NINJA SEH LAING TELL DI OVERSEAS PROMOTER DEM NUH FI PAY HIM

With uncertainity surrounding its future due to cancellation this year, many have written off Sting, the longrunning Boxing Day show.

But not Ninjaman, the flamboyant deejay whose clashes helped make Sting the biggest show on Jamaica’s entertainment calendar.

“Sing has not done its time. It has gotten derailed, but if the promoters get back to the drawing board and get back the show into that [lyrical] battlefield that it is known for, it will work. Also the organisers need to start showing the artistes, especially those who build it, respect. No promoters nuh get hit down, but it is the artistes who face the bottles, boos, and clap-off. We are the ones on the battlefield,” Ninjaman told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.

The controversial artiste was slated to collect an Icons of Sting Award at Monday’s Sting Awards, but was among several no-shows. He explained why he did not attend the ceremony at Devon House in St Andrew.

“The overseas promoters were willing to pay me $3,000,000 for Sting this year, but the local promoters told him not to. So, if I am not good enough for the money, I don’t see why I should collect the award,” said Ninjaman, who first performed on Sting in 1988.

He added that the show had devolved from entertainment to a war zone.

“It has become one filled with animosity, confusion and persons, including myself literally got hurt. A few years ago, Vybz Kartel and his entourage attacked me and the promoters turned a blind eye. Only Kartel apologised for his actions and I didn’t even think about suing the organisers for getting hurt at their event,” he said.

That onstage brawl occurred in 2003.

Ninjaman, however, credits the 32-year-old Sting for giving several dancehall artistes their break.

“Every artiste that I clashed with reached a higher heights…from Shabba [Ranks] to Cobra. Sting was a show that would break or give the young acts their shine from 8:00 pm to midnight. After that, it was like a battlefield. It wasn’t about an artiste singing about girls, it was about the lyrical battles. People would talk about it for months,” he stated.

The Observer contacted Sting founder Isaiah Laing for a comment, but he declined.

2 thoughts on “NINJA SEH LAING TELL DI OVERSEAS PROMOTER DEM NUH FI PAY HIM

1. Him cuss Sting and say he will never work for them. Now its about the money. Ninja, either you have principle or you don’t. You want respect and apology, and when you get award, you don’t take it because you want money.

By the way, Merciless kill Ninja Man at a clash over the Christmas .