PEOPLE LEFT HOMELESS BY TRENCH TOWN FIRE

THREE people were left homeless after a fire destroyed two houses on Second Street in Trench Town, Kingston, yesterday.According to Garth Mills, district officer for the Jamaica Fire Brigade, firefighters responded to a call at 10:39 am. He said two units from York Park Fire Station responded.

No one was injured in the blaze.

When the Jamaica Observer visited the community yesterday, the fire had already been extinguished.

Shanise Mendez, 23, who occupied one of the houses with her six-year-old son, told the Observer that she lost everything.

“I was on West Road when mi hear, ‘Watch dah smoke deh’. I stopped and look. People were moving like nothing was happening. Then my sister called me and said your house a burn down. When I came I saw the place burn down,” Mendez said, adding that she was preparing for her son’s graduation next month.

“I lost my partner money, which is $138,000. The clothes isn’t really the problem because I have clothes at my mother’s house. I was preparing for graduation, which is the fifth of next month; next Friday is registration at Iris Gelly Primary School as well”, Mendez said, adding that she was supposed to pay the money today.

Sponsored Links
We Tried the South Beach Diet: Here’s What Happened
Popdust for South Beach Diet
30 Amish Facts That’ll Make Your Skin Crawl
Activly
The cost of the graduation is $6,500 while the registration fee is $6,000.
An irate woman, who claimed the fire at her son’s house was an act of arson, said it was the second time within a year that his house was destroyed by fire.

“Last year him and a youth in a ‘friction’ and them bun him out. A Sunday gone him move in his house and dem bun him out again,” Elecia Morris said.

Morris, while noting that her son was in downtown Kingston plying his trade when disaster struck, said her son lost everything.

“I was sitting at my gateway when I heard somebody said, ‘Smoke’. I thought it was a joke. When mi look, the place look foggy so when me get up and go round the corner and look across my son’s house, I saw the blazing fire. Nothing we nuh save,” Morris said.

— Racquel Porter

2 thoughts on “PEOPLE LEFT HOMELESS BY TRENCH TOWN FIRE

1. My “good lady”, when the law asking questions I am certain you automatically become a mute, yet you know why that young,trying girl lost EVERY thing.

2. “Young, trying girl”, why you de road at 10:39 am and the entire $130,000 which includes the school fees de in the house?

Shouldn’t you have the school fees pon you since a ‘today’ it fi pay? And usually that a 1st thing in a the morning errand :nohope: