KARTEL AND DI CONJUGAL VISIT DAT HIM ALREADY GETTING

Dear Editor,

It looks like our security minister just heard the “Worl’ Boss” and “Spice’s” hit collaboration of 2014 called Conjugal Visit.

On Monday, July 24, 2017, the minister gave his personal opinion of being in favour of conjugal visits while addressing the audience at the Jamaica 55 Diaspora Conference.

I don’t know the Government’s opinion yet, but I do welcome this debate.

So far Jamaicans For Justice is in support, while the correctional officers are somewhat against it due to space.

The announcement of conjugal visits for prisoners must have sent Gaza fans in a frenzy on social media and in the streets. Tanesha “Shorty” Johnson, who said she will hold it until her husband is out, must be a happy woman today. Also, Adidja “Vybz Kartel” Palmer, who has been incarcerated from 2011 should be a happy man today. The question in Gazanation’s minds is: Does Vybz Kartel yet qualify for conjugal visits?

How to meet conjugal visits qualification, according to the minister

1. Type of crime committed

2. Time left on the sentence

3. Changed behaviour

4. Deportment of the prisoner

5. Stable relationship

While I understand both sides of the argument, I tend to lean towards having conjugal visits in our prison system. I heard extreme arguments against conjugal visits, including discussions about the pregnancies that may result. So let me address that concern. The State already provides free health care for everyone, the State subsidises education up to secondary school for everyone, and the minister is currently setting up programmes to educate illiterate prisoners and provide technical/vocational programmes. All’s covered.

With regards to crimes committed, I strongly believe that rapists and child molesters should be barred from having conjugal visits.

One thing for sure, this announcement by the minister will box food out of some warders’ mouths.

Teddylee Gray

Ocho Rios, St Ann

[email protected]

3 thoughts on “KARTEL AND DI CONJUGAL VISIT DAT HIM ALREADY GETTING

1. Please stop post these non sense with a killer..Why y’all post dis dude Kartel who is a Killer..What about the youth he kill and mutilate, What about the youth family, where is the moral in this society, y’all need to stop support slackness..Kartel does not deserve any conjugal visit…

2. Kartel should not have that privilege because he is a convicted murderer.

What about lizard woman who cant see or touch him?

Is prison dem deh not vacation in Negril. Mek dem back d fist.