CRIMES INCREASE IN ST THOMAS

St. Thomas police report increase in major crimes

The police are reporting a twenty per cent increase in major crimes in St. Thomas.

Since the start of the year, the parish has recorded 119 major crimes compared to 99 during the same period last year.

Michael Cunningham, Deputy Superintendent in charge of Operations for the St. Thomas Police, said 43 per cent of the crimes have been cleared up.

There has been a 17 per cent increase in murders.

Since the start of the year, 21 murders have been committed in the parish, up from 18 last year.

Almost half of the cases were shootings.

DSP Cunningham provided the figure at a recent meeting of the St. Thomas Municipal Corporation.

2 thoughts on “CRIMES INCREASE IN ST THOMAS

1. No place is safe no more, city nuh safe and country nuh safe, sea nuh safe and land nuh safe. Is ongle divine protection can truly protect any a wi, cause you could all have your gun and gun jam when you need it fi protect you. When you connected to the divine he/she will all make you invisible right before the enemy’s eyes. In the last big shooting in the US a lady nuh did get shot 12 times and still survived. God is great!!!!