CALABAR TEACHER BEATEN BY STUDENTS

The head of Calabar’s Physics Department Sanjaye Shaw has given his version of events during which he claims he was assaulted by two prominent members of the school’s track and field team. Shaw gave a press conference on Friday afternoon at the David Fitz Henley Conference Room at Family Life Ministries on Cecelio Avenue. According to Shaw, who has been at the Red Hills Road-based school for the past four years, the matter unfolded on December 15 when he was hosting a physics lab for his students.

According to him, the matter began because he needed to borrow cots from the school’s track team for his boys to sleep on. He claims his request was denied even though according to him, the track team had more than enough sponges.

Meanwhile, when contacted by RJR Sports on Friday afternoon, board chairman of Calabar High, Dr. Karl Johnson said he was awaiting a report on today’s press conference called by the teacher in question before deciding on the next course of action. Dr Johnson added that after being fully briefed, he would be willing to address the issue on the record come Monday.

In the meantime, the governing body for local high school sports ISSA is awaiting a briefing on the circumstances surrounding the alleged incident at Calabar High. No official report has so far been made to ISSA on the matter.

6 thoughts on “CALABAR TEACHER BEATEN BY STUDENTS

1. He qanta to sahotage is all you can come up with? Thats why Jamaica is where it is. Unoo expect no discipline no consequence nothing. Him shudda report it frim day 1 waiting on the school to handle it internally. They had no plans to do damn thing cauz the yute dem especially my favourite (Christopher Tayloy) are the real point makers on the team. We musnt sefend wrong doing and disrespect. Suspend them in march when the incident happened in Dec? So the teacher must take abuse from pickney? If him did eva box dem down …he would be in jail and out of a job. Glad he refused the money to stay silent. But Im waiting on the next non student athlete at Calabar to box down teacher and see how dem deal wid it. And see how issa deal wid the next student athlete from Bog walk or someother lesser known school fi dobthe same thing and see if they allow them to compete. Disgrace

1. Well the thing should sabotage because these children need discipline. How dear you hit a teacher that is rude and disrespectful. They should of been thrown out of achyfor the assault on a teacher. How can people condone these children behavior by having them play in the champs. They should be banned from everything because they too rude

2. Too Much, the incident happened in December it is now March. If he made the press conference and sought redress January-February, no issue. I think him waiting until March to bring light to the situation is his way of being vindictive to the entire school. He said that Taylor was suspended however Taylor didnt suffer enough in his opinion so he wants him to suffer more.

I am not defending a bad behavior, I am just evaluating the situation. If Taylor doesnt run at Champs this year he has already establish himself as a ‘star’ athlete. There is Penn’s Relays coming up he will get another chance. I am just questioning the timing of it. We might not agree, but we can at least voice our OWN opinions.

3. Watch the video that the teacher presented at the press conference. The students were suspended in Dec/Jan.

4. No student should assault a teacher or vise versa. I would want to hear the other side as well. Too often we hear one side of a story and jump to conclusions.