AH WONDER IF GATLIN KNOW BOLT NOT LOOKING

Gatlin-wins-SLD-Optimized

DOHA, Qatar (AFP) — American Justin Gatlin stormed to victory at the Diamond League opener in Doha yesterday winning the 100m to serve notice to Usain Bolt ahead of the World Athletics Championships in Beijing in August.

The 33-year-old Gatlin, who has served two doping bans, clocked 9.74 seconds — a world best for this year — making him the fifth fastest man ever.

Gatlin bettered his best mark of 9.77 which he achieved in Brussels last September.

World record holder Bolt (9.58sec) was absent in Doha but the message from Gatlin, who in 2014 also recorded six of the seven fastest times, was loud and clear.

Afterwards, Gatlin said he had intended to “go out there and make a statement”.

Asked if it was meant for Bolt, Gatlin replied: “To the world! To anyone who is willing to listen or watch.”

Pressed further if he meant the Jamaican, he said: “You guys make him sound like he is a Lord Voldemort!”

He continued: “It goes out to him, you guys won’t say his name, and six other guys who are lining up for the competition (World Championships).”

The American finished ahead of US relay teammate Michael Rodgers, who came in second at 9.96sec, and third-placed Keston Bledman of Trinidad and Tobago (10.01).

The high-class field in Doha yesterday provided a couple of shocks.

In the other main event of the night, British double Olympic champion Mo Farah was beaten into second place in the 3,000 metres by Hagos Gebrhiwet.

The Ethiopian was cheered on by a number of his countrymen in a large and loud Doha crowd.

In a close race, Farah just failed to take first place despite battling back from fourth as he came into the final bend.

“It’s an early start (to the season), but I am a bit disappointed to finish second. It was hard, it was basically a championship race,” Farah told reporters.

“Congratulations to Hagos, he did well, but at the same time I don’t think I am kind of ready yet.”

Farah refused to blame the warm conditions, where temperatures on a balmy night reached 36 degrees celsius (97 farenheit).

Another Olympic champion to be beaten was Australia’s Sally Pearson in the women’s 100m hurdles.

She finished fourth, in a race won by American Jasmin Stowers, who set a personal best of 12.35 seconds.

Arguably, the stand-out performance of the night was from Cuba’s Pablo Pichardo who reached 18.04m in the triple jump, the third longest ever in the event, as world champion Teddy Tamgho suffered a ruptured Achilles tendon.

Tamgho had achieved a jump of 17.24m on his second attempt before pulling out with a probable season-ending injury on the third jump.

The Frenchman will undergo surgery in Qatar this morning, his manager Benjamin Soreau told AFP.

Meanwhile, Allyson Felix won in Doha for an 11th time after victory in the 200 metres.

The remarkable American, a four-time Olympic champion and eight-time world champion eased through the event in a meeting record time of 21.98.

The first race of the night was the men’s 400m hurdles, won by 2005 world champion, Bershawn Jackson.

The 32-year-old American won in a time of 48.09 and shouted to the crowd: “I’m back, baby!”

0 thoughts on “AH WONDER IF GATLIN KNOW BOLT NOT LOOKING

1. All dem carying on weh Usain did a gwane wid a fiction, strip club and all others better done wid. I’m not saying Gatlin is a non-factor but the race is now much more competitive even by some of our own other athletes. Mr. Bolt the world is watching oii and you know we Jamaicans are very critical. All Asafa a come back fi piece a di pudding and we all know him diabetic already

2. Usain is allowed to do as he please, at the end of the day no drugged up athlete don’t get to dictate sh*t, when research specified that the drugs he took is till in his system…. Long story short….usain should refuse to participate with cheats whether or not they serve their ban…. That trust cannot be regained

3. Dis ole FAGGOTTTTT!!!!! BOLT DOESN’T SEE YOU!!!!! LAST MI CHECK AH HIM AND DEM GAL, SUH F@CK RIGHT OFF!!!!! AND GUH BACK UP INNA WHICH EVA HOLE FROM WHENCE YUH CRAWL!!!!! BATTYMAN!!!

4. Gatlin has a mouth to talk so he can say anything that he wants to say. As with all the Americans they cannot take loses and they know they can only win with drugs. Poor Merelene had to suffer defeat at the hands of the Americans and there drugs but it’s a different time now.They not powerful anymore and as for you Gatlin, Usain can beat you in his sleep any day and that you can taike to the bank “BITCH” jus that’s what you are. We Jamaicans likkle but we talawah..

Leave a Reply to Kaye Cancel reply