JAMAICA P.A.T.H PROGRAM DISGRACE

The P.A.T.H program in Jamaica that is supposed to assist Jamaicans in dire circumstances is said to be refusing applicants that that have toilets that are able to flush, Television sets and refrigerators. The program provides breakfast and lunch to qualifying students and small stipend to help with grocery.
Parents who are trying to get on the program are complaining that they are not being accepted if ministry visits they don’t have a pit latrine. Candidates have to show that they have absolute no bathroom at home to be able to eat a free meal..Disgrace

0 thoughts on “JAMAICA P.A.T.H PROGRAM DISGRACE

1. Met you know what is even more disgraceful? The parents who are already on it and uses the money to do everything else but help with the childrenĀ“s welfare. Also, there are so many who are on it already who have decided that J$5600 (minimum wage) is way too small to work for and have so many children they could open their own basic school, so the P.A.T.H program is their “only” source for hair do and other personal amenities. There are far too many #proud” people in Jamaica whose pride really is as small as a mustard seed because they are too relaxed in their conditions and situations.

1. What mi waa know is what toilet have to do with what you can afford to eat…didnt the jamaican government claim dem a try get rid a pit laterine?

2. A me fi tell u a real thing my sis applied n them say she hv flush toilet so she no need it. A from long time a that them a do. Another little girl that was desperately in need bec her mom mad a three yrs now we a wait fi d home visit all now

1. So is only pit toilet the food whey the path program give can go ina? Mi waa know wha kinda sense that mek this is a big disgrace man

1. No Met it look like them preoccupied or are greatly stressed/concered that the free food is going to bung up di people dem flush toilet and caz a major over flooding..

Wat a piece a slackness tho Lord!!

3. I know for a fact if you have flush toilet, tv whether black and white or colour, the size of your house and the type of house you live in has alot to do with if you get the help. little do they know you have people with flush toilette an tv set and still can’t afford to send there kids to school, also there’s people who give false info who dont really need the program and still on it. the system set away

4. Obviously the criteria for eligibility needs to be reviewed. I can see why they have gone overboard because there are so many ppl scamming one thing or another they have gone to the extreme to weed out those who are dishonest es especially when di money available is meager and haffi tretch. There are some accommodations with indoor toilet that is not good, some of the housing schemes are just one rung up from homelessness so those ppl are not living in comfort they simply just have a roof over their head, far from a luxury.

1. A govt tings and a suh it always guh. We pay unemployment out wi pay every pay period, but getting it is not easy and you will not see your first check till bout 3 weeks after you apply could be a month and dats if you qualify, cause if a fired you get fired you nah get it unless a some unjust firing situation…lol. I a look fi go off grid and come outta Babylon. Sorry fi who a look help from PATH, but getting money from the govt is no easy task nuh matter where you live. Wish unno well

5. Just using the flush toilet as a excuse not to help the people. Bet you any money little more from this you soon hear how much money get missing from the program.

1. but sweet nuff people wid pit toilet doe have no problem finding food a country people dem so mi really nuh understand…it look like dem waa people use lada bag

6. If u cn afford tv u mus cn afford fi sen u child to skl, some sacrifice did mek, as fi the toilet idk wah dat have fi do wid it.

1. suppose the person was working and able bodied then met in an accident n dem condition/ situation change..?? that cannot be ina di criteria either

7. Met they evaluate on basic needs so housing. And access to running water is one thing and of course food so salary. So the pit latrine requirement is not the req per se but it as a consequence of not having running water so den use dat. Just as with food they don’t say well u haven’t eaten. But simply that with ur salary u can’t afford a basic meal. I guess it is how it is manifested so it appears to be the requirement but it isn’t