BOLT WIN BUT SAY HIM NUH KNOW WHA HAPPEN

Screen Shot 2015-06-13 at 7.25.35 PM

Sprint king Usain Bolt came away with a victory but says he has work to do after clocking 20.29sec to win the 200m at the New York Diamond League meeting on Saturday.

Even with a headwind of 2.8 meters per second, Bolt said he was baffled by a performance that included “the worst curve ever in my entire career,” and “concerned” about his form in a season pointed at the World Championships in Beijing in August.

“I’m not overly happy with it,” he said. “The first 100m was poor — was really bad. I didn’t feel like I was going anywhere. I don’t know what happened.”

It was Bolt’s first race in New York since 2008 when he broke the 100m world record for the first time on the same Icahn Stadium track on Randall’s Island.

On Saturday, however, he found himself leaning for the win, sneaking a look to make sure he got the victory ahead of training partner Zharnel Hughes of Anguilla, who was second in 20.32 with Jamaican Julian Forte third in 20.46.

Bolt holds the 100m world record of 9.58sec and the 200m world record of 19.19, both set in 2009.

He won 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay gold at the 2008 and 2012 Olympics but last year was limited by foot and hamstring injuries.

While US sprint rival Justin Gatlin has been burning up the track — posting world leaders of 9.74 in the 100m and 19.68 in the 200m — Bolt said this week he’s focused on making steady progress toward achieving his peak form at Beijing.

However, he clearly was expecting better.

“I don’t know exactly what’s going on,” said Bolt, who said he realized early the race would not be fast.

“I ran for 150m then tried to shut it down, but then I saw Zharnel on my left and had to push again,” he said.

In other races, Tyson Gay, won the men’s 100m in 10.12sec in a brisk headwind of 1.7 meters per second.

Gay, his sights on a World Championships challenge after completing an abbreviated doping ban, admitted that after Keston Bledman of Trinidad and Tobago was charged with a false start for flinching in the blocks he was tense at the gun.

“I was little nervous, the starter held us a little bit so I just tried to take some deep breaths,” said Gay, who led Jamaican Nesta Carter (10.15) and South African Akani Simbine (10.18) across the line.

0 thoughts on “BOLT WIN BUT SAY HIM NUH KNOW WHA HAPPEN

1. According to what I have read, sprinters peak between 22 and 24. Don’t know how true that is when Gatlin and Asafa at 32 are running so well and Kim Collins was running well even in his mid-30’s. So, Bolt at 28 should have a couple good years left. Not saying too much though, don’t want to ‘Jinx’ him.

2. USAIN, FOCUS HONEY, COS YOU KNOW THE YANKEE DEM A SET FI YOU. GET DEEP INNA YOU TRAINING, NO GYAL, NO PARTY. STAY ON COURSE COS YOU KNOW THE YANKEE DEM A WAIT FI POUNCE PON YOU LIKE JANKRO PON DEAD MEAT IF YOU LOSE TO THEM. SO PLEASE SON A JAMAICA, STEP UP YOU GAME.

3. Tell Usain fi cut out the party an alcohol. Too much partying slow you down thats why nba players don’t sex during playoff season.

4. not sure if he is still partying hard but that will take a toll on his body, plus just old age. Sprinters haffi have a back up plan. Glad he has paved the way,for other Jamaicans. America is really a bully though , giving Gaylynn an abbreviated ban…kmt

5. lol bolt and trick them thats his tactics mek dem think him mash micheal jordan one of his idol use to seh him sick inna the nba finals. dwl mash up dem head bolt tell dem yuh mash wink wink

6. Di man a use him head pon dem dwl not a thing nuh wrong wid him. Him a trick Gatlin & Gay just wait till World Championships dem will know who a di real world boss

7. Bolt and him people dem kno what dem telling di public, play possum yes, tell them yes that it not comin together for you and kill dem wid di lightening Bolt speed
    Him and him PR people telling them what dem need to hear, dem smarter than admitting that things naah happen