DUDUS AND HIS CONFIDENCE IN THE PNP

Owen-Ellington-Optimized

THE testimony being given by former Police Commissioner Owen Ellington at the Tivoli Gardens Commission of Enquiry is quite revealing.

In fact, we find one aspect of what he has so far disclosed to be extremely chilling.

On Monday this week, Mr Ellington told of a conversation he had with Rev Al Miller, whom he had asked to try to convince then Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke — who was wanted by the United States Government — to surrender to the authorities.

According to Mr Ellington, two days after he made the request, Mr Miller returned and told him: “I saw the man and the man say to me that if it was the PNP in power they would know how to deal with it. Tell Bruce Golding to find a way to deal with it. I’m not going anywhere, and if him a come fi mi, him haffi come good.”

Mr Ellington told the enquiry that he had also asked then Political Ombudsman Bishop Herro Blair to speak with Coke about a peaceful surrender, but Coke told the bishop that he would not be surrendering.

According to the former police commissioner, Mr Blair said he has had dealings with the military but had never seen so many rifles in his life as he saw in Tivoli Gardens. He then told Mr Ellington that he would be praying for him and the other members of the police force as it was apparently obvious to the clergyman that the security forces would be left no choice but to enter Tivoli Gardens — which was heavily barricaded — to arrest Coke.

We really were not surprised by Bishop Blair’s observation, as Jamaica had long heard of the massive armoury in Tivoli, regardless of attempts by people with an interest in the community to paint another picture.

What has concerned us, however, was the reported message sent by Coke to Mr Golding, who was prime minister at the time.

That a man who was wanted for serious crimes could have sent such a brazen, defiant message to the head of government suggested that he saw himself as untouchable — someone who had heavy support in firepower.

We shudder to think what would have happened to Jamaica had the security forces failed to dismantle what was clearly an empire being run by Coke that, for decades, operated outside of the laws governing this country, and which benefited from political protection.

We have argued in this space before that the commission of enquiry is necessary for the country to determine what happened in May 2010 in order that we do not find ourselves in a similar position again.

What is also absolutely clear from what Mr Ellington has told us is that the country cannot allow the creation of another community that operates as a state within the Jamaican State.

Any attempt to create that kind of social and political order should be crushed before it can take root. As the language of the streets would say: “Memba mi told yuh!” or, put another way, we have been warned!

0 thoughts on “DUDUS AND HIS CONFIDENCE IN THE PNP

1. Well dudus wasn’t lying about the PNP because a couple times well helicopter/plane landed in Miami in the 70s with fugitives. Even though, JLP sent a good many abroad as well, but PNP good fi it.

1. Clearly Dudus was scared that the JLP government would have killed him if he surrendered to them , because of the many secret he have for them. Dudus even referred to the fact that his dad Jim Brown was killed under suspicious circumstances in prison while waiting extradition. He thinks that the pnp government would have no need to kill him because they would love to know the secret he had for the JLP and would use it as a bargaining chip for him to tell what he knows.

1. Clearly, I’m speaking base on facts that aren’t common knowledge to many. Are you defending dudus and his actions? PNP don’t need to know JLP secrets because “they” are all right there at the same table.

JLP and PNP aren’t some alien race of people, and neither are they some subterranean organization that is far remove from the Jamaican society. They are uncles, sons, brother, cousins, neighbors and FRIENDS. I grew up in a household where Labor officials and Rising Sun officials assembled for meals, drinks, gossip “mouthing” and revelations of secrets…trust me they are all one and the same.

Therefore, dudus knew his time was up and he was acting on his skills of negotiating- not knowing that his strength wasn’t one of real might which he should have known from him puppa met his end.

1. If Blinds was Prime Minister during the 1990s or 2000s, Dudus would have been dead by now. Remember when Blinds send the list of 13 names to Commissioner of Police Col Trevor MacMillan and MacMillian refuse to do his bidding? Who think set up Massop death? The same Jim Brown, along with Blinds. Same Blinds end up sortout Jim Brown years later?

Go back and check your files, During the mid 1970s to mid 1980s, all the JLP badman from Tivoli had visas. Jim Brown, Carl ‘Byah’ Mitchell and all the Shower Lieutenants had the visas which had nothing to do with the PNP.

1. ” JLP sent a good many abroad as well, but PNP good fi it.”

Notice me neva exempt labor from the conversation. PNP did their share…helicopter to plane. I won’t go any further so that I don’t divulge what I’m sworn to.

But, I will say good riddance of the brown/coke klan and any associates, and the same to spanglers set too.

Too bad the younger generation don’t know that they are pawns in a propaganda that wasn’t really an inclusive benefit to all a we poor people.

2. As an advocate for PNP related causes, I have to to concede that yes, they are very proficient in the areas securing and hiding their enforces–Miami and Havana were used a lot…

1. Your approach is just because you’re not embracing the party as a whole, while ignoring the facts. Many of those night flights were also due to Havana… :kacau: :shutup: :beer: :travel

Again, me done and gone.

3. PhantomPhoenix, both parties were complicit–it is just that one was more proficient than the other. At the same time, while being receptive to new insights, I only spoke about what I know.

1. On point…too bad many people keep on splitting the blame because of party loyalty…you know what? Many aren’t even party loyalist, but more propagandist and bandwagonist.