NO TRAFFIC SIGN PAN MANDELA HIGH WAY

Some motorists are fuming about the lack of street signs in the wake of traffic changes which were implemented on Mandela Highway on Sunday.

A section of the road was converted to two way traffic as part of the ongoing expansion project.

The changes resulted in a pile-up of traffic Monday morning.

“There is no sign. There should a sign to say turn there (or) there is a school… The government need to operate more better than this!” said one motorist who described the situation as chaotic.

A parent also raised concern about the safety of students crossing the Mandela Highway.

“You have some babies going to some school here and trust me, the vehicle them cannot see them when them a cross the road, and we don’t want any accident out here, so before it get outa hand or reach da spot deh, we waah know weh di government aguh do fi we out here suh, how the crossing aguh come in,” she contended.

Stephen Shaw, Communications Manager at the National Works Agency (NWA) said the agency had plans to install signs and crossing guards, however, there was a breakdown.

“Some things went wrong this morning and we are seeking to correct those going forward,” he told RJR News.

Mr. Shaw said another issue is that because there are now only two lanes open to the motoring public, there is currently no space to create a lay-by for JUTC buses to pick up or drop off passengers.

“What will obtain is that (the buses)…will have to stop in the extreme left lane, set down their passengers and they will get assistance to cross the road where they are going to be crossing; and in the same way, they will pick up passengers. It will therefore mean that persons will have some delays in using the corridors but it is the best that we can do at this time,” he said regrettably.

One thought on “NO TRAFFIC SIGN PAN MANDELA HIGH WAY

1. Likkle by likkle mi country a build. If nuttn nuh bruk yuh naa go know fi fix it. Sign soon get fix up.