CUBAN DOCTOR DEVELOPED FOOT ULCER DRUG

Heberprot-B-Optimized

A Cuban doctor who created a drug used to fight diabetic foot ulcers, has been lauded by his colleagues from across the globe.

Doctors at a recent Diabetic Foot Global Conference in the United States praised Dr Jorge Berlanga, who created the drug – Heberprot-B, for the success of the product as well as the work of Cuban health professionals.

According to Berlanga, doctors, particularly those in the United States are interested in the drug, noting that 70 to 80 thousand people undergo amputations in the US due to diabetes.

A diabetic foot ulcer is an open sore or wound that occurs in approximately 15 per cent of patients with diabetes and is commonly located on the bottom of the foot.

Approximately 14 to 24 per cent of patients with diabetes who develop foot ulcers will require an amputation.

0 thoughts on “CUBAN DOCTOR DEVELOPED FOOT ULCER DRUG

1. Wow! That is awesome… My grandmother has diabetes and I always get worried when she cut herself etc. Good to know that this drug has been made… Wonder how long before it is available in the states.

1. maybe sooner than we think..cuba has been developing drugs now for a number of years so now that their gates have opened big tings a go gwaan

2. This is great news my grandfather who is diabetic had to do an above the knee amputation because he was accidentally cut while cutting his nails (after being told numerous times not to cut but file) My mother in law also has a diabetic ulcer that requires constant wound care, It heals for months on end then opens back up. This is great news for people suffering from diabetic wounds, great news for wound care nurses and professionals. Hopefully it will be available and affordable to all

3. Now that I think about it it, the world is going to benefit greatly from learning the practice of Cuba’s medical/health community and with infused cash, Cuba will inturn be able to a whole lot more. American students will be able to attend free medical schools in Cuba too–another win win for all parties…