ALKALINE SLEEP A JAIL LAST NIGHT

Alkaline spends night in lock-up

Dancehall deejay Alkaline spent last night at a Kingston lock-up following an extensive interview with detectives yesterday.

Peter Champagnie, the deejay’s attorney, said his client has not been charged.

“He has been detained and is currently in the custody of the police. The continuation of the interview will go into tomorrow (today),” he told Splash.

Champagnie was unable to say where his client was being held.

Superintendent Stephanie Lindsay, director of the Corporate Communications Unit — the Jamaica Constabulary Force’s information arm — said she was not in a position to say where he was being held and when the interrogation sessions would end.

“I think based on the brief of the investigators, we are not in a position to say at this point whether he will be released or not because we don’t know what the outcome is going to be. They would be in the position to make a determination at the end of the interview, which will either be communicated through his lawyer or we will again give some update as to where we are. But it’s very early in the interview, so we have not made any determination as to what will happen just yet,” she said.

Splash understands Alkaline is being held at the Hunts Bay Police Station in Kingston.

She added that Alkaline (given name Earlan Bartley) had been cooperating with detectives and his level of importance in the case would be known by the end of the interview.

Yesterday, Alkaline arrived at Area 4, Harman Barracks in Vineyard Town at 9:25 am for questioning in relation to the death of Rohan Morris. He came in a black Land Rover and was accompanied by his lawyer and two other men.

Champagnie left at 10:50 am for a court commitment, leaving his client with detectives.

Alkaline emerged at 11:48 am from a side door at Area Four Crime Unit and was led to a vehicle by an officer who held him by the back of his shirt. Splash understands he was to attend a second interview at the Criminal Investigation Branch (CIB) office at the NCB Towers on Oxford Road in St Andrew.

According to police reports, Morris was murdered at his Maverley home in St Andrew on January 13, 2017.

25 thoughts on “ALKALINE SLEEP A JAIL LAST NIGHT

1. Hail PP

I am not sure I fully get why the naysayers are saying this is a publicity stunt by Alka n that even the cops are in on it.

I guess they going with the whole he’s following Kartel’s formula n image theory.ketch me over the trump post ya hun cuz alkaslime n fartel quite alright kmdt!

1. We already knoe what level of society dem naysayers come from.

They don’t know squat about the society dem live in but how fi struggle against them self.

JCF have way too much human feces fi deal wid.

1. Can you imagine alkaline and vybz kartel sharing the same jail cell writing lyrics together and running dancehall from prison big tings.

2. Peter champagnie a work hard fi get him name big big! Di Moravian pastor, Alkaline!

Mi nuh kno how man like him and Tom Taverns and di rest a dem sleep a night knowing damn well dem a defend slackness!

Everything fi di hype and being “celebrity” lawyer!

1. So, what you’re saying is: Alkaline gets questioned for murder and Peter Champagnie just automatically knows beyond a reasonable doubt that Alkaline is guilty and murdered the victim here. And because he’s so certain (despite not previously knowing any participant or victim) he should say, “oh dear, I spent so much money to go to law school but I don’t want your money because you killed some ol vampire, I’m gonna starve to death as a lawyer because I care about all ghetto youths”. All this, despite gay ass Peter Champagnie never having set foot in any ghetto in his entire life?

3. THE POLICE DEM JUST A TEACH A LESSON NEXT TIME DEM SEND FI U DONT BEHAVE LIKE A U A RUN DEM PROGRAM A TELL THEM WHEN U WANT TO MEET SO DEM WILL TELL HIM WHEN THEM READY FI LET HIM GO!!ME FEEL DEM AGO SWEAT HIM FI THE WEEKEND CAUSE TODAY A FRIDAY THE WORST DAY FI INNA LOCK UP!! RESPECT THE LAW YUTE

1. Oh pluleassse. Him lucky a no in a him waist band and a wedgie hol him inna.

America gracious to criminals, dem all stop off a burger king drive thru wid mass murderer. The laws of the colonies says criminal or suspects nu get high tea service.

Btw, if him sleep a jail after reporti g with a lawyer then you may be sooooo wrong.

11:56 you comment gets :maafaganwati :maafaganwati

1. Pp mi family a feel sendem have dat bwoy pon some kinda audio every ting dem do dem record like a studio dem de ,,,,damn ediat dem

4. He is cooperating with the Police and voluntarily went in for questioning. So why is the officer holding on to him like that, when he hasn’t been charged for an offense? This is why police (all over the world) get such a bad rep because a lot of them have a power complex that enable them from doing their JOBS effectively.

Disclaimer: This 100% my opinion. Feel free to disagree.

5. Feel it to mi heart wen mi fren Xavier drop out him was only 16 (line from alka song) wi nuh di type weh sen chat dem kill mi fren dem haffi dead back (nex line from di same song LOYALTY) I hope it’s just a song nutn more nutn less

6. Dats wah sometimes mi nuh understand why nuh handcuff and deh hold dem inna dem back like dat if dem a criminal.. or if dem turn demself in? Oh well, if him want to copy him nuh get weh di copy cat get…some of these young men are too misguided, egotistical and believe them above the law – plus dem mek di devil food dem bad bad

7. Well Well Well Well Release Him, YellowMan Bounce Fi mi nuh, Rest the gun pon the ground fi nuh. Set it off don’t kill fi mi nuh.

8. Guess him never learned from what reach Fartel, the looooong arms of the law will ketch up wid u….if u did d crime. Not suh sure Fartel will want u as him cellmate

9. I don’t know if I have said it to anyone openly Met, but I always think to myself that he is heading down the same path as Kartel. He is copying him to the T. I would hope he is innocent because he has been doing very well for himself as a young person and I like to see when a young person is ambitious and progressive but you know when little hype and money reach them, everybody turn bad man. We just have to wait and see what the outcome will be.

10. And why they keep him in lock up if he has not been charged? I don’t understand that part Met. Maybe he does know something or comes across to them as if he knows something but if yuh not charging me, you best believe I will be going home to my comfortable bed, unless I feel that staying in your lock up provides some kind of protection and safety for me

1. I have nothing to say oo..They say when dog have money him buy cheese and when these little flies get money they go crazy and yes mi seh fly :maho