POLICE NAH LEGGO ALKALINE SMH

No release for Alkaline

Alkaline before being whisked away from the Area Four Headquarters in Kingston on Thursday. Photo: Sade Gardner

ALKALINE spent another night at the Hunts Bay Police Station’s lock-up in Kingston yesterday.

According to the dancehall deejay’s lawyer Peter Champagnie, he has not been charged.

“He remains in custody of the police. However, if he’s not released before Monday, I’ll be going to court to file a writ of habeas corpus,” Champagnie told Jamaica Observer yesterday.

Habeas corpus is a writ requiring a person under arrest to be brought before a judge or into court, especially to secure the person’s release unless lawful grounds are shown for their detention.

The attorney-at-law said there were no interview sessions yesterday.

“They (the police) concluded yesterday (Thursday). My guess is that the police wanted to access the information,” said Champagnie.

Superintendent Stephanie Lindsay, director of the Corporate Communications Unit — the Jamaica Constabulary Force’s information arm — confirmed that the question-and-answer sessions were completed but couldn’t say if the artiste would be released soon.

“They [the police] are reviewing the information… He [Alkaline] is still in police custody. As for when he’ll be released, I couldn’t answer that. I really don’t know,” she said.

On Thursday morning, Alkaline (real name is Earlan Bartley) reported to the Area Four Headquarters at Harman Barracks in Vineyard Town, accompanied by his lawyer. The deejay was wanted for questioning in relation to the murder of Rohan Morris in Maverley on January 13.

After an extensive interview with detectives, he was removed to the Criminal Investigation Branch office at the National Commercial Bank Towers in New Kingston for a second session.

By afternoon, he was detained at the Hunts Bay lock-up.

Alkaline is know for songs including Champion Boy, ATM and Conquer The World.

21 thoughts on “POLICE NAH LEGGO ALKALINE SMH

1. Wait till you hear the things that the streets are talking Met.We know the law so we wouldn’t say anything to compromise the ongoing investigation. As soon as I confirm these sources and the intel checking out, I will send on Met.

Unfortunately it doesn’t look good on Alkaline based on what two non aligned independent sources are insisting transpired.R.i.p Rohan but you were no saint according to the sources.

2. Who was Rohan Morris?

The man whose murder police are seeking to question entertainer Alkaline about was shot more than 15 times by armed thugs, who crept up at his home located in a section of Three Oaks Gardens in St Andrew.

The corporate communications arm of the Jamaica Constabulary Force on Tuesday evening reported that detectives from the Criminal Investigations Branch Headquarters are seeking the deejay, whose real name is Earlan Bartley, for questioning in relation to the murder.

Sources claim the deceased, identified as Rohan ‘Head’ Morris, was slaughtered while next to a five year old child believed to be his daughter. Police contacted about the reports have neither confirm nor denied the claim.

The macabre murder, which took place in January, has sent shock waves through the North Western St Andrew community.

Sources said the victim, a 28-year-old unemployed man and former student of St Andrew Technical High School, literally begged for his life as thugs kicked in the door to his humble dwelling.

But not even the gut-wrenching screams from the frightened child stopped the killers from carrying out their merciless act.

Reports are that the thugs, after they managed to force their way into the house, started firing wildly, and the sounds of gun fire from their high powered weapons broke the silence of the early morning air.

Reports from sources are that, minutes before men forced their way into his house, the would-be victim told his daughter he loved her, and in a last minute bid to hide her from death, turned over the mattress to his bed using it to cover the child.

The killing is said to be linked to an ongoing feud between two gangs in the community of Maverley.

The police meanwhile have reportedly intensified their efforts to have Alkaline contact them promptly in relation to the ongoing investigation.

“It is believed that he can assist them with the investigations,” the news release from the JCF said.

Bartley is being asked to report to the Area 4 Headquarters, Harman Barracks in Vineyard Town, Kingston 2 by 5:00 p.m., on Wednesday, February 8.

http://www.loopjamaica.com/content/who-was-rohan-morris

3. Everybody a Jamaica link wid top don .. but I if yu nuh link wid di two big gangsta dem dawg nyam yu suppa … poor alkaline tek up badness and it too heavy fi him ……him is high and mighty and di man nuh dead one month good and him stage name and legal name lef Somadi mouth …alkaline career jus done… it all look like all a di lawyer dem a Jamaica train fi tell ppl se dem client innocent and the police have no right to hold dem …. so how di hell him inna di lock up?? And him suppose to have the two million measly dollar fi get himself a exit ticket ?? Peter pop can stop play wid Jamaican

1. U right his street cres will go up while he’s may be locked up for 15 years that’s what’s important ..,. I know you are a fan … the paper one

4. I’m more inclined it is the “taxation” weh dem run up eena drag some of dem inna di weh dem can’t manage. Poor likkle Alkaline weh can’t mash ants a try get street cred fi move up him career

1. Certain so ….mi nuh know why him go call Bernie man big pussy Bernie man … don’t he see what happens to other ppl? One rat bite dung inna di cell and him gone

5. ppl him couldn’t put himself together just for appearance sake, him dead stamp of a jankro standing up don’t even look like him anyam food wuss when him tun sideways like thins biscuit, can hide behind a broomstick, some murdera a Toronto yes Jamaicans or descendant the police tell me when dem dress u cant know them different from the police well groomed at the same time dem mumma have police name eena cucumber eena fridge, they went to prison, MET WHAPEN, MAS CAMP SELL OFF LAS WK FOOTLOOSE KALONJI DONE DI PLACE, NO P,HOLE MAW STOP ME FROM GO OUT, WE FI LOCK UP EENA WINTER AND GO HOME GO LOCK UP AGAIN?? NAT A RASS

6. Alkaline or Alkaline not, I felt that he should have been released and asked to return the following day, until I did my homework:

Maximum detention times without laying a charge:
    Canada: 24 hours
    UK: 24 to 96 hours
    the USA: up to 72 hours
    Jamaica: howeva long dem feel like 😀 and even longer than that if yuh nuh have money or lawyer like Alkaline. Truth is everyone is speculating. He maybe a cooperating witness, a suspect, maybe even in protective custody.

7. Too bad him nuh live inna di uk Canada or the us … and me know man get hold. Canada fi two weeks so I can’t say otherwise

8. CANADIAN MARIE WA GWAN TINITE A SHINES DANCE JUS RUN OUTA KGN A WAAN BAWL U KNOW HOW MUCH PEOPLE SAY DEM NAW GO DUNG DEH WID DEN GAL PICKNEY MY FAMILY A TOP RANGE A ONE A DEM SPORTS DAY APRIL, IF PPL U CANT FORCE DEM, ALL THE PICS ON THE PHONE MI JUS COME UP AND MI FEEL FI RETURN FOR MI RASS MADDD, A 12AM MI AN A NX FEMALE TEP OUT A MOUNTAIN VIEW AND STOP A CAB, AN CHARTER IT STR888 TO ALIBI A DRUMBLAIR BIG PPL TINGS,CHELSEA JERK CTR, WEEKENDZ, UP TOWN MONDAYS, TUESDAY THE DECK, WEDNESDAY 38 TRAFALGAR THE DECENT DANCE DEDEH SENOR DALEY BIRTHDAY, LORD HELP THE TAXIMEN A BEG FI CUSTEE AN A SO THE BWOY DEM JUST WALK UP AND ROB THE STUDENTS OF THEIR PHONES,A XLCR, BECAUSE DEM A WAIT PON THE BIG BUS,