HEAT FORCING MINISTRY TO REVISE CLOTHES WORN IN SUMMER CLOTHES

Jamaicans should change type of clothing worn in summer months, Health Ministry official suggests

Dr. Nicole Dawkins-Wright, Director of Emergency Disaster Management and Special Services at the Ministry of Health

A director at the Ministry of Health has said it is time for a change in cultural practices in the clothing worn during the summer months.

Dr. Nicole Dawkins-Wright, Director of Emergency Disaster Management and Special Services, is pushing for Jamaicans to lobby for this change, especially as it relates to office wear.

“We have to be sensitive to our people and realise that sometimes the mindsets will allow persons to not be respectful of the kind of garments that we need to wear to making the professional attire, but at the same time we need to allow for a dress down that allows lighter clothing; and we probably need to lobby for a season where it’s mandatory that there is a different kind of dress wear for work where we have to go in terms of uniforms and make the necessary provisions for same,” she suggested.

Dr. Dawkins-Wright said the adjustments are especially important due to health changes in the population.

“We have a lot more persons with chronic illnesses who are on medication that makes it harder for a body to cool itself when it needs to. So because of the change in the population, this is something that is becoming increasingly important,” she explained.

On Saturday, the temperature in Jamaica rose to a record 39 degrees celsius.

Climate Service Specialist at the Meteorological Service Glenroy Brown has predicted that there will be more intense heat across the island in coming weeks.

5 thoughts on “HEAT FORCING MINISTRY TO REVISE CLOTHES WORN IN SUMMER CLOTHES

1. All this heat is a sign of God these clowns to stop the bleaching or he’ll just put some heat on them to restore their color

2. It’s all over Germany France Paris the whole Europe under a heat wave not only Jamaica . Serous year this 2019

3. Wah day yah mi dus walk a di side a di house dus go dash whey di garbage an di way mi a sweat mi seh no sah imagine if mi did a go furda.. Mi sorry fi di homeless.