JOE GRIND CHOP HUSSEY

Drama unfolded inside the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court last week when a man who caught his woman naked with another man appeared in court with the man in question who allegedly chopped him in his head and on his hand after he forced himself inside his house.

The woman who was at the centre of the drama also made an appearance. However, it was not certain whom she was supporting as she was not given a chance to speak.

The accused men, Anthony Reid, a construction worker of Orangefield in Linstead, St Catherine, and Mickoy Moodie, a salesman of Sundown Crescent, St Andrew, appeared on charges of assault occasioning bodily harm and unlawful wounding respectively.

Reid, who is the spouse, is accused of punching Moodie and scratching him with his fingernail during a tussle, while Moodie is accused of chopping Reid in his head and on his arm with a machete.

The showdown between the two men took place on April 23 at the woman’s home in Denham Town, Kingston, where she lives with Reid.

However, before the violent encounter between the two, allegations are that the woman had hired Moodie to drive her to Montego Bay on the weekend to visit Reid, who was working in St James. Reid apparently was not pleased about the situation, which sparked an argument between them, resulting in the woman returning to Kingston on Easter Monday.

On Tuesday when Reid, who was obviously still hurt, appeared in court, he explained how the incident unfolded.

“I went to visit her and I heard her inside and me call her, but she no answer and me and har deh fi five years,” he said.

Reid told the court that after his calls went unanswered, he picked up a broom to move the curtain so that he could see inside the room.

However, he said, “when me move the broom and shift the curtain me see har naked inside the house with the man.

“And me hear like she a say ‘Jesus Christ!’ and me hold on to the grille and it pull and me go inside the house,” Reid recalled. “When him chop me she start shout murda,”

“What did you do to this man?” Parish Judge Maxine Ellis then asked.

“Nothing, I just scar him,” Reid replied, while explaining that after he was injured the woman’s son and daughter who were inside the house helped him to stop the bleeding.

Moodie, however, told the court that he was defending himself when he chopped Reid because Reid attacked him with a shovel.

He also told the court that Reid, on realising that he was injured, punched him several times and during a scuffle scratched him with his fingernails.

Moodie also told the court that Reid’s spouse had tried to open a back door to let him out when they realised that Reid was on the scene, but the door would not open.

The judge then asked Reid who was the owner of the house and he said it belonged to his partner, but the judge told him that it was also his home as they were together for five years, which gives him the right to claim the home as her legal spouse.

“How can he be locked out of his home, and I want to know if him want to go in there why him have to use a shovel to dig off the lock?” Ellis asked.

But Reid interjected and told the judge that he did not use a shovel to gain entry to the house; instead, he said, “ I use my hand and pry it open.”

At that point the woman, who was standing inside the court after the prosecutor had called her inside, raised her hand indicating she wanted to speak, but was denied permission to speak by Judge Ellis.

“I don’t want to hear a thing from you ’cause the man say he was inside the house with you and you try open back door to let him out,” she said.

“When you put yourself in those circumstances what you expect to happen … and if there is legal provocation in law, this is,” Judge Ellis added.

She then enquired from both parties if they were willing to go to dispute resolution to resolve the matter, but Reid said he did not want to go as he was still angry.

The judge, however, told him: “All when you put a ring on it people do what they want to do.”

She then told him that she believed that he will be given the right, should he proceed to trial, as he was provoked. However, she assigned him a legal aid lawyer to better advise him as to what route to take.

Both men’s bails were subsequently extended for them to return to court.

One thought on “JOE GRIND CHOP HUSSEY

1. Bwoy values gone down the drain long time.

Das why I man stop discriminate against the back-road Girls – only difference with them and many who don’t go there is those girls charge up front – like prepaid phone.

Not saying all women are like that, but like 3 out every 4 will give BUNN, CHEESE and Jacket.

Think as I’ve gotten older I have accepted that women are just as bad as men – once the minds are free.