FLA SEH SECURITY WRONG TO TRY DISARM THE MAN

Crazy’ Attack – FLA Says Man Shot Was Wrong Attempting To Disarm Firearm Holder

“Something crazy” is how Cleveland Crooks, director of compliance and enforcement at the Firearm Licensing Authority (FLA), has described the actions of a security guard who on Monday was shot and injured while trying to disarm a licensed firearm holder.

Crooks determined from preliminary investigations that the guard was wrong and pointed out that other security personnel from KingAlarm who eventually took the firearm away from the man appeared to physically abuse him. The guard who was shot was not affiliated with KingAlarm.

“Videos have been circulating on social media. I saw a gentleman in a suit standing in what seems to be an apartment complex. He was approached by another man who attacked him and seemed to be trying [to pull his concealed firearm] from his waistband. However, he held on safely to his firearm, but while they were on the ground struggling, a shot was fired,” recounted Crooks.

“In a case like this, his life was threatened. He is a licensed firearm holder, attacked from behind. As a firearm holder, there is an important thing called retention of firearm. No one should attack an individual like that. The attacker did something crazy,” Crooks declared yesterday.

He continued: “From what I have seen, the other security personnel acted out of the scope of their responsibility. They should have calmed the situation, then called the police. What I saw was a gentleman being forced to the ground, being clearly abused and his gun taken away.”

The FLA said that it would continue interviewing persons who may be able to help with the investigation.

Dahlia Garrick, acting superintendent of police in charge of the Corporate Communications Unit, told The Gleaner yesterday that investigations were ongoing into the matter. However, the police were not yet sure if charges would be laid against anyone.

“This is being investigated, but it is too early to give a comprehensive report. Statements are being collected, but given the number of players in the incident, we have to get all sides of the story,” she said.

The armed guards accused of assaulting and disarming the man are employees of the KingAlarm security company.

Managing Director of KingAlarm John Azar issued a statement yesterday explaining that the personnel representing his company who were seen in the video had been removed from active duty.

“Without benefit of a thorough investigation into what transpired, I have seen enough on social media to cause me concern, relating to the actions of some individuals at the scene. As such, all KingAlarm personnel who were present have been pulled from duty, pending the outcome of investigations by ourselves, the police and other authorities,” said Azar.

“I have personally reached out to the firearm holder in the video and expressed my concerns directly to him. Wherever our personnel are found to have acted in contravention of the law, or inconsistent with their training, or in violation of human rights, there are serious and severe consequences,” he said.

12 thoughts on “FLA SEH SECURITY WRONG TO TRY DISARM THE MAN

1. The fire arm holder should sue. He has a licensed fire arm, committed no crime , was attacked and accosted. Where they do that at?!? Oh yes yes ….Jamaica land we love . Smdh

2. The female security was VERRRRRY unprofessionally.She fires the first shot.I think she added to the situation she was very hostile.she was cursing the man into the suit the whole time bout she will shoot him in a him bbcloth she need to lose her work or be penalized some way PERIOD.

3. But this make me ask some other questions about privacy laws in Jamaica: if someone films an altercation or incident while you are at your home, do they have the right to publish it for entertainment? How does this work if there’s a criminal case, since the witness pool is tainted and have drawn conclusion based on the video that’s already circulated?

As a citizen these things concern me, a lot of apartments being built (thanks Money Mike 🙁 that overlook my property. So if they film me & my man fighting, fuc$ing or otherwise in the yard OE through my window the person can just throw it up on their page without my consent?

Need one of the page’s lawyer to tell us how this one go

1. No they can’t just throw it up suh..well actually they can but then the opportunity for you n your lawyer to eat some serious food presents itself …there’s no doubt that it will be an open n shut civil suit in your favour.What Gaygas has is not considered evidence until it’s corroborated n entered into court through the proper channels,which is all the more reason why his asinine commentary n speaking in a manner as if to infer that what he is saying is factual is grossly repugnant n he’s a despicable battyfish for trying to influence persons along the lines that his version of events is the be all n say all of what really transpired.

Putting My disregard n deep contempt for gaygas aside , I can tell u that he is making a mockery of how our justice system operates n in fact undermines same through his ignorant n self gratifying utterances.How do we know if it’s true what gaygas said happen prior?How do we verify any of his claims prior, during or after the incident?

Thus u see that’s the core of the issue …evidence is rigorously tested before it can be admitted as such then contested even more so in court.At the highest level lawyers can only argue legal opinions but it’s the Judge who makes ruling of facts…y’all gonna then tek the opinion of an attention seeking whoremonger n run with it as facts cuz he was there??
      Remember this is the same punkass who told suitman that he has his back n won’t let anything happen to him cuz him a guard his head..then we all saw how that turned out…him tun round cuss di man..talk about backbiter.Gaygas doesn’t have as much as zero credibility for me,he’s way way back left in his negative bullshyt ….SYM Gaygas!

4. well crimes are being vidwo taped and published daily around the whole world. This is definately not a Jamaica issue.

1. I live in Jamaica so Jamaican laws are my concern. Privacy laws in the rest of the world don’t affect me at this time

5. @Nikki I see your concern…but can you imagine what COULD have happened if no one was videoing? The innocent, licensed fire arm holder could be dead today. If they (security) kicked him in his head multiple times while he was down AND handcuffed, can you imagine?!?!

1. Yeah man I have no issue with the filming. Because it could be used as evidence if the recording is submitted to the police or lawyer. But using it for likes, without the persons permission is where I have a problem, especially since it happen at your residence where you expect to enjoy privacy.

6. Only 2 security from king alarm act professional the rest must be fired and their fire arm permit revoke.

That big black hog wey call herself woman is mad disrespectful .she threaten to shoot and kill the man in the suit, she call the man pussy hole .this bitch needs to brush her tongue with ajax and swallow bleach .

King alarm workers abuse their authority.

The man in the suit acted so professional they bully him .they abused him .they disrespected him and he must sue King alarms plus he MUST sue the man that box him and the gal that kick him in the face .
    Mr sue everyone of them apology is not enough let them pay.

7. Check Loop News the female security is is a former cop from Maupin and recently joined the team. She resigned thw force about a year ago. I do wonder why she resigned?