MAN SHOT DEAD IN MOBAY

A 47-year-old man was shot and killed along Union Street in Montego Bay on Monday afternoon, bringing St James’ murder count this year to 52.

The victim, who was cut down in a hail of bullets in the full view of passers-by, has been identified as promoter Barrington ‘Bounty’ Smith, who is from Red Dirt in Flankers.

According to reports, shortly after 2 p.m., Smith was standing along the roadway when a motor car drove up and two men with handguns alighted.

The men opened fire, hitting Smith multiple times all over his body.

During the ensuing panic, the killers escaped.

“Me still cyaa believe me nuh get shot,” a man who witnessed the shooting from close range told The Gleaner.

“Is like we stand up pon di ends and ‘Bounty’ jus come off him phone and tell wi seh him go walk go round di road.”

St James, which is one of 10 police divisions under states of public emergency, recorded 153 murders last year.

19 thoughts on “MAN SHOT DEAD IN MOBAY

1. You mean have NO MERCY on them. God needs to release his WRATH on these germs. Never see a set a johncrow mi hate so. Have mercy, protect & keep innocent citizens Great God Almighty

1. This shit gotta stop. Sad to see our men go down like this. I would like to know the back story. Is this connected to the killings late last year?

1. How? These ppl are empty vessel they couldn’t care less if they live or die. To turn a violent society I to a peaceful one is possible, but it takes decades. It could have been curtailed from I the early two thousands, but the attention of those in leadership was completely fixated on the white elephant highway instead of investing in security and education.

The truth is there are too many ppl of low character at every level. Sitting ministers who are friends with criminals, police officers on the payroll of dons, and those who will participate on any evil for quick cash. Crime is profitable for many so longs as it does not touch their doorsteps. The issue is of character and morals above all things else.

1. STFU and stop trying to do the most. I want to know the culprits behind this shit TF you yapping about

1. You are a total and complete idiot. If you want to know the culprits take your ass up and go on the scene and investigate it yourself, who tf is holding you back from finding out on your own. Mtscchw.

1. Scumbag I am not a police but I would like to know who’s responsible for it. It must be one of your demon family members. Go eat a dick.

2. him a promoter and here in jamaica we know dem always mixx up. i dont know no damm promoter that is decent, all when them appear decent in the back them mixx up. promoters are one of the biggest nastiness that help lotto scammers wash them money, i am not saying this man do it, but 95% of jamaican promoters are mixx up and it easy fi dem use them party and wash money and make it look legit. Mi nah say a word, mi a wait till the truth surface.

3. Cray man ah wicked him never have to kill the man smh God not sleeping. Cray man ur days are numbered we all will hear about ur death dam evil .

4. Our think Sir P has a video with Cray Man and Tommy Lee story. That’s why me hardly listen to now a days dancehall. The artistes now a days too mix up, especially the Mobay ones..dem a use music as cover to fund gang activities, a no politician we can say alone a feed bad man. The so called “DJs” are now the bad man dem.