DIED AFTER GOING TO DOMINICAN REPUBLIC TO DO SURGERY

Met the girl from Bronx that did her body and die 1 month after leaving her 2 kids Janelle Edwards

A woman who died after getting plastic surgery in the Dominican Republic was in excruciating pain after she returned to the Bronx, a neighbor said Sunday.

Janelle Edwards, 25, died Thursday of a blood clot caused by a breast enhancement, tummy tuck and butt implants performed in Santo Domingo, a relative and police sources said.

Two weeks before her death, Paula Gordon — Edwards’ neighbor in Allerton, the Bronx — saw her doubled over, holding her stomach.

“She said she was in pain and she was going to the hospital,” recalled Gordon, a school-bus driver. “That day she was in excruciating pain and I tell her I’m gonna pray for her. And I do.”

NYC mom dies after failed plastic surgeries in Dominican Republic
Gordon said the botched surgery should be a warning to people seeking body enhancements in the Dominican Republic.

“Sometimes people say cheaper is better, but it’s not always,” Gordon said.

Edwards’ parents found her unconscious, slumped behind the wheel of her car near Co-op City. The mother of two daughters — ages 1 and 7 — died at Montefiore Medical Center’s Albert Einstein Hospital.

Neighbors said Edwards returned from her trip to the Dominican Republic for plastic surgery last month.

“She was all wrapped in bandages and had an IV on a stand. She was in a lot of pain,” Elia Mayo, 50, told The News.

The American Society of Plastic Surgeons warns that flying shortly after surgery increases the risk of pulmonary embolism and blood clots.

Edwards’ family said she was a caring, loving person.

“The family is mourning right now, so it’s not really a good time to talk,” her cousin Christopher Hamilton, 23, said.

24 thoughts on “DIED AFTER GOING TO DOMINICAN REPUBLIC TO DO SURGERY

1. in the top pic it looks like she did her nose and her boobs, in the bottom pic her breast looks like that of any mom of two who nursed. I understand why she would want to fix her body, but ladies plz be careful, if you love save money like me please this is one area where you should not, plz remember this is surgery, surgery is surgery. RIP, may your children be left in the care of ppl who will treat them as loving as you did.a

2. So sad, sometimes the peer pressure is too strong for people to ignore. This lady wanted a whole new body, breast, belly and butt

May she rest in peace and her daughters find their way through life without her

3. I don’t know Rasta, leave me with me FLAT batty and my zebra stomach, My breast that almost reach at my waist is all good in my book, My 3 Kids need me around to protect and care for them. RIP.

4. Omg..ladies really need to start take this surgery thing serious. 25,2 kids mother less.sometimes what we see in the mirror is not what we want but sometimes its best to keep what you got.

5. I don’t care if my breasts are flat like bammy or henging like tread bag, I am not doing it, whether home or abroad. Nope. Me nuh dweet. Every single procedure carries risks, even a surgery carried out by a surgeon with 100% success rate, me nuh dweet. I have a friend who is a surgeon, she said that not even a tooth should be pulled unless it is necessary because in her time she has seen so many complications and death from procedures. And to think that two babies will never have a mom to see them grow up is breaking my heart.

6. Condolences to the family. The pressures of life, some people can’t manage it. May her children be well kept by those who are lef behind to fend for them. So sad

7. its not the surgery that killer her….it was the flying….being seated for long hours in a pressurized cabin….all surgery pts with a few exceptions are encouraged to walk even as soon as the next day post op to avoid clots…

8. Was just talking about her the other day of how much pain she was in after doing the surgeries. Very often she would have to visit the hospital because of the complications. She even went to Jamaica the other day post surgery. I wondered with all those pain why didn’t she chill and rest up. I guess she wanted to show her new body.

She looked great to me before. But I guess the kardashian pressure is too much.

Poor babies won’t have their mom around and the dad is back in Jamaica won’t even be able to enter back America. God bless them.

Rip sweet girl.

9. RIP, very unfortunate, I feel it for her children. Mothers/Women we have to think about our children ( 2 many women r losing their lives because of surgery). The thought of her children have to explain how they lost their mother, sad sad.

10. I guess plastic surgery is accessible to regular now that it’s cheaper. Nothing wrong with enhancing or refining if it will make u feel better. This sad thu. In DR they do more than they would in USA FDA limit how much fat can be taken out etc . Thank dats y mist ppl go DR and Brazil

11. And unno know say one a me coworker from the same Bronx a go a di same DR in a few month go do 2 of the same 3 operations. I just showed her the post and her response was a candid “gurll I wonder who is her doctor, hope it’s not mine” then she brushed off the convo and started on something different. Me open me mouth but den me lock it back…

12. I’ve watched many plastic surgery programmes and I have seen where women are denied multiple surgery at once. The doctor would do only 2 procedures at once and encourage the patient to return when they have healed for additional work.

Them foreign surgeons look like it’s all about the money and that long ass flight after so much work must have been a horrible experience.

13. Doctors will tell you, the most important part of plastic surgery is the recovery. She needed to let her body rest and heal before she start walking up and down showing it off. In DR they have a lot of recovery houses with nurses to take care of the patient, she should have saved enough money and stayed there until she was well enough to fly back home.

14. As a mother I feel for her kids that are left motherless. The 3 surgeries she did I have a solution to that problem.(1) Bombshell Bra from Victoria Secret (2) A nice stiff gurdle(3)Batty panty that I bought at Burlington coat factory, not too puffy & the bads are adjustable depending on how high or low mi waa wear mi batty that day. Problem solve, when me step out not a Barbie doll…(Barbara weh yuh deh)
    Very sad occurrence.

15. She never had enough money for the the recovery house and to stay the required time before flying in which caused the blood clots, that is the reason Why she died not because the doctors gave her a botched job.

Do your research and make sure you have enough money for the surgery and recover help needed as it comes hand in hand.

1. Me again. My friend is a top surgeon. She said that with the best surgeon and proper after care, blood clots can form. The vacuuming of fat can cause air to get in and cause the blood clots. When you cut flesh you allow air to get in, this is dangerous. She said that if the girl stayed in DR recovering for a whole year, a blood clot could still have killed her. It’s not because she was rushing back or didn’t have money; every procedure, every single one carries risks.

16. When her brother made the post on FB that she passed away my mind went to her children because her oldest and my daughter are the same age. Two little girls left without a mother because you want optimal bbb. Her brother is a RN I’m sure they had discussions about all of the risks in addition to her own research and the doctors directions. When they do these things the doctor doesn’t have to give clearance to fly?

17. WHAT I’M SAYING AS YOU CAN SEE IN THE PHOTO AFTER HER SURGERY SHE LOOKS WELL ,BUT IF AT SOME POINT SHE’S HAVING AND DEVELOPING SOME KIND OF INFECTION COMPLICATION THAT CAUSING TERRIBLE PAIN IN THE STOMACH WHY IS IT SHE NEVER SEEK MEDICAL ADVICE OR HELP OMG SORRY TO SAY THIS BUT I THINK SHE IS CRUEL TO HER SELF TO NOT GO FOR HELP ,AFTER DOING ANY PROCEDURE YOU NEED YOUR MEDS FOR PAIN AND TO PROTECT YOU FROM DEVELOPING INFECTIONS, PPL DO YOUR RESEARCH AND LEARN FROM THIS YOUNG LADY MISTAKES R.I.P SUCH A BIG LOST…