MOTHER WANTS GOVT TO TAKE HER TWO CHILDREN

takemychildrenb20161025rm

A 52-year-old business woman says she has hit rock bottom and is begging the state to take her 14-year-old daughter and 16-year-old son from her.

She said she can no longer feed or school them properly, and their father has refused to pay child support.

“I am doing this with a heavy heart, but I have no other option. I have been taking the father to court since 2011 when my boy passed for high school. The judge said the father should cover half of all their expenses, but nothing came from it,” Carol Brown* told THE WEEKEND STAR.

Both children, who now attend traditional high schools in Kingston, said they are aware of their mother’s wishes, but are not bothered by them.

“A just the kind of lifestyle wah we grow up inna, so it no faze we. We been struggling for a while now, so we kinda adjust to it. Anything come we way, we just deal with it,” said the fifth-form boy who passed his Caribbean Examination Council Mathematics exam last year.

struggling mother

The boy had earned a place at a prestigious rural area institution after his Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) but was uprooted and brought to the Corporate Area by his struggling mother.

His sister, a third former, at a Kingston high school, started out at a celebrated secondary institution in the rural area. She said her mother is to be blamed for their circumstances.

“You have people worse than we. They come together and sort out their issues, but she just get up and cuss, so me no care right about now. I just want to get away from her,” the young girl said.

She told THE WEEKEND STAR that they often go hungry and attend school without lunch money or bus fare because their mother does not have a stable job.

sole person

Brown explained that she separated from the children’s father five years ago, and has been the sole person supporting them since then.

Brown said she operates a storage business which sees her storing goods and furniture for persons. However, the business took a major hit and is yet to bounce back.

“Thieves broke into the place once in 2008 and two times in 2009. They took a lot of things, and I had to compensate my customers over $600,000.”

Because of this, Brown said she has run into arrears and incurred huge debts which she is unable to repay. In addition, she said her son recently developed a medical condition which requires him to visit the hospital daily for treatment. All these factors she said have hindered her from operating her business and taking care of her children.

“I have gone to the courts about 30 times over the years trying to get assistance from their father… . I can’t manage anymore. I want the Child Development Agency (CDA) to take them,” the mother said.

The CDA told THE WEEKEND STAR yesterday that it will conduct an investigation into Brown’s case, but noted that taking children from their families is not its preferred approach in such circumstances.

similar situation

“We would not want to take away the children from her because we have been promoting that family is the best place for children. We will see how best we can come to some solution to see how we can assist to ensure that the needs of the children are met,” the CDA’s communications manager, Rochelle Dixon, said.

Dixon added that persons who find themselves in a similar situation should seek help.

“You have a member of parliament, you have a church family, you have family members that you can reach out to, and they might be able to help. The CDA is also here to provide the counselling and support, but we really do not want to see a breakdown in the families.”

* Name changed to protect identity of the children.

13 thoughts on “MOTHER WANTS GOVT TO TAKE HER TWO CHILDREN

1. I wish the government or anyone else for that matter would swiftly intervene and remove these children from the care of the mother even if only temporary. Alot of times we read some things and say how people never reach out for help or wha mek dem never do this or that. This environment is not healthy for the children, there is no way that this should be normal for them at all. Some auty uncle fren neighbour or something please help, we are loosing our children on rapid so please try save these two. And the court should enforce pickney maintenance from the father, if he is working garnish him friggin wage so we sure say the children get their dues. Alot of single mothers raise children but that doesn’t mean that everyone can. Lady try get all the help you can to help yourself and the kids.

2. What a sad tale. Many ppl living one pay check away from disaster, these are big kids so it must hurt dem deeply. I just hope it work out for those children. The mother going through her own pain as well, one circle of pain all around. May they all find peace

3. This lady need fi put on ar big girl drawz and cut out the foolishness. Unless you filthy stinking rich or middle class plenty plenty people will contend as some point with lack of money. Imagine how it would be if all children were given up because of money or lack there of…..when it come om to child support mi nuh play….locate the dad and drop them right off if she must….my gf of many years seriously is considering giving up her 4th child who is 5 years old for adoption bc of serious medical/behavioural reasons so mi naw look pon this lady…not at all.

4. Jah know star it sad bad. Maybe things like these will Mek dem kinda see say di system fi open up and do likkle things like dis fi help families in need almost like di American system.

5. But Marie what constitutes “putting on her big girl drawz” you propose taking the children to the father (if she can locate him) and drop them off but that no guarantee a better life for the kids. The man is probably a rolling stone as she took him to court several times and him still no provide financially. Also lack of money means the children cannot go to school and get the education they deserve, they go hungry at times and she is asking for the state to assist (by means of taking) them. Is is possible that she is trying to negate her responsibility as a parent? Yes it is possible, however because so many things are at play here we can’t be neglectful as some persons are. God forbids this woman harm the children and/or herself, we same one would say why she never ask for help. The girl say she just want leave, obviously she is not happy and her mother’s problem is the source. It’s been a rough year for jamaicaican children and we have two more months to go, alot more me just want see them safe (I know the system is not the safest place either). The mere fact that she reaching out for help proves that she acknowledge her short comings and at this time does not think she is the best person to take care of them.

1. Same so! We should try to develop compassion and empathy for the plight of others. Di amount a call and need fi financial assistance from ppl all around mi this year is astounding, never seen it like dis, and a ppl mi know genuine and nah scam mi. The only reason I could help out is because I am a single and childless woman. And is not just Jamaica alone mi get call from. Di need is great everywhere, even right in di US. Sometimes situation just run up pon you and you caan get back pon you feet no matter what, put sickness in the mix and you have a soup of misery.

I also been telling my sister I just feel uneasy bout 2017. I don’t feel a good vibe bout di year and think ppl fi live below them means and practice frugality for a while, keep di reserves high and nuh everything inna bank, push some unda di mattress too.

2. Hey 2 Sugars and Milk…….the point mi did a try mek is that although nuff a we nuh born in riches we still provide for our children. There were days my mother couldnt afford squat but guess what my mom owns a house and I own a condo…we cannot give up simply bc of a bad year financially. If you believe in God which I do, you stand in faith knowing that the circumstance is TEMPORARY. Forgive my ignorance bc I really dont have the facts as to how child support run in Jamaica BUT whether Jamaica or Canada child support affi pay point blank period…..usually if you drop off the kids at deadbeat door dem will come up with the money once thay realize how hard it is to be a single parent. Anyway bless up mi dear yuh name always mek mi wah a decaf coffee double d ouble…lol I always enjoy reading yourcomments..Muah

6. Wish someone would offer those kids a likkle job, perhaps at a supermarket on weekends or so; so they can help themselves n learn discipline at d same time….

7. JAMAICA IS SUCH A DEPRESSING COUNTRY. THERES NO REAL JOB OUT THERE. IT SEEMS EVERYBODY THEIF FI SELF GAIN. THE MENTALITY OF SOME JAMAICANS IS TO ACHIEVE MONEY TO FLOSS ON OTHER PEOPLE. THATS THE MISTAKE. WHY COULDNT ALL THE DRUGGIST GET TOGETHER AND BUY BACK “AIR JAMAICA”. WHY CANT SOME INVEST IN A CHICKEN FARM AND SHIP IT TO UNITED STATES? GIVE JAMAICANS JOBS. BUT NOOOOOOOO WEARING FAKE VERSACE BOOT AND FLOSSING OF A 40 DOLLAR MOET IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN THE FUTURE.

8. Lol no worries Marie, I don’t know you but I KNOW you and you’re one of the biggest advocate for children on this site. But some a dem deadbeat puppah yah will step right over the pickney when you drop them off and gone bout dem business. God bless your mom and the strenght she posses to beat the struggles, big up yourself to hun and double up!

9. I agree with Marie! My mom raised 6 of us ,some days only hot water to drink
    Today we are all doing fine!
    When life gets rough , kneel and pray.

10. I agree with Marie! My mom raised 6 of us ,some days only hot water to drink
    Today we are all doing fine!
    When life gets rough , kneel and pray.