DI SENDER WAA KNOW IF A PRAYERS, LUCK OR OBEAH

A federal judge in Brooklyn sentenced a college student convicted of drug smuggling to probation, citing the “collateral consequences” she faces as a felon.
A jury convicted Chevelle Nesbeth, 20, of New Haven, Connecticut, of charges accusing her of smuggling 1.3 pounds of cocaine from Jamaica into John F. Kennedy International Airport last year.

She faced a maximum prison sentence of 41 months, according to court records.
However, Senior U.S District Judge Frederick Block sentenced her Tuesday to one year of probation, six months of home confinement and 100 hours of community service.

CASE
In a 42-page opinion, Block wrote that judges should consider collateral consequences of a conviction when determining a sentence. He noted that Nesbeth faces restrictions on access to public housing, student loans and the right to vote in some states.
Block wrote that “the collateral consequences Ms. Nesbeth will suffer — principally her likely inability to pursue a teaching career and her goal of becoming a principal — has compelled me to conclude that she has been sufficiently punished..”
=
A probation report recommended a sentence of two years, followed by three years of supervised release. The report noted Nesbeth was a first-time offender, is enrolled in college, is employed and “has otherwise lived a law-abiding life and is at a low risk of recidivism.”
The judge cautioned that collateral consequences wouldn’t be appropriate punishment in every case.
Teen Dies After Being Pulled from Water at NYC Beach: NYPD
Nesbeth’s public defender hasn’t commented on the sentence.

10 thoughts on “DI SENDER WAA KNOW IF A PRAYERS, LUCK OR OBEAH

1. Marsha would love this very Judge here to handle her case just the very same,puss and dog just don’t have the same luck,more times it all depends pon the lawyer yuh have,the plea deal dem a cut base pon weh yuh give in return for it….even more time it all depends pon wh yuh know or who yuh parents be and know

1. This judge couldn’t help Marsha at all Simplicity because the facts of this woman and Marsha are completely different. This woman is a student. I’m sure Marsha has not attended school since she left St. Hugh’s. This woman have a 9-5 job. Marsha’s 9-5 was Flippa & their illegal business. This woman all in all seems to be about something. Marsha was usually in the dance flossing.

I think the judge just assessed the case with an open heart, instead of strictly by the law & maybe got an understanding that this woman was a trying person, who may have faced some hardship that caused her to bow to the quick money plan. God know most of us have gone through some tough times even while having a job & if it was not for straight willpower, prayers & most importantly the grace of God, we could’ve ended up in a similar situation.

The onus is now on her to live up to the very rare opportunity she has been given.

2. I think this student have someone in politics that asked a big favor from that judge . This girl is connected trust me that’s a favor by that judge .

3. Remmber it’s Election time now politician needs charity donations & favors that judge knew what he’s doing.

4. I am not defending what this young lady did but judges do have discretion when it comes to sentencing hopefully the young lady will abide by her probation guidelines. I know that state criminal records can be expunged within 7-15 years if she stays out of trouble not sure about federal. I wish her the best. If more judges took discretion in sentences maybe it would help with recidivism rates.

5. This is normal.She gave them a few important names and got away with trying to destroy lives.
    In other words she informed on those who sent her for it.