DANCEHALL ON THE DECLINE

400px-Cat_Eyes-Optimized-1
Dancehall artiste TheOutcome believes that dancehall is on a definite decline in traditional markets such as Europe because of a combination of poor business practices, visa issues, and the in-fighting triggered by the self-defeating mentality of dancehall artistes.

“Being in the industry, I see that a lot of the slave plantation mentality is still in existence and this only affects us as dancehall practitioners. There is no solid network that houses producers, songwriters, distributors, deejays and live venues. Instead of assisting and teaching each other, there is a lot of segregation,” TheOutcome explained.

Over the years, TheOutcome said he has seen a marked decline in the visibility of this form of expression on mainstream platforms in the UK as less dancehall music is being played on radio stations and there are fewer live events showcasing dancehall acts.

He has attributed this decline to the lack of intelligence, ignorance to social behaviour by artistes and artiste representatives, and most of all, their overall lack of business etiquette. He also believes the lack of unity in the industry in general is negatively affecting the dancehall movement.

TheOutcome also believes that young acts, including himself, have a lot to offer to the industry on the international platform, but are not getting the opportunity to shine. He believes that letting in a new generation of artistes who have learnt from the past artistes, both good and bad, will increase the international appeal of the genre in the UK.

“We need to promote fun music that reminds people that dancehall isn’t about fighting each other and that artistes aren’t difficult to work with on a professional level. We have to help to repair the image overseas in order for the genre to grow,” TheOutcome said.

TheOutcome is currently in promotion mode for his single and video for Love fi Party, which has received almost 40,000 views on YouTube since its release less than a month ago. He has plans to release an EP later this year.

Growing up in the UK, the artiste, whose real name is Reuben McCalla, worked closely with his father’s sound system, Innovasion, and gradually made the transition from playing the music to making it himself.

”I would often pattern Buju Banton, Baby Wayne, Frisco Kid, Papa Levi and others when I started and always looked up to dancehall music and its practitioners,” TheOutcome said.

“What other genre can host a party that gives praise to God, then deals with poverty, then deals with corruption, then entertains the ladies? Now, that’s dancehall!”

0 thoughts on “DANCEHALL ON THE DECLINE

1. I don’t even listen to dancehall like that no more. Them lost the touch of what is dancehall. Bring back the 90’s music all day everyday.

2. I will agree that you do not hear dancehall music on the radios and in clubs as much. Most mainstream clubs used to have a few dancehall segments, but not so no more. In the 90s you would hear dancehall on every urban station in US, Canada and England, every club played it. Now mi speaking mainstream clubs, Caribbean clubs play dancehall heavy and up to date songs too. Not even the good young acts you hear too much, even Reggaeton seem more popular.

The most dancehall music mi hear now is in clothing stores, sad to say this is where the music is played most these days. When you do hear dancehall on the radio is usually a 90s song, not even Popcaan who I consider one of the best, if not the best in dis generation have the same level of reknown as Beenie, Ele, Bounty, Cobra, Shabba, Shaggy, SP, and Buju had back in the day. Everyting dead, cause not even one good Black souls singer wi hab nowadays, soul music is almost non-existence and Black ppl nuh own dat genre right now. Is the first time since me know miself mi caan name one good black soul singer wah pump out hot chunes every year. North American Black music in di dumps collectively. Is African music a dweet nowadays, Davido, Wizkid,Yemi Alade and dem a hold up Black music yah now.

3. ANON 7.35 pm: You have said it the best; North American Black music is on the decline. WE sold it out and now we care more about the money than the nurturing. I can’t name ONE black artist that is better or who has truly continued the excellence which we would often see in the 60s, 70’s, 80s, 90s.
    It’s because of the lack of demand for excellence that so many non excellent “others” have managed to get a foothold in the music. That and plus the fact that today, may fans are knowledgeable about music in a nerdy way, yet musically illiterate.
    Many talk about how the lyrics in music are rubbish nowadays. There has always been loads of rubbish lyrics. What’s gone out of the window now is the musicality. I can’t imagine putting myself through listening to a 12 inch recording of ninety nine percent of the music nowadays, especially as North American black music seems to have forgotten that bass should be a part of the melody and not used solely as a distraction, if at all.

1. I am anon 7.35 pm. Fi real where are the Nina Simones, Billy Holidays, Nat Kings, The Uniques, Pat Kellys, and all dem. Wi could create a thread just fi name out past greats of every decade. You are 100% right, there is none that you place in a category of excellence. Making money has trumped making good lifelong music fi soothe upcoming generations. When I listen to Nina, who I believe is one of the greatest America ever produced, chills go through mi. Her arrangement, style, sultriness of her voice has placed her in a category of excellence. Her songs nuh stop theme movies and she is continually being taught to a new generation.

Dem sell out dem birthright fi fame and money and will be as easily forgotten as spoiled milk. North American black music dead as a damn doornail. Look Sam Smith a teck ova soul music, and not one black singer even making music on dat level, now and again a one song come up, but nuhbody consistently dealing wid soul, Luther must be turning in him grave. How da fck did it get to this?

4. THE REASONS IS :THE BEAT ARE ON DANCEHALL BEAT. THEY ARE HIP HIP FLAVA WITH A JAMAICAN VOICE TO IT. IT’S ALL HIP HOP NOT DANCEALL. THING U CAN LISTEN TO IN YOUR CAR NOT AUTHENTIC DANCEHALL RIDDIMS

1. That too is true. It’s so commercial it not unique, and why pay money for it when you can just go listen Drake or Lil Wayne and get the same thing.