JOCKEY HUBERT BARTLEY IS DEAD

Hubert ‘Chinna’ Bartley, a former two-time champion jockey, died yesterday after a long battle with illness. He was 54 years old.

Bartley, who was rated as one of the top riders at Caymanas Park during the 1980s and 1990s and ranked ninth in the top 10 of Jamaican saddlemen, rode 751 winners from 3,349 mounts.

He rode two Derby winners aboard Poor Little Rich Girl and Mr Lover Lover, and had six winners in the Jamaica St Leger, a race he made his own.

President of the Jockey’s Guild Shane Ellis said he was jolted by the news of Bartley’s passing.

“’Chinna’ was an outstanding rider and a gentleman who did a lot for racing, especially when he was in his prime in the 1980s and early 1990s.

“He was a crowd favourite who rode several Classic winners, including winning the St Leger several times. I offer condolences on behalf of the Guild and personally to the family and friends of this truly outstanding jockey,” Ellis said.

After a long exile from competitive race riding, mainly due to weight problems, Bartley returned to the winners’ enclosure on Saturday, October 25, 2014. He guided the Dalton Comrie-trained Hail De King to an emphatic victory over King Nebarue and

Annisa in what was no more than a simple piloting exercise.

Bartley finished his career with stakes earnings of $35,118,576.

5 thoughts on “JOCKEY HUBERT BARTLEY IS DEAD

1. Rest in power Hubert,a good amount of fond memories I have of you in the early 90s…especially how u n fanna Griffiths mek me win money all when it was $2 a minimum bet.

Sincerest condolences to his family and friends.