17 YEAR OLD INVOLVED IN BANK TELLER’S DEATH

Dwayne-Grigg

KINGSTON, Jamaica – The motor car belonging to slain bank clerk Dwayne Grigg was recovered in the wee hours of Friday morning after the occupants engaged the police in a shoot-out in the Crescent Road area of Kingston 11.
Two people were shot and injured in the incident, one of whom has since died, and a 17-year-old girl is now in police custody. Her name is being withheld by the police pending further investigations. A firearm was also seized.

Reports reaching OBSERVER ONLINE are that sometime between 12:30 and 1:00 Friday morning, police acting on information pursued a motor vehicle in the Waltham Park Road area when it turned onto Crescent Road and the occupants of the vehicle opened fire at the cops.

“The police returned the fire and the car crashed,” Senior Superintendent of Police Richard Stewart, who is in charge of the Hunts Bay police area, told OBSERVER ONLINE. “Two (of the occupants) were injured, and one subsequently died and the other passengers fled the vehicle.

“We suspect five people were in the vehicle,” SSP Stewart added. “One of the persons whom we suspected fled from the vehicle was subsequently held and she turned out to be a 17-year-old girl from a West Kingston address.”

As the search continues for the other two people suspected to have been inside the vehicle, SSP Stewart is appealing to members of the public who may have information that can aid the police’s investigation to contact the Hunts Bay Police Station at 923-7111, 923-6197 or police emergency number at 911 or the nearest police station.

Grigg’s body was found with multiple stab wounds about 6:00 am Thursday in a secluded area of Cherry Gardens in St Andrew. He had been missing since Tuesday, February 25.

Since news broke of Grigg’s murder, friends of the 26-year-old have been expressing disbelief and shock at his death.

“Goodbye, Dwayne. I and the other members of your Alvin Day transformation leadership core group are numb with grief. You were an integral part of our group. Your smiles, your laughter, your helpfulness, your tom-foolery which brought us so much joy… gone too soon,” one friend wrote on his Facebook page.

“You were young still and so full of life. We were looking forward to rejoicing with you as you racked up greater and greater accomplishments, now never to happen. But a part of you lives on in the rest of us.

“We will always remember your smiles and laughter. We will always remember your giving character. This will be an inspiration to us and bring us joy whenever we are down. Evil has temporarily won. We feel pain at your tragic and painful death. But God has you now and that is our only comfort.

“We grieve with your mother. Farewell, dear Dwayne.”

Another wrote: “I can see you arguing law with Peter at the pearly gates! I have to believe that you are enjoying the company of the angels singing on their choir and having them all in stitches!! As the tears flow I know you are in a better place.

“Your energy touched me and many others! Your kindness and your humour and most of all your drive!

“My condolences to your mom who you loved and spoke so highly of, and your family,” said his friend. “You are an attorney in heaven!”

“RIP uncle Dwayne Lawyer Grigg you truly were a dad and friend to all us ambassadors. You were always encouraging us to live like it was your last not knowing it would be one of your lasts… As we say goodbye to a dear dad we know that you are now in a better place and seat with the man who you were relentlessly preaching to us about.”

Like our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/jamaicaobserver

0 thoughts on “17 YEAR OLD INVOLVED IN BANK TELLER’S DEATH

1. YET YOU HAVE THE DUTY NAGA THEM PON HERE A TRY TO PAINT THE MAN AS FISH LIKE THAT SUPPOSE TO MEK IT OK FOR HIM GET KILL

2. If dem is indeed his killers, God is working swiftly on this one as the young man is a Christian n his mother a pastor. Whether he was strange or not, super intelligent,spiritual people are usually different from the normal.

Sad, sad, sad

3. God get up off him Throne for this one quick, with all the talk on the other thread this morning, my sprit tell me different, I don’t know if you are a true man of God how you suppose to act, just like he did in a respectful manner as a Christian suppose to be. RIP in the arms of the Angels son. :angel :angel :angel :angel :angel :angel :angel

4. I was listening to a song yesterday by a well – known duo, and a part inna de song say “In Jamaica, you look inna de mirror and you see crime, like how yu look pon yu watch and yu see time “. What could be more truer than that ?? De crime and violence ting really mash up yaad, and I notice that more parents are burying their children, than the other way around. So sad. RIP Dwayne Grigg.

5. Nite Met and Metters. This is so close to home as one of my brother-in-law works with him at the bank. And to think he is his parents only child. May the god lord give his family strength in this difficult time.

Leave a Reply to SammySam Cancel reply