HOLNESS NEED FI CHECK HIMSELF BEFORE HIM WRECK HIMSELF..

Hi Met n Bloggers,
Kindly see the link to the Jamaica Observer story in this week observer.Honestly some ppl really do think Anju need fi go easy n check himself b4 him wreck himself! Look at all the Cass Cass bout dis tek back car biz,it don’t look nor sound good Met. In fact check out this attached opinion that is founded in a legal basis.
Anju is desperately gonna need pnp support to pass certain laws. Please let good sense prevail or the country will be truly ungovernable in the real sense.
pm_7
There’s
a lot of hand-wringing over the one-seat majority victory obtained by the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) in the general election held last Thursday.
The reality, though, is that razor-thin majorities have not prevented governments from functioning effectively in other jurisdictions.
In our sister Caribbean state of St Vincent and the Grenadines, for instance, Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves’ Unity Labour Party won last year’s elections by just one seat.
And, 13 years ago, Prime Minister Keith Mitchell won the general election in Grenada by just one seat.
Indeed, even here in Jamaica, we recall that the Bruce Golding Administration of 2007 took office with a mere four-seat advantage.
As far as we can remember, none of those governments were unable to function. Yes, they may have experienced some difficulty passing legislation, but that is par for the course in parliamentary democracies.
What we will acknowledge, though, is that governments with wafer-thin majorities need co-operation from the Opposition. As such, the Administration must cultivate and master the art of diplomacy and compromise, albeit without surrending its authority.
This is a skill that Mr Andrew Holness, the leader of the JLP, must acquire quickly if his Government is to be successful. His
Facebook post on the weekend relating to the sale of government motor vehicles will not contribute to the atmosphere of co-operation that his Administration will need when it takes office.
For while Mr Holness’s party has won the election, he needs to accept the fact that he has not yet taken the oath of office, and as such is not, at this time, the prime minister of Jamaica.
Therefore, his telling us that he has indicated to the Cabinet Secretary, the financial secretary and the permanent secretary of the Office of the Prime Minister that he does not intend to continue the policy of selling government vehicles to the ministers who had use of them is ill-timed.
Additionally, Mr Audley Shaw was televised assuring supporters that he, “Man-a-yard will be finance minister next week when I will allocate $15 million to pay to complete the Finsac Enquiry report”.
This, apart from being very untimely, is also very unhelpful in a situation where compromises will be necessary to get the business of government done. This applies even if the PNP picks up another seat in the recount or magisterial recount, or if a JLP member crosses the floor and causes the PNP to be the Government.
Moreover, if Mr Shaw becomes the finance minister, he might well find that all the promises made by the JLP, including the Finsac report, cannot be fulfilled all at once, and some would have to wait until the economy can accommodate it.
The two gentlemen will find that their premature actions can only serve to sour relations between both sides, even as there is merit in both intentions. The victor in an election, we hold, should be the one to reach out to the vanquished in an effort to mend fences, especially after a bruising campaign.
For, at the end of the day, both sides will have to sit in the legislature and reach consensus on matters of vital importance to the country.

16 thoughts on “HOLNESS NEED FI CHECK HIMSELF BEFORE HIM WRECK HIMSELF..

1. So let me understand this; Jamaican tax-payers money purchase those vehicles, plus Jamaican tax-payers money pay those MP’s and Permanent Secretaries, and with tax-payers money they get a monthly salary, and they’re leaving Government those MP’s has the option to purchase the People’s Vehicles? ‘Not ah Baxside’get rid of that stupid law off the books. They can be used in JLP administration.No wonder why mi likkle beautiful Island caah prosper.

2. Some are simply missing the point. In my opinion, it’s a good move by Prime minister elect Andrew Holness. If the outgoing MPs need vehicles send them to the ATL showroom in New Kingston or send them to one of the many used car dealers on the island. That practice is nothing short of the government subsidizing a portion of the cost of each vehicle. Mr. Holness stated very clearly that it won’t be business as usual when he heads the government. A wha, dem cyaa hear? People it’s really quite simple: there’s a cost to replacing each vehicle sold. Eliminate that cost by maintaining ownership of those vehicles, especially at a time when the Jamaican government borrows money to pay to replace them. The money that will be saved could be used to purchase hospital equipments, school equipment, or even spent poverty reduction or agricultural programs.

3. It is sad that comprehension is still lacking among those who feel like expressing themselves openly on the internet.
    He has stated his intention after he is sworn in. He has chosen no to hide the plan to DISCONTINUE the policy. Additionally, in the same way a policy or law was passed, it CAN be discontinued. Remember the attempts of the buggery law? This is nothing new. There is also a clear difference between the word POLICY and LAW. Policies are objectives that an organization or a government sets for itself to achieve in a given period of time. Laws are the tools that help a government achieve these objectives. So it needs to be made clear with reference whether the sale of motor vehicles is a POLICY or a LAW.
    “As part of our commitment not to be government as usual and to change how government works, I have indicated to the Cabinet secretary, the financial secretary and the permanent secretary of the Office of the Prime Minister that I do not intend to continue the policy of selling government vehicles to the ministers who had use of them,” Holness said.
    Justification:
    The prime minister elect said in his Facebook post that this move will save the government the cost of replacing motor vehicles.
    This is the start of the change that the unbiased tax paying Jamaican needs to see. Our taxes cannot buy high priced vehicles that may be imported without paid duties and then sold off for pennies on the dollar. Change must come and corns will be stepped on in the process. This is step toward true PROGRESS & saving for Jamaican tax payers.
    If Jamaicans don’t cut out the tribalism, we will never reach anywhere.
    PS. There are still countries out there that do well WITHOUT an income tax. Look it up @ the pest that goes around on FB saying “ow cuntry fi run widot incom tax”.

4. go sip ur humble tea sender, the coffers nah no money to buy no new car suh we nah sell unno those for dirt cheap no matter how much slander and post y’ll make all over social media

5. Well said blogger “C” these are n my views it is an observer editorial n someon giving their legal opinion.Anon I love sipping on cold tea so I guess u are new n neva know dat oo!My motto until I see better will forever be no better herring,no better barrell!!

6. Can anyone answer this question? How many JLP Cabinet Ministers purchased their vehicle back in 20112 when they demit their offices? Are these “old” vehicle going to current JLP Cabinet Ministers or other lower level Government Officials?

1. u know a dis mi a pree. Portia got cussing fi the 60mill dem spend on new cars because di JLP ministers asked and were allowed to buy the vehicles they had while in office. so y mek it look like them wanting to buy the car is wrong. As a matter a of fact it is better to sell them after 4-5 years while still in decent condition. compared to 5 years down the rd when it drive out and repair cost start to sky rocket

7. Wonder if them know say a the Jamaican ppl own dem car deh? Not no damn politician. That’s what this post is all abt. Mi see it clear. Go buy car if u want drive inna car and gweh.

8. Fukk di vehicle taak, staat taak bout creating jobs… unu fukkin eediot… A woo dem ppl yah star… Hey a PNP house mi grow up ina but mi glad seh a JLP win… Jamaica need a change, new ideas n path… Weh dis childish bS bout vehicles a go… Di 2 side fi stop di fukkry bout vehcles.. dem teef enuf money can bakk new ones… SHIT!!!!!!!!!
    Moving on, NEXT!!!!!!!!!

9. I know who exactly this sender is oh yes Kamla is how much money pnp paying you a day ? Stay in your lane and mek the man work every day you on social media tearing down people.Is only you me see call the man Anju and u put up this article the other day you’re a damn disgrace to the party smh