ELDERLY WOMAN WHO THOUGHT SHE WOULD HAVE BURIAL MONEY GETS TAKEN FOR A RIDE BY PASTOR

Elderly woman who accused clergyman of taking funds intended for her burial has passed

Jean Blake, the senior citizen whose car was sold by her pastor and the proceeds used to purchase a vehicle for himself, has died.

Barbara Blake, the sister of Jean, 74, told THE STAR that she died peacefully at home last Saturday after a lengthy battle with cancer.

“She was ready to go. On Good Friday, she was shouting ‘Please come for me, please come for me’,” Barbara said.

Blake’s story first appeared in THE STAR on March 17. Barbara admitted that there now is a shadow of uncertainty cast over the retired teacher’s funeral expenses as she had planned to use the proceeds from the sale of the car to do that. She said a group of past students who Blake taught at St Jago High School reached out before Blake passed and promised to help in any way they can.

One of those past students is Hubert Smith.

“Miss Blake was very instrumental in grooming the troublesome boys at Jago then. She was really that kind of disciplinarian,” he said.

END WAS NEAR

Jean Blake, in a letter, dated April 8, 2014, purportedly written to one of her church sisters, said Kevin Campbell, her pastor at the Prophetic House of Worship Church, was to use her Nissan Sunny motor car, as she had got too sick to drive. She instructed the church sister to take the car from Campbell and sell it for no less than $360,000 because she felt like the end of her life was near. She said the money should be used to bury her.

“She was ready to go, that was why she asked about the money for the funeral,” Barbara said.

Campbell, in an interview with THE STAR last month, said the car was a loan, but he said that the vehicle was later turned into a gift. He said any suggestion to the contrary should be seen as “false, phoney, and erroneous” and of the “devil”.

Attempts to contact Campbell proved futile up to press time yesterday.

8 thoughts on “ELDERLY WOMAN WHO THOUGHT SHE WOULD HAVE BURIAL MONEY GETS TAKEN FOR A RIDE BY PASTOR

1. Gm all,

Dutty jingbang “pastor” bwoi handover the car or the monies so that the good ole woman can get a proper burial! You are the phony n false one!!!

Dem set ya mek it bad for the genuine pastors enuh,it bun mi fi dem !!

2. We are still mentally enslaved, every church or Pastors come to Jamaica and make millions from us. Look at the Universal church, look at the massive place that they’re building at Maxfield Avenue. Tell me which country that religion has made better?

3. Yardielovethug, be careful how yu a bun out Pastors cause yu said one show bill an receipts sey yu benefit from a Pastor’s generosity. Funny how sometimes the most critical people hands dem nuh clean.

The Pastor bwoy yah a real wicked, bout it was a loan then moved to a gift. Him coulda really tek a gift from a woman who is obviously inna a financial bind.

1. Actually that’s how unique I am…no amount of gifts,money or promises of good good will make me compromise my integrity, freedom of expression or calling it how I see it.I will take ur things n tell you bout ur raasss same speed if yuh infringe pon mi rights n values.

Maybe you will be surprised to know I sent back money …even slightly more than Pastor chick sent me two Fridays ago!!in regards to the barrel, mi tell her mek mi donate it to charity but she sey no because she has cousins!!I bet yuh any money none a dem nuh wear size 11 nor loafers smh!!

2. Besides rt now is a decent youngish swiss miss a carry the swing now!!You’ve had swiss cheese but have you had swiss miss hot chocolate tea?we have it at the office n I swear it will give our blue mountain peak coffee a run for it’s money. Shape up salada because unno nah make we coffee good again but I digress!

All me a sey pastor quite alright n some people luddy..a swiss francs mi ting deh..$usd n £ too common ya now …smiling. We have we reciepts enuh Met,this one different I swear this could be it,emailing u zeen.Big up one of my main role moggle pon ya..Marcel wet dem…Wet dem up straight we sey mi boss!!

4. Anything wha against the pastor dem a rob and thief is
    “of the devil”. Christianity a the biggest scam in history

5. Wolf in sheeps clothing, him better pay for the lady to have a decent burial. Nasty jankro of a false pastor

6. Why would she give it to you as a gift if she not on anything herself. Old lyad. Can’t stan den criminal whey clinge to the bible.