LAWRENCE TAVERN DON THREATENS TO RAPE 13YO

HOODLUMS in Lawrence Tavern, St Andrew, have forced a mother of 10 to flee the community after issuing death and rape threats to her and her 13-year-old daughter.

The woman, who has since moved to a rural parish, told the Jamaica Observer that men have been preying on young girls in her former community for years and insisted that this is something known to the authorities.

The Observer contacted the Lawrence Tavern Police Station to ascertain whether or not a report was ever made, but was told to contact the police’s Corporate Communications Unit (CCU). CCU said that a report was not made. “That person in the community, him like the underage dem. I had to leave; him threaten to rape my daughter. She was 12 at the time. Some of the parents dem ‘fraid of him so when him do it dem can’t have a problem with it. Dem ‘fraid to talk. A man weh have him gun and him family have dem gun,” the woman disclosed.

She recalled that her daughter was only nine years old when the man, a self-proclaimed don in the area, allegedly attempted to groom the child s*xually. She said the incident was reported to the police which resulted in a court case. The woman said nothing came of the case which was followed by consistent threats from men in the area, said to be a part of this so-called don’s entourage.

“Him and dem will pass and seh dem a go bun dung di house, a seh da gal ya fi dead and she fi lef ya. The whole situation break her down mentally. She not even pass her GSAT (Grade Six Achievement Test) fi a traditional high school. She couldn’t sleep at nights,” the 36-year-old woman said of her daughter, adding that she had to take the child everywhere she went as the threats increased.

She also told the Observer that her niece, at 14, was impregnated allegedly by the same man and was forced to lie about her age when she visited the clinic. She is said to be pregnant with her third child now.

“She tell them she was 17, which was not true, and now she is pregnant again for him at 17. But I tell people she a 21. She not even giving dem her real name, so you know that child won’t even have her right name on the birth certificate. I tell my sister to leave but she said she not moving to country. So that is the result,” the woman said.

Now living on captured land, the woman said her situation can only be described as a “struggle”. Her children, whose ages range from two to 20, are frequently absent from school, sometimes go without food and are bundled in a one-bedroom botched up just below the main road in the community she fled to a year ago.

“When I come here, a tarpaulin mi under. Yeah man, mi put up some bamboo and go under it go sleep right here by the roadside. People see and stare, but it’s because dem don’t know your situation. Mi did affi leave, mi couldn’t mek dem rape mi daughter. I rather leave and struggle and know seh dem safe. That would leave a life scar on her because mi watch it happen to nuff girl,” she said.

“…It rough, but we affi try and work with it. From we have life, we good. Sometimes I can’t provide proper shelter, food and lunch money. They were on the PATH (Programme of Advancement Through Health and Education) but dem drop off because we move,” she said, noting that she sells fruits in a nearby town to make ends meet.

Basic amenities such as electricity and water are also missing from the household.

The police in the area have since stepped in to assist the family, and have earmarked a space to add to the makeshift wooden structure she erected.

“I would take any help I can get now because I know once four or five of dem start work life will be much better, but fi now it’s all me, since dem father turn dem back pon dem,” she said.

21 thoughts on “LAWRENCE TAVERN DON THREATENS TO RAPE 13YO

1. Lady you did the right thing … no number for. Contact and the pm a build 300 million dollar house and the children a suffer

2. Great mom, I would do anything for my children to keep them safe too. Good goings mum, hope the children watching, learning and understand the sacrifice.

3. This is the same area that Dog Paw and his people dem were running wild. It’s unfortunate that the politicians and police know about it and don’t do anything.

4. Yes ma’am, you made the right choice, move yes. What woman could live with herself if her child was raped and she knew she could have ran away from the area. Poor child must be traumatized.

5. Good move mother. You did the right thing. I’m concerned about the other young girls in the community who are actually being targeted and have nowhere to go. What is being done for their safety. My heart weep for that 17 year old that’s having a 3rd child and has to continue to lie so that she can live free. May judgment and karma locate these predators. This is a sad sad situation.

6. Ten kids, and no father to help. She indeed has it hard. May her kids grow and help her with this struggle

7. Anonymous dog paw is not from Lawrence tavern are dog paw is from tavern in august town two different places. Lawrence tavern is close by temple hall way. It was a quiet area until the thugs from Kingston move and come up there to cause problems.

8. Even with her dire economical situation she didnt sell her children. Great mother you are indeed!

9. This is happening way too much in Jamaica and something needs to be done. From my little cousin reach 13 her mom make she leave tivioli because some similar situations were happening. Can’t tek no check. How can u be a bad man and a rape underage girls. Them caan get one strong body man fi rape him . Damn man. I would love to help if there is any info on this lady

10. Until every Don and Area Leader is hunted down, killed and body tagged in the streets, Jamaica is doomed.
    For that to happen and be effective the Politicians, Councilors and the JCF have to be reformed. Pay the Police enough so they aren’t forced to hustle. Good luck with that.
    Reneto knew you have to instill fear in the hearts of gangsters but was shackled by the lack of political will.
    Georgie Q need fi guh collect him pension because he is clueless, mark my words.

11. if I love this mother one more time, real mother hen. I know too many mothers who turn out their daughters to “big man,” cuz they see their daughters as a way to help them out. it is horrible that this is going on and nothing can be done, where is the police?

12. Dem dutty dwag shit yah caan dead an mek di youtes dem survive. A same way the nasty Pastor did tek set pan di woman an breed off two a har daughter. Reported story, same evil acts just different characters. Dem caan send the army guh inna every garrison and kill off all don.

13. I wonder if the child was his. Maybe she herself was raped by him and never reported it. I really rate her for what she did though. I really hope she receives the help that needs for both she and her children.

14. I would rather her contact info not published, too many ways to trace and find her location. Just an account # and a name to deposit money. She really needs to stay in hiding, dont know how pretending to be a genuine giver
    Prayers for you lady