PORRIDGE TO HAR NEIGHBOR BODY FI BADDA HAR

hot_water

A woman who was taken into custody for sentencing last Monday told the court that she threw hot porridge on her neighbour because he shoved her son to the ground and gave her “feisty chat”.

“We talk and talk and him come out an’ a give mi feisty chat and mi throw it pon him,” Daheima Porter told the magistrate in court on Friday with attitude.

RM Judith Pusey asked the complainant where he received the burns and he showed her the injury, which covered most of his right arm.

The magistrate then asked Porter: “How long you plan to stay in prison for this?”

“No time,” she answered quickly.

The woman, who appeared very defiant and unremorseful, told the magistrate that the complainant had been making her life miserable.

“Him always a trouble mi; mi cyaan go round a de back of the house, mi cyaan use the toilet and nobody cyaan go inna de mango tree,” she said.

“Me tiad a him, him tek a set pon mi,” Porter added.

But the magistrate told her: “That’s no justification to burn him up with porridge.”

“Look at the man’s arm, you can’t do that and expect to walk away,” RM Pusey told Porter before she was remanded in custody for sentencing on a charge of assault occasioning grievous bodily harm.

ADVERTISEMEN