DAHLIA HARRIS RESIGNS AMID SOCIAL MEDIA BACKLASH

nods
Ms.Dahlia Harris’s Fb Post
This will be the only statement issued by me regarding today’s resignation. First, I would like to rubbish the nonsensical arguments regarding the post. Basic reasoning would have clarified the flaws in the argument of me being terminated while working under the PNP and then out of the blue being “rushed” into a job overnight by that same administration one year and 8 months later, just as the JLP won the election. Two, I have never been politically appointed. Like the rest of the nation I have seen advertisements in the public domain, submitted my resume and be interviewed. This has happened under both governments and not just in recent history. Some NGO’s, non Jamaican companies and the local private sector have approached me from time to time based on scope of work and my qualifications. I am a hard worker. I know what it is to struggle for my achievements. There has never been an easy path for me in any area of my life. I have never been the recipient of handouts at any level. This is what motivates me to contribute at a national level to making Jamaica a better place for my fellow man. Three, that factions from both political parties have accused me of being on opposing sides, and thus my appointment, suggests that neither side has evidence of me being partisan. My engagement with the public has always demanded respect for the leaders of either party. I have endorsed members of both sides based on what I have viewed as their potential to lead this country forward. My social media history will show that long before she was announced as a candidate I was one of the first individuals to suggest that Juliet Holness would make an ideal representative based on my experience with her when we were both student leaders. I have endorsed Raymond Pryce for this same reason. I have dear friends that are from either side. I respect them equally. Four, my resignation is driven from a position of Jamaica first. It is contemptible to observe the defamatory statements being hurled at me in the public sphere, at both the personal and professional levels. My resignation is not however out of an effort to protect myself, it is out of the need to preserve the efforts of the Culture in Education programme and its value to the society. I will not allow my presence to overshadow the hard work of the many individuals who have contributed to it thus far and the success of its implementation. I am not prepared to remain at the Ministry at the expense of the well being of my coworkers. We claimed Independence as one nation. That is the only way that we will move forward. It has been disheartening for me to accept that at some levels what is said to the public about having the interest of all Jamaicans at heart totally differs from what is practiced. Finally, I want to thank those of you who offered overwhelming support not just to me but to the well being of the programme. Now, more than ever, Jamaica needs citizens who will become engaged in its growth and management at all levels. I will continue to personally serve the Youth, through Culture and Education, as I have done since I was a child. I welcome those individuals who like me wish to create a neutral space where Youth are free to develop without bias or influence. The kind of discussion surrounding my appointment underscores that Culture in Education is not just critical towards the development of well thinking, responsible citizens, it is a national priority. Sitting on the fence is no longer an option. Commit to active participation “so that Jamaica may’. As for me…before God and all mankind, I will continue to pledge the love and loyalty of my heart. Blessings.

6 thoughts on “DAHLIA HARRIS RESIGNS AMID SOCIAL MEDIA BACKLASH

1. Dahlia must be out of her mind, how could she allow small minded and petty people, to control what she does?
    Child people will always talk, its best to ignore the haters and keep on moving.
    Just keep swimming!

2. Dahlia Harris loses Appeal
    An appeal against the termination of  Dahlia Harris as Principal Director of  Culture in the Ministry of  Youth and Culture has been dismissed.
    Harris, who was removed after ten months in the post, maintained that her dismissal was unjustified and sought the intervention of  the Jamaica Civil Service Association (JCSA).
    The JCSA wrote to the Public Service Commission appealing Miss Harris’ dismissal and was awaiting an early hearing date. However, the matter was forwarded to the local Privy Council without a hearing being convened by the Commission. 
    It has emerged that the Privy Council considered Harris’ appeal  and advised the Governor General that the application be refused and the matter dismissed.
         The JCSA insisted that she was not given a valid explanation for the dismissal and not granted the opportunity to challenge the decision.

1. Suh ah nuh resignation ah more termination? Den weh mek she haffi write dat deh thesis deh and it still nuh include seh har appeal get dismissed :cool

1. This contradict her statement,what i got from this is pnp fire hire and now that labour win har friend juliet brought her back in.

3. She was terminated by the former administration. The new administration brought her back. What exactly is the issue here? Is she qualified? effective?