Mary had a 2-inch laceration above her right eyebrow and a vertical laceration over her left, according to a 1944 medical examiners’ report.
Ruffner told WLTX, police took Stinney and another of her brothers away in handcuffs while their parents were not at home. One brother was released, she said, while Stinney faced police questioning without his parents or a lawyer.
The police “were looking for someone to blame it on, so they used my brother as a scapegoat,” Ruffner said.

0 thoughts on “YOUNGEST PERSON EXECUTED IN THE U.S CLEARED OF MURDER AFTER 70 YEARS

1. Poor child so young and look so innocent seventy years later they telling his family what they already know. Looking at him bring tears t my eyes.

2. Im so saddened by this. So sorry you had to die for something you didn’t do just because of the colour of your skin and some cold & heartless racist ppl. Their thinking is so screwed up, ‘Oh lets just pin d murders on the black innocent boy, while the while unsuspected guilty man walk free to kill again’ & I bet he was right under their nose. This plague of racism on the black race will never go away. Stinney, you were wronged by the judicial system, & I hope even after 70 years, almost a century later, the court will exonerate your name & your family can still get justice for you from the grave. I hope you can now sleep in peace after your name has been cleared. (Tears)

3. After dem kill my 14 year old pickney a 70 year later me fi get likkle sleep….suh a 70 year later fi trayvon, romaine and di rest a innocent tuh…smfh

4. Raping and/or killing WHITE WOMEN is the crime that most black men get put to death for here in THE LAND OF FREEDON THE UNITED STATES.

5. Jah si and know seh mi nuh like read bout dem things yah..but u know wah, it keeps di I grounded all di time,caz even now wid all di changes happening in this wurl/country, they still remain the same in so many things and this is one a di tings dem wah nuh look like it not going anywhere.change yes, but still di same. Half a dozen a one and six a di odah.

Leave a Reply to Yawdy4Life Cancel reply