JAMAICAN MAN MURDERS BABIES, FATHER IN LAW…THEN COMMITS SUICIDE

smhm-Optimized

Police were called about 4 p.m. Friday and said they found bodies throughout the home on Shirley Oaks Drive in Oceanway. On Saturday, the Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office identified those killed as twin babies Hayden and Kayden Hiatt, 49-year-old Travis James Hiatt (pictured below), and the gunman, 28-year-old Gawain Rushane Wilson.

“It appears this maybe spawned from a domestic issue where someone was moving out of the house or something to that effect. It’s stemming from some type of domestic issue,” JSO Director Mike Bruno said.

Traci Bunkley worked with James Hiatt (pictured below with twins) at the church they attended on Fort Caroline Road. She said he was helping his daughter move out Friday when the shooting happened.

James Hiatt and twins “Jimmy was the kind of guy who was always giving service. He would give the shoes off his feet, his last dollar out of his wallet if somebody needed some help,” Bunkley said. “Somebody saw them moving their things and called (Wilson) at work and told him that she was moving out. He came home earlier than they expected. That’s as much as we know at this time.”

Neighbors said Wilson had recently moved into the home with Hiatt and the girls and a vehicle in the driveway had belongings in boxes loaded inside.

Last year, Wilson was accused of domestic violence in another incident with a different woman. He was served with a domestic violence injunction ordering him to keep away from that victim.

I know the person who called him must feel like they are in hell this morning. Yuh see how some neighbor nosey

7 thoughts on “JAMAICAN MAN MURDERS BABIES, FATHER IN LAW…THEN COMMITS SUICIDE

1. I’m glad he committed suicide at least I know he’s going to hell. I know that’s an awful thing for me to say but I can’t see myself forgiving someone for such a heinous crime.I’m sure forgiveness is possible but I’m not so sure if I could do it right this moment…… upon just reading the details. Smh. That neighbor though. Smfh.

2. Good Morning Met & Metters,

God please give the families some peace from this heinous crime this man has committed, may these beautiful babies and their grandfather have peace. My condolences go out to the family and may the strength that the good Lord gives you help you to heal…
    Whosever called this man from work should dig a hole and drop inna it… Look what your nosey behind caused these babies to be killed by the hand of their own father I presume he is the babies father… I can’t even put into words what I’m feeling right now being a mother of two girls I couldn’t imagine how my life would be without my children… My heart pour out to their mother and the entire family…

3. Tragic situation… I was reading somewhere that he made the mom hold the babies whilst he shot them… it seems he was a serial abuser. The person who called him bears some complicity… while they never told him to come kill the people them, that call was the catalyst for the immediate outcome. Yes,who’s to say he wouldn’t have killed them later, but this instance is a direct derivative of that phone call.

4. That neighbours real shit. Obviously the fact that you have to call and inform him they moving out indicates to you that them relationship never right.

5. Good afternoon Met/Metters.
    That baby killerknew why he took his life. He would not have lasted a minute in jail. My stomach is writhing from disgust. My heartfelt sympathy to the family and love ones now left to cope with this tragedy