GEORGE NOOKS ASKS FOR PRAYERS

EMBATTLED singer George Nooks gave a well-received, gospel-laced performance at Musical Rhapsody held at the Jamaica Pegasus hotel in New Kingston on Sunday.Nooks, 56, took the audience, comprising children, to church and had them in a “praise and worship-esque” singalong. His set included God Will Take Care You, Bridge Over Troubled Waters, When I Think About Jesus, and God Is Standing By.

However, during his performance of Ride Out Your Storm, he broke down in tears. Unable to carry the song, his in-tune audience rose to their feet singing and encouraged him in applause until he was able to compose himself to belt out the remaining lyrics.

“I felt their love… It was unconditional. This evening wasn’t easy as everybody saw, I broke down a couple of times. However, they treated me with respect… like a human being. I want them to pray for me,” Nooks told Jamaica Observer.

Nooks, two days earlier, was arrested by the Corporate Area police after a bag containing just under two ounces of cocaine was found in his possession. He was offered station bail in the sum of $80,000 and is scheduled to face the Kingston & St Andrew Parish Court on May 17.

The singer completed his set with a medley of hand-clapping choruses comprising Real, Real, Real; Press Along Saints; It’ll Soon Be Done; Stand Up And Tell Me; I Love That Man From Galilee; What A Mighty God We Serve; Some Sweet Day; and Some Day I’ll Go Where Jesus Is.

Bishop Harold Daniel, rector of Church of St John The Evangelist, prayed with the singer after his performance.

Musical Rhapsody also saw great performances from headliners Ken Boothe and Freddie McGregor, who had the audience engaged with their vast catalogue of hit songs.
Boothe brought patrons down memory lane with tracks like Freedom Street, Silver Words, and Arte Bella.

“Children can listen to my music. These are songs from the ’60s. I like 80 per cent of dancehall music…. but it can be vulgar and derogatory. That’s not good,” said Boothe, 69, before delivering When I Fall In Love.

He completed his sing-along set with Train Is Coming, The Girl I Left Behind, Moving Away, Puppet On A String, Tomorrow, and Everything I Own.

McGregor, who brought the curtains down on the evening with a foot-stomping set, delivered standards including I See It In You, Loving Pauper, I Was Born A Winner, Just Don’t Want To Be Lonely, And So I’ll Wait For You, and Don’t Hurt My Feelings.

The “captain” kept the audience buoyed with To Be Poor Is A Crime, Prophecy, Push Come To Shove, Stop Loving You, and his smash hit Big Ship. They showed their appreciation in applause and cheers.

Boris Gardiner, former I-Three Judy Mowatt, and Rising Star alumna Jodi-Ann Pantry also delivered delightful sets.

Dr Audley “Knapp” Betton, Musical Rhapsody planning committee chair, was pleased with how the evening unfolded.

“I’m overwhelmed because the crowd is here… We have a full house and our sponsors have delivered. But to hear the artistes performing at the level that they are performing, I’m very proud,” he said.

Now in its sixth year, Musical Rhapsody (formerly entitled Rhapsody in Steel) is an annual event is prwoduced by the 140-year-old Church of St John The Evangelist. Part proceeds of the concert will go towards the church’s outreach programmes and building fund.

16 thoughts on “GEORGE NOOKS ASKS FOR PRAYERS

1. Jah know drug addiction ain’t easy inuh. I’m assuming he’s a user and not a supplier, ride out your storm yah Lawrie and hope you come out better on the other side.

2. This man has been a coke head for YEARS, Yes he needs prayers but what he needs most is REHAB.

3. Don’t know who this George Nooks is, but him never know him need prayer fi overcome him coke addiction until him get arrested?
    Not judging a man fi him choices but what the tears for?

1. Getting arrested is rock bottom for most celebrity addicts. They are publicly shamed and therefore have to acknowledge that they have a problem. Addiction is a disease and the negative stigmas doesn’t make it any easier for anyone involved.

4. I gather that indeed he asked for prayers but I missed where he said what the prayers would actually be FOR??..TO WHAT END?WHen u pray for smaddie,almost always it’s for a specific reason n purpose! Thus what would u be specifically praying for Nooks for?

5. Bloodclaat cokehead a sing gospel song but a wah dis??? Dem shouldnt even mek him go rehab right afta di performance him woulda neva a bawl if him get ketch… oh please mi naaa look dem secret drug users are the worst ones cause him a binge probably an a not even like a ganja him a smoke is a cokehead.

6. Why so much bitterness towards the man? He asked for prayers, either you will or you wont? Simple. So many people suffer from one addiction or another, instead of judging with your high and might selves, just keep it moving. Y’all supported Ninja-man when he was a Coke head born again Christian.

7. This man is not a coke head please stop saying that he is a seller he deserves a second chance

8. Oh man this one lick mi hot. Watching someone pretty much commit suicide (drug addiction) is a pain that cannot be described. If he is in fact drug addicted, he needs prayers, rehab and support but only if he really wants the help. 99.9% of the words that addicts speak are lies so he could be going through a binge and is feeling remorseful until he gets another hit and the cycle repeats itself.

NOW if he is a drug dealer, he will need to pray for himself, because people like me who has witnessed the first hand destruction of drug addiction, do not give a flying f*ck about him and have no time to waste our prayers on a murderer.

9. This bredda a hustle coke to uptown people. 3.5 grams can cause over dose two ounce a dealer quantity. There is no way that is for personal use.