BARTLETT WANTS OBAMA VISIT CLARIFIED…AND SO DO I

The PNP is hiding something and we need to know what the hell is going on..Jamaica so important that Obama a lef all di way come visit…..For noting really, just to go a UWI and Hero’s Circle? Come on now Portia deal wid di people dem betta dan dat..What selling??
PORTIAANDOBAMAS(1)-Optimized

Opposition spokesman on foreign affairs and foreign trade, Edmund Bartlett, is questioning whether US President Barack Obama’s visit to Jamaica is really a State visit.

According to Bartlett, the statement to the House of Representatives made by Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller on March 17, has already been shown to include at least one error, in that the visit was really scheduled from April 8-9 instead of a one-day visit on April 9, as confirmed by the US Embassy in Kingston.

He said that the prime minister also needs to explain whether the visit is a State visit, an official visit or a working visit by the president, on his way to the Sixth Summit of the Americas to be held in Panama.

Bartlett noted that a State visit is a formal visit by a head of state to a foreign country, at the invitation of that country’s head of State.

“In that case, it would have been at the invitation of the Governor General who would be the official host, supported by the relevant agencies and departments of government and highlighted by a State reception,” Bartlett explained.

He noted that a State visit reflects the highest level of hospitality, honour and formality in relations between nations, and should include the conferment of decorations, the exchange of symbolic gifts, and could also include an address by the visiting head of state to the legislature of the host country.

He also pointed out that in the case of an official visit, it would be hosted by the Government, with the participation of the Opposition.

He said that with that level of planning not visible, then it must be assumed that the visit is a working visit, which is basically to accommodate discussions on bilateral and regional issues, in which the host country is not responsible for the accommodation or other expenses for the visit.

Bartlett said that the Opposition is concerned about the ambiguity surrounding the event, as it could become politicised and create disunity.

0 thoughts on “BARTLETT WANTS OBAMA VISIT CLARIFIED…AND SO DO I

1. The U.S. Has abondoned the Caribbean region since 9/11, jamaica and other carricom island went to bed with Venezuela, so now they (America) trying to renue relationship, because Venezuela is not an ally. Ah so mi seet

Met u no see how dem mash up de venders dem stall a Heroes park? An because it reach the news dem talk bout dem a go build beta stall fe dem. wicked dem

1. Yes, they should remove all the vendors from the sidewalk throughout the whole Island. It is illegal to construct these stalls, then they add illegal electrical hookup and later, toilets. I guess you agree with all things illegal Honeybee? Wait until one of your family members gets electrocuted at one of these stalls with their illegal connection to the JPS grid.

BTW Honeybee, do you know that you can purchase crack cocaine at a lot of these stalls you see along the roadways?

1. No, I didn’t know “you” could/have purchase crack/cocaine at these stalls and roadways. Btw, my comment didn’t meant I agreed to illegal activities. those venders has been selling there for years, why wasn’t it a problem last month, last year or ten years ago? What they are doing is sweeping their problems under the rug for 24 hrs! just wait, next week those flowers will die because there’s now water to water them. You don’t know me so assume I “agree with all things illegal”. So F**K OFF!!

1. Labourites have a perverse way of thinking. Always supporting slackness and all manner of lawlessness.

1. :ngakak I knew you were a comrad. Thanks you for proving it. Anyway, I’ve never voted for JLP nor PMP. Or am I sympathetic to any of the party’s. So don’t mixed me with you all and the cultist behavior you ass holes love to portray.I’ve only voted in the United States of America……bye comrad

2. I agree wid you…is time the vendors get modern. The marketing pon sidewalk comes from slavery days when massa use to mek dem brown nose slaves go market go sell wha dem grow inna dem likkle garden.

Those stalls serve many illegal purposes, not to mention training grung fi 5 finger thieves like some gal whey get put pon the wall weekly, lol

2. Posha have 24 hrs with Obama, hope she use it to say what Jamaicans need to better themselves. But how they are her speech writer may writer about how the meet the IMF demands. Can’t wait to hear her speech.

3. How is she going to have a conversation with a Harvard grad, lawd hav merci pon fi har brain when di vocabulary words dem hit it. Lisa going to be her translator

4. @Life Lessons, you must behave yuself! Mi already laugh at Twins of twins comedy skit, and now yu have mi laughing again? Be good, yu hear. Lol.

5. So Met…yu nu think Jamaica earn its place in society to have obama as a visitor?

We may not be rich in dollars, but we rich in history. Jamaica, Cuba and Haiti give the Caribbean flavor and for that we just as good as any other nation pon this planet.

Barack a ole weed head so it’s only right him come see what all the fuss is about, lol

1. We sure are but there is more to this visit than meets the eye and we should be told the purpose of his visit

6. Ah Mrs. Obama instigate dis visit eno. Mrs. Obama is quite taken aback wid Portia’s gitup and waan proof fi harself suh she convince har hubby fi duh ah “fly by” :ngakak Portia yuh outfit ah shot :ngakak