DOES THIS PERSON KNOW WHAT COMMUNISM MEAN?

Shocked by Holness’s communist-like Government
Dear Editor,
With the election over, many Jamaicans have gone back to their daily routine. In the midst of the transition and celebration they have forgotten that their role as voters goes beyond simply electing a Government, but also ensuring that the governance structure created by the new Government reflects the tradition of democracy.
The structure should be one for and by the people; not one for the prime minister and his party. It is within that context that I am shocked and dismayed at the communist-like power that Prime Minister Andrew Holness has given himself. Based on the
Assignment of Subjects and Departments, Agencies and Other Public Bodies document dated March 7, Andrew Holness is prime minister; minister of defence, economic growth and job creation.
HOLNESS
On the face of it, this raises no questions. However, when we drill deeper a few things are revealed. The ministers without portfolio have no real strategic power, but are implementers or mere managers. All strategic and policy power rests in, is rolled up into, and must be approved by Andrew Holness, the minister with the portfolios.
Additionally, outside of the traditional departments/agencies for defence and the Cabinet, Andrew Holness now controls departments with large budget allocations and reach. He has more combined ministries, departments and agencies under him compared to his other ministers with portfolio. That is unheard of, except in Cuba, Russia or China. Could the prime minister tell Jamaicans why he has given himself so much power? Does he understand that in doing so he has created a communist-style governance structure? How can Jamaicans be assured that he will not use this large concentration of power to his advantage?
Can the prime minister relieve himself of some of this power to protect the democratic institution of government? On page 15 of its 2016 manifesto, the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) promised that it would implement “a more appropriate allocation of responsibilities…to avoid overlapping and cumbersome bureaucracy”. Is this communist-style concentration of power into one person what the JLP was talking about? This kind of structure will not avoid overlapping and cumbersome bureaucracy. Instead, it will give the prime minister absolute power over people, departments and financial resources. That is dangerous for the Jamaican democracy.
Monica Simpson
Kingston 5
[email protected]

21 thoughts on “DOES THIS PERSON KNOW WHAT COMMUNISM MEAN?

1. Monica simpson cut the crap……first people was saying portia was doing nothing flying out every minute,now they saying Holiness doing too much and have to much power……come on man.I dont see these ministers as mere managers based on what the minister of defence states recently that he has approved certain things already dont seem powerless to me.Give him time for us to see what he is doing kmt.

2. Monica Simpson hop off a Andrew Holness fender go and hve several seats PNP party is well know to be a communist party from Micheal Manley time that is why he lost the 1980 election PNP party was so much into Cuba ..omg leave the Prime Minister alone..Portia Simpson and her cabinet rob up the taxpayer money and mash up the country..get over it now..a wat Portia a u family well she lose the election so go and take some sleeping pill and drop a sleep and dont wake up bye to the Simpsons!!

1. Reading your post shows you did not get beyond the third grade in Primary School. Do you know what a period is and the need for one? You fit the profile of a typically uneducated Labourite.
      When was Michael Manley a Communist or Jamaica a Communist State? One think Michael Manley did was created JAMAL for people like yourself. You should avail yourself f the opportunity so that you can improve your basic writing skills and basic comprehension. Right now, you are just a stupid Labourite!!!

2. The person who is saying that Michael Manley is also clueless and just line the author of this article, does not know the meaning of the word Communist. If were to follow your thought process, one would think that America’s relationship with China is going to make them Communist.
      A full time Jamaicans learn about the different forms of governments and then revisit history to see which of Jamaica’s past governments fit the different forms of government types. It takes a dunce/illiterate or a liar to look at what Michael Manley did and call it Communist.

3. A sorry fi oonu when Andrew done with oonu stay deh think him new and different….he was right there fr Seaga days and Seaga taught him very well.

4. Monica Simpson, please stop with the malarkey. Communism/Communist, far from it. In a Communist paradigm, there is no freedom of press, religions are outlawed, elections are banned–except for useless superficial elections–et al.
    If you were to say that the man was quasi-autocratic that would be a different story. It is clear that by consolidating those portfolios and having them function under the auspice of the Prime Minister’s office allowed the Prime Minister to save a lot of money. Let’s hope that Mr. Holiness know what he is doing.
    The Prime Minister and his cabinet are on the right track; earlier I read where Mike Henry is exploring re-introducing passenger rail to Jamaica and if that is done in the right regard, such would be a win for all Jamaicans.

5. Some of unu just upsetting! Isn’t it a fact we all have a level of intelligence on here? Unu need to refrain from bashing people, good God man! Met, i wish it were possible to not post anything more abt politics cuz some of the bloggers are too salty regarding politics! the verbal combating sickening now man! Live and Laugh!!! Let us see what Andrew’s intentions are for us Jamaicans! for no prime minister is permanent! Get out unu feelings man!

1. G, I hope I am not being accused of bashing anyone today. I think we should be more concerned with lies/misinformation. It is not okay for individuals to come on here slandering individuals with their mendacious comments. I have a great disdain for mendacious individuals and their comments; hence, I can’t ignore such statements/comments. When I ask for veracity, am I asking for too much?

6. I went to a high in Jamaica ..Micheal Manley created JAMAL for u and Portia u attend but Portia didnt go that is why she is so dunce..my leader is educated no dunce cant and will never be my leader..u ppl get over it now Andrew Micheal Holmess is the Prime Minister of Jamaica ..no more free money abayyyyyy

1. Reread ur comment and u will c that u are a dunce, even misspelling “ur leader’s name. If Portia is a dunce as u say and was the prime minister of a country not once but twice then that is a great achievement for a dunce. What have u achieved so far with ur intelligence?

7. U sey Andrew came from Seaga school so that is good so he will be able to control the dollars and that will help push the country forward PNP cannot do dat all PNP do is borrow and theif ..u ppl dont care wat party come in power and do good unuh pull dem down just bcuz of politics

1. Seaga a good smaddy? Seaga whose sole mission was to destabilize the country(and conspired with the CIA to do so) when Michael Manley was in power? Seaga is the main reason why Jamaica is in the position it’s in today. Him actions brought about destruction from him generation come down to now. Unnuh need fi read more often.

8. Communist-like and communist are two different terms. The writer is likening the fact that he gave himself a certain amount of power to a communist regime, they’re not saying that he’s full out turning Jamaica into a communist country.

1. Pro, big up yuhself. There is nothing ‘Communist-like’ that the Prime Minister is doing. Trust me, she is dead wrong. If anything, she could have called him an autocrat and if he were to band elections and get militarized, along with banning elections, we would then call him a dictator–Communist-like or Communist are still totally different references from even that.

9. Observer u a duppy bat..i am not in a spelling Bee contest so my finger touch on M instead of N so wat ..ur Prime Minister achievement was to mash up the country and sell out all the assets of Jamaica ..she couldnt hold a debate SHAME ON U All.abayyyyy