PREGNANT WOMAN CAUGHT STEALING SHEET

PREGNANCY
KINGSTON, Jamaica — A heavily pregnant young woman was fined $10,000 in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate’s Court Thursday after she admitted to stealing a sheet set from Bashco.

If the fine is not paid, 20-year-old Kelly-Ann Jervis, who is nine months pregnant, will serve six months in prison.

Jervis was recently arrested and charged with simple larceny when she was caught at the downtown Kingston store with the sheet set valued at $1,200.

After pleading guilty Jervis told the court that it was the first time that she was getting in trouble with the law.

However, she was warned by Senior Magistrate Judith Pusey who told her, “Don’t try it again because them have facilities for child bearing and rearing over Fort Augusta.”

“I don’t have a problem sending you over there, because unlike everybody else, I don’t think pregnancy is an illness, and I don’t have to feel sorry for you.”

0 thoughts on “PREGNANT WOMAN CAUGHT STEALING SHEET

1. Oh my, maybe she wanted it to put on her bed when the baby is born. I hope her baby’s father will help her out to pay the fine. That judge was harsh.

2. If she had an active baby father in her life do you think she would be stealing? This was a desperate attempt and we may never know the true reason why she did what she did, however that damn judge mek mi cringe and she is suppose to be a woman.

3. Bravo! Fi de Judge. Pregnancy isn’t an illness…it a gwan fi centuries. A thieg is only a thief when caught. While we at it…period isn’t a disese eida!

4. di poor girl probably a tief di sheet fi carry go hospital cause you know a Jamaica yuh haffi carry everything fi yuhself smh. A she alone probably a go struggle fi mind di baby yah now

5. if u cant afford a sheet set breeding should be the last thing on u agenda…she a 20 she have nuff time fi breed. dem too f**king cayliss