MICHAEL MANLEY’S BUDGET SPEECH 1973

32 thoughts on “MICHAEL MANLEY’S BUDGET SPEECH 1973

1. Met good afternoon, I am so sorry you posted this on the weekend, I wanted every one,to now know, that these are the reasons why a ghetto girl like me would love this man, there is none like him in the history of Jamaica, a champion for his people, him don’t deal with segregation, he refers to everyone has his people, when I said he was way ,way ahead of time, this is 1973, and he came in power 72, and had all these things going on. Them better get book and pencil and tek notes, go back and start doing all these things that he tried to do,it can still work today, his vision is still alive, it’s for the very smart to take it and run with it. Lol, then let me hear anyone say that me die hearted, which smart person would not be? Portia and the whole lot of uno PNP leaders need a battering, how can you guys sit in the company of such a great visioniser, and make the country into a mess, and it’s not like uno was being sabotage like he was, but I forgot, God nah sleep, God don’t like ugly,and when man forget, God remember, I am not going to say nothing, cause uno know weh uno do to the man, that’s why uno stumble and fall, and tun idiots.

1. Bammy ur comments made alota sense today, i am glad u stated that his work is not being continued cause pnp party dont sound like this man right now dem facety lacka wa now and me can bet them neva bright like this man.

2. You know what Bammy is correct, this probable be re-posted in the week when all of the stalwarts are active. We really need to intelligently delve into what this giant of a man is saying.
    This sample reference underscore why we say that this man was/is one of a kind. His grace and poise is second to none–not only his oratory command, but the substance of the message. The man did not love his party, the party was just a vehicle, he loved all Jamaicans.
    This was a man who did not have to go into politics; he did it for love–the love for his country and his people. He is a nonpareil patriot and politicians; I dare the ones to list a person that comes close to him..

3. You know if the requisite sacrifices were made in the seventies, we would be right there with Singapore today–assuming that the hegemonic power and that traiter did not get involved.
    Jamaicans would not be going to the smaller islands, the US or Europe for work; it would be the other way around. We would not be dependent on tourism and as such, all-inclusive resorts wouldn’t be taking away our prime real estate.
    This is such a missed opportunity.

4. @Lalibela, this Is what talking about every day, when these people that never took the time to find out why we keep talking about Manley, they thought we were tribalist, we die hearted to PNP, they didn’t realize that it was deeper than politics, it was the man principles, and ideologies that drives me, so I felt inclined to want to see the PNP successful, because he represents it, there was a time when I didn’t even want to hear nothing about the PNP, so I would love for everyone, that would believe that we are PNP fantastic, we realized what this man was all about, I have close contact with the both parties, so I am no fool, I listened to both party officials, not road side politrix, Comrade leader had all the qualities I was looking for in leadership, he was very respectful to everyone, he loved all the people, my families ate top notch JLP, he took me under his wings, and teach me everything about governing, and putting people first, giving to the whole community, not just the PNPs in my constituent, his motto was love your neighbor, I remember asking him one day, comrade leader, even if my neighbor is a laborite, should I give them the zinc, and he laughed with his dimples and said, yes, …… even if your neighbor is a laborite, give them every thing you get to share with the comrades. Suh mi look pan no body, I know the man heart, any one that knew him close, knows what he stands for, Portia should not be the one to f**k up, even if she dunce, she knows the principles and the ideology of the man that mentor her closely, cause mi nuh that bright, but mi would read every book, listen to every tape, memorize everything that I hear him talk about, and get some bright people round me, and put it into action. Maybe Andrew could do it, I am certain that it will work.

1. Bammy you are 100% correct and I want to thank you for providing that insight. As the man stated, no to political quagmire. He was above politics. Everything that he was doing back then, sacrifices and all, was for this and the future generations.

5. THis is what Lee quan Yew had to say about Manley.. “Michael Manley presided with panache and spoke with great eloquence, but I found his views quixotic (impractical)… the policies of (his) government were ruinous” Between 1972 and 1980 the Jamaican economy lost two thirds of its value so, how can you people still talk about you love Manley?

1. Lee Kuan Yew’s Singapore benefited from the tons of American money that was pumped into his region during the Cold War; whilst that same machine crushed Michael manley’s Jamaica.
      You can’t talk about Jamaica’s demise without talking about the external forces that crushed her. No country can survive such an onslaught–all designed to cripple/destroy. Hence, Lee Kuan Yew is disingenuous for ignoring the geo-political concerns. He omitted the biggest constant in the equation–a constant that became a variable in future administrations.

6. You have all rights to be anonymous, you sick and sad, you mad, yes idiot, Jamaica lost it’s values because of a dim wit like you, that stood on the side lines, did nothing with all the resources that he tried to put in place to make Jamaica better and stronger, by teaching us self reliance, but that’s not what uno did want, so America and you tear, Lee Quan Yew can push that shit back up your ass, you have nothing of value to offer, silence is golden, let your tongue cleave to the roof, and stop chat shit, you should be ashamed of your self, to open your pit toilet mouth this Sunday morning.

7. You and quan Yew want a lick pan uno mouth, that is why the same Chinese them run in now, and take over the whole of Jamaica, and exploit we now,you have a John crow nerves fi run come talk weh a dutty chiny man seh, is 2×4 you and :hammer him fi get cross uno head. :hammer :hammer :hammer :hammer :hammer :hammer :hammer :hammer

1. Bammy, Lee Kuan Yew was in league with the US and at that time, America was pumping countless amounts of money in that region at the time. That is how Lee Kuan Yew economy was built.
      Lee Kuan Yew’s Singapore and Hong Kong were favored and protected by the US and Britain and that’s pretty much it. Beyond that, they did not do anything special. Actually, Manley also stated that the people of Singapore were culturally suited to work in unison at the time more than Jamaicans were.
      I am going to find the actual quote and provide it shortly…

8. Met should create a platform where staunch JLP and PNP supporters can state for the records, the historical positions their respective party has taken. I say this because individuals refuse to embrace facts.
    In doing so, we can properly examine the furnished information and discuss them based on their merits or lack thereof.
    I for one won’t seek the represent the PNP; however, I will represent the track records/legacy for Norman and Michael Manley.

1. You and the other two hijack the boards with promanley crap and then cry bipartsan politics. You are a genuine wolf without cover.
      I doubt Met created her site for political rivalries, but as I read the more I keep seeing you swinging the conversations to your liking. You aren’t proving anything, but simply writing like a debate captain to score points and to satisfy yourself.
      PNP goalkeepers bowed out! Norman and Michael dead! Manley was weak in governing and aligned himself with people who weren’t of value to Jamaica at a crucial time, globally; same as Seaga, so cut the crap. If he was so great a leader Miami, Florida wouldn’t be full of Jamaicans that migrated in large numbers during his time. Walk Broward, Miami-Dade and you’ll hear facts. You’re so verse on pnp affairs and the ills of Jamaica why don’t you go and look a position within the party you so love, instead of staying abroad? They may welcome you since you’re such a fan of the dead, illustrious leader.
      Manley isn’t Lee Kuan Yew by any measure. He should have taken note and put Jamaica on the same scale of wealth.Jamaica need fierce negotiators, not wolves in disguise and debate captains who only seek out praises for self.
      The next person is a waste of time because she harps like a former mistress or infatuated intern or as this great social site call it a bloody GROUPIE.

1. Anonymous, why don’t you declare yourself? Let’s debate merits/facts. I am no PNP advocate; however, I am a staunch advovate of one Michael Manley and his vision. Seemingly that which I have been saying is not lucid enough. Here you go, I am not a partisan, I have supported aspects of Bruce Golding’s policies and so far, I love what Andrew Holiness is doing.
        Predicated on facts, Edward Seaga and Alexander Bustamante would never have gotten my vote. Prime Ministers Sangster, Shearer and [Edwin Allen] were not around long enough to be relevant and such, I don’t have much of an opinion on them.
        This blog is as popular as it is because of the plethora of viewpoints and dynamic personalities. However, you seemingly only want to hear about things that only represent one vantage point. Stop being a coward and reveal who you are—after all, this is a virtual medium.

2. Anonymous, why don’t you declare yourself? Let’s debate merits and facts. I am no PNP advocate; however, I am a staunch advocate of one Michael Manley and his vision. Seemingly that which I have been saying is not lucid enough. Here you go, I am not a partisan, I have supported aspects of Bruce Golding’s policies and so far, I love what Andrew Holiness is doing.
        Predicated on facts, Edward Seaga and Alexander Bustamante would never have gotten my vote. Prime Ministers Sangster, Shearer and [Edwin Allen] were not around long enough to be relevant and such, I don’t have much of an opinion on them.
        This blog is as popular as it is because of the plethora of viewpoints and dynamic personalities. However, you seemingly only want to hear about things that only represent one vantage point. Stop being a coward and reveal who you are—after all, this is a virtual medium.

3. Anonymous, why don’t you declare yourself? Let’s debate merits and facts. I am no PNP advocate; however, I am a staunch advocate of one Michael Manley and his vision. Seemingly that which I have been saying is not lucid enough. Here you go, I am not a partisan, I have supported aspects of Bruce Golding’s policies and so far, I love what Andrew Holiness is doing.
        This blog is as popular as it is because of the plethora of viewpoints and dynamic personalities. However, you seemingly only want to hear about things that only represent one vantage point. Stop being a coward and reveal who you are. After all, this is a virtual medium.

4. Anonymous, why don’t you declare yourself? Let’s debate merits and facts. I am no PNP advocate; however, I am a staunch advovate of one Michael Manley and his vision. Seemingly that which I have been saying is not lucid enough. Here you go, I am not a partisan, I have supported aspects of Bruce Golding’s policies and so far, I love what Andrew Holiness is doing.
        Predicated on facts, Edward Seaga and Alexander Bustamante would never have gotten my vote. Prime Ministers Sangster, Shearer and ‘Edwin Allen’ were not around long enough to be relevant and such, I don’t have much of an opinion on them.
        This blog is as popular as it is because of the plethora of viewpoints and dynamic personalities. However, you seemingly only want to hear about things that only represent one vantage point. Stop being a coward and reveal who you are. After all, this is a virtual medium.

9. O yes @Lalibela, we can do that, we are stating clearly,we are not representing for the current PNPS, but I will definitely be presenting what I know of Manley, and the way he strived to make Jamaica better, so it’s an open debate, let the reps for the JLPS come with facts of what their party did to better serve Jamaica on a whole, what did they come with, their great ideas so to speak,them ask why we love Michael Manley, we are tired to tell them, now it’s our turn to ask the same questions, why did you guys loved Eddie, please state your reasons with facts, please and thank you.

1. Bammy, I am so ready for them and since we are only advocating for the Manley’s I want them to accuse of being tribalistic when we are not. Facts and more facts a go kill them in the aforementioned debate. Mi ready. Met, a weh yuh deh?

10. When Michael Manley was asked about the Asian Tigers, Singapore in particular, here is what Mr. Manley said verbatim in his last public interview:
    “…You have to look at a number of factors which are not talked about. One is that in part of that regions, at critical moment after the second world war, the US moved massive capital into those countries, gave them enormous support and they did so for strategic political reasons, which, lucky for them, that’s a good thing. They also had the wisdom to invest heavily in education.
    That was there doing and much to their credit. It is argued that they had cultural advantages, which are true, in that is… social attitudes that were more focused on the imperative of work than on the imperative of social justice. The fact is, you know, when you look at what happened, democracy was not that real in a lot of those countries. So that you had both political processes and cultural history working towards less concern with fairness, fair play for the poor and the masses and the workers and more getting people to accept this driven work ethic.
    Our problem is that we have not been strategic; therefore we have not attracted huge inputs of government to government capital. Because nobody thought that much churned on world politics, you know, like what happened to us. We also had the strength born of the reaction to slavery and all sorts of things of a tendency to concern with social justice, equity in the distribution of things. Less positive attitude towards work.
    Which was partly a function of Colonialism and partly a sort of historical reaction to a period in history where work was more driven by the orders from above than representing an urge to perform on your own. So you have to look at all that history. Not to excuse or to remain as you are. But if you don’t understand the history, you many not know how to lead people toward the best of which they are capable.”

11. In essence, Manley is correctly saying that American monetary largesse and exploited labour put Singapore where she is today. In addition to their vast investment in education. Definitely factual and the ones should know that said money came from hidden Japanese money that the US used to counter Communism and the USSR worldwide.

12. @Lalibela A Nile and sketelbam..The bank of Jamaica and P.I.O.J numbers are there for all to see (if you care to look) and FYI you asswipes can’t tell me anything about PNP .I was there as a child when Manley used to give my uncle literally bags of cash to do nothing with .what the f**k do you faggots know ..you were the pieces of shit in the crowd that manley used to fool up

1. Coward, what are those records if they are viewed out of context? You cannot deny the geo-politics of the time. Seaga and the CIA in concert, created havoc in Jamaica. Do you deny such?

2. I have listen to his speech and is impressed of his plans but i cant help but recall in another post where someone who was benefitting from one of his projects stated that the money ran out and the project stopped,made me think
      ………..was he just a dreamer and not taking into.consideration the facts that such a project cud survive. the fate of the country was in ur hands mr manley did u properly plan these projects before implementing them.

1. Anonitu, that s what we have been attempting to say, the money line was intentionally cut off to destabilize his government:
        “”Economic de-stabilization”: In addition to the US credit squeeze and curtailment of aid, and the damage to tourism, the fragile Jamaican economy suffered from the actions of the aluminum companies. As an act of retaliation for the bauxite production levy — which had become law in May 1974 — and with the tacit encouragement of Washington, the companies systematically reduced production, which hurt Jamaica in several ways.
        In August 1975, the American firm, Revere Copper and Brass Company, closed its aluminum refinery after only four years of operation, saying that it was uneconomical. 17 In January 1976, the company announced that it was suing the Jamaican government over the levy. Whether there was any underlying de- stabilization motive connected to these actions is not known.”

13. When individuals are not able to debate on issues, they have to resort to personal attacks. You were a child and you were able to deduce that Manley gave you uncle bag of money to do nothing? Please, that’s for the birds.
    You are on the Internet and you are still hiding under ‘Anonymous’ as opposed to declaring yourself. When individuals don’t agree with you, your filthy mouth represent who you really are–in that you vituperate left and right.
    Bob Marley did say that the truth will offend…

14. Anony 11:05, your uncle had to be the peice of shit that you’re talking about, or otherwise you are a liar like the devil, you hear what you say, Lol, Manley used to give your uncle bags of money, and him did nothing, so who is the ass, nuh must you and u gingeration, stupid do want stupid does, which was nothing. There you go ass, you’ve proven my point, all when uno have the resources, uno did nothing with it, you and your uncle is a dam jackass, wooooiiiii, so him get bag a money and nuh do nothing, so a Manley fault right? stop talk, you’re looking dumber by the seconds now. Lol

15. Idiot, whoever you be, tell me one good thing that Eddie did for you, or a family member, cause you just declared that Michael, by your own words, used to give your uncle, bags of money, which him in turn, did nothing with it, so, daah! What your point? Today is your tagg the fool day, because I just tagged you for making the most stupid comment on a political debat no sah, you’re mad, sick, head nuh good, head gone and leave u body. Wooooiiiii

16. Wolf without a cover, hmmmm! Poor you, you are one of those people who were categorized as the haves, so when you all learned that this man, came on the scene to spread the wealth across the boards, so the have nots, could eat, and send their children to good school too, you cowards packed up, shut down your business, run to Miami, and spread your venoms, by telling lies, that Manley was turning the country into a communist country, that’s how it all started, the CIA heard the rumors from you same wicked Jamaican people, because you the upper crust, thought you were better than the poorer class of people, and this Priminister, show you that you weren’t better than the next man, all were equals, you guys hated the thought of this man telling you to raise minimum wage, and give the waste land to the poor farmers to cultivate, is people like you who orchestrated the downfall of your own country, I am going to tell you again, my name is big in the history of the Jamaica labor party, I have no time for your crazy ranting, and what ever you want to think about me being a groupie, that’s your shit not mine, I will endorse anyone who takes up the mantle, and can put Jamaica, and it’s people first. So you don’t even know what you are talking about, so chill. Of course I am pro Manley, did ever say otherwise? No, but I am willing to give anyone the red carpet, whose desires is to make Jamaica better, if I was looking for bipartisan politics, I would stay within my own family.