RESIDENTS OF BATH LAMENT ON THE JAILING OF WOMAN WHO BEAT HER CHILD

Residents of Bath St. Thomas who were interviewed by TVJ and CVM news say that the mother beating her daughter with a machete in the video that went viral is a good mother to her children. Many residents who were interviewed said that the child in question was difficult and ”Da”, the mother must have snapped on that day. The mother is said to be the sole parent of all the children she has but provides for them and other residents when she cooks, the chief consensus was that she cared for her children well and rarely beat them.

https://www.facebook.com/PinkwallOfficial/videos/398627170555514/

40 thoughts on “RESIDENTS OF BATH LAMENT ON THE JAILING OF WOMAN WHO BEAT HER CHILD

1. “Da” is clearly a woman who is loved and respected in her community. Hearing some of these testimonies brought tears to my eyes.

I hope she is freed, I am sure she has learned a valuable lesson. Being mother and father to your children without resources must be especially hard

2. This sad mi nah lie, make tears come to my eye.sometime these kids drive you to make some mistakes. I think the mother should be given another chance everyone say it the little girl is alot of trouble and the person that video and post the incident this is a example that not everything is for the internet.ppl so quick to video these days

3. Damnn..I can’t be the only one who bawled like wow while watching this!Notwithstanding she did a criminal act but we hope she’s not punished to the FULL extent of the law,taking everything into consideration.

On another note that last lady who stupidly incriminate herself for child abuse, should probably trade places with Ms.Da in jail!At the end of the day I appreciate the outpouring of love for Ms.Da and it shows that we should be careful how we rush to judgment and put ppl inna box based on a single act.I still believe though that no amount of snapping must make you use a dangerous weapon such as a cutlass to beat your loved one. :nohope :nohope

4. How she going to go to counseling with no money to get there. This is a on going system of poverty. The system putting her in jail is a crime within its self

5. So she is a good mother because she cook and provide food for them, even a snake provides a place to sleep and food for their own offspring as well. At the end of the day beating your child with a machete can never be acceptable. Yes, it stressful to raise children on your own, that’s why it is best to get married first so that all the financial and physical burden is not just on you. Anyhow, if she can beat her child with the machete the next time she snapped she would probably chop her up, so good ting she in jail a cool off.

1. A child who is taught this level of violence how do you think he/she is going to handle disagreements in society?

1. Sometimes unu fi keep unu opinions to unu self, your comment is based on what socio economic survey that was done by you, everything unu jump fi talk if woman did married, shut your kaka, what bout the married woman whey haffi a provide fi husband and ten pickney, if you don’t understand our Jamaican culture shut up about it, a nuff a them lick dey my brother them did he and a it keep them alive and mi mumma did happily married…,,,,

1. So this performance a Jamaican culture? Is this what Jamaican culture is ooman a walk round naked a beat her child with machete. Some a unno uphold foolishness till unno confused.

I stand by my original comment you could huff and puff and blow like wild hog a bush. My comment far from judgemental. Too many women put themselves willingly to be single mothers then act out like this when pressure teck dem. Expecting sympathy because the first thing drop out dem out is “”the Father not around a me one a grow dem”. I know this shyt, I know exactly how it goes. Fact is nuff a dem cannot manage it, and nuff a dem low grade mental from all the stress dem a deal wid daily, worse if dem birth a child with physical challenges. So when mi seh look a husband before you go down certain road is not fi she a fi who younger and a come up cause they could end up just like her walking around naked draping a young child and beating wid machete. Teck up stress weh dem caan manage. Yes, mi know husband can dead and divorce happen, mi live in dsd world weh nutten nuh guaranteed, but the mental state different when you a widow, and if is a divorce the children can guh chill a dem faada place pon weekends and holidays fi give you the mother a break.

Nuff a unno jump seh mi get all this beating and turn out right, but unno never asked how unno would turn out if unno never get di beatings and were corrected and raised differently. How you know the impact on your self-esteem, self-worth, and all that. Everybody who grow up under these levels of abuse is defective in some way. On the surface they may have jobs, homes, children and all may seem normal, but dig a little deeper and you will see the scars manifest in various forms, ruthlessness’, lack of loving care, selfishness, promiscuity, pathological liars, stealers of joy, traders of pain. Your brothers may very well be physically alive, but internally they may be as dead a 1000 yr old corpse.

6. Touching; frustration and poverty can result in people feeling overwhelmed and just plain loosing themselves at times. I agree with the community, release the lady and provide counseling for her and the children. People look at what’s going on in the world today all the violence and destruction and they decide to put this woman in bondage for scolding her child. Met if you can get her information I would like to contribute something towards her legal defense.
    Thanks

1. That was not a scolding. That was child abuse. If a stranger, cousin or friend did the exact same thing to this child would you sum it up as a scolding? You would scream justice. So why downplay it because its mother. I cant move past the machete and the miracle that she Neva cut couple veins or worse.

7. Leave the lady alone she was stress out, God forgive us all. Uno go lock up gun men n government that is destroying the country . She wrong and need a chance to care for her other kids that is at home

8. Sad, from what I read before the child was having sex with a grown man and performing oral sex, I UNDERSTAND WHY THE MOTHER REACTED THE WAY SHE DID. The beating was out of anger, I’m sure she learned her lesson. Some of these children give nothing but problems more time u don’t know what else to do, especially because that’s the only form of punishment we know coming from that type of home ourselves. RELEASE THE MOTHER ASAP, THEY SHOULD CONSIDER WHY SHE BEAT HER DAUGHTER

9. All of us perfect people should listen to the persons who live in the community with her. Yes she was wrong using the machete, but the answer cannot be to criminalise the Mother and the daughter who recorded it and leave the other “abused” daughter/siblings without a parent. Not every wrong needs to be criminalised.

1. But you missing the most glaring issue of all. Nobody is saying the mother should not have scolded her child, or spanked her, not one person has said that. The issue is the use of a weapon in doing so. Last time I checked reform schools still in Jamaica for parents to send their out of control children to go get some structure and discipline. We cannot accept such levels of violence and call it “stress” and “snapped”. We are too accepting of what is wrong. It is a criminal act to beat any person, moreover with a weapon. Sorry, her ass needs to take a little chill in jail to realize the gravity of what she did.

1. You are an obtuse idiot, that is jamaica, if the child is being abused
        Why release her back into the same yard why they didn’t take her? Who feeding them, Who’s sending them to school? A foolishness Jamaican government a gwan with you are of an American mindset and clearly you don’t understand Jamaica you talking out your arse.

1. A lot of this in Jamaica need to change. A lot of children are fed and abused in many ways. Some get beaten in ants nest and thankful for it while others messed up in tge head. Abuse is WRONG. Hope she does the time for her crime. I don’t doubt what her neighbours said of her character but she did wrong and should pay. If her kids don’t have a provider not that is also her fault. Hope she learns something from all this. I hope a lot of people learn. Abuse is never right. People like this woman can learn how to discipline children.

2. No need for the insults in making your statements. Insulting will not make your argument stronger or more persuasive, it actually makes you appear childish.

Why do you keep saying this is Jamaica. In your mind you have equalized violence with being Jamaican. How did you get to a place where violence is synonymous with being Jamaican? I can only assume that there are possibly family members close by who offered to take car eof the children while the mother was taken away.

10. The lady with the shower cap on her head said it best. She said out of this incident parents will now realize what not to do with their children. In life, whether the act be good or bad, there is a lesson to be learned, and she summed it up correctly. All experiences good or bad are lessons. I do realize from hearing all these people speak on behalf of the mother that she perhaps was not abusive to her children but snapped on this particular day, but to snap and beat the child with a machete means she really needs counselling/therapy, or to get away for sometime. Being jailed for a year however is far too long if therapy was not apart of the whole thing,she needs therapy. I was a single mom, no support, financially or others wise from the wicked father, or even from family, I did it all on my own, but not many people are able to manage the harshness of life sometimes, it was tough but I held it together.

All the good name the community gives her, does not fix the problem, she needs help and for all of us collectively to pray for her and her children. Prayer is the key to life, if directed to a particular problem, it sends out positive forces and is more potent when done collectively. We are all our brothers keepers, and we all are or must be in service to each other, one of our many purposes here. So we thank the divine creator that no life was taken, yet we must support their (the family, mother and children) healing the way we can, without even knowing them, and this is through prayer. While physical scars will heal and fade, psychological ones may last forever. We will them well,

1. According to news reports, It’s the other daughter that videoed it. She videoed it with the intention of “showing her how mommy beat her if she misbehaved again”. Apparently, the video was left on a tablet and the other daughter’s FRIEND saw it, sent it to herself and plastered it all over the net.

11. Is not the beating is the tool she use….if we as a society accept her using a machete to punish her child we are just as bad….beat her ass if she not behaving..use the machete to cut a nice piece a stick n deal with her..she could have easily chop off some of her fingers..why she even dress like that if a su she dress n act the child is not gonna act better

12. I’m not gonna pass no judgement this is sad both mother and child are victims. Both of them need help financial and psychological, I hope they get the help they need.

13. You see this internet, is going to be the downfall of this younger generation, too much information is ready available to the children, what business does oral sex have to do with a 12 year old? They are overly exposed to things that will only lead to their own destruction, too much knowledge is never good, I am going to make to reference from the bible, Adam and Eve never know that they were naked until they were exposed to knowledge, thus robbed them of their innocence, next the Tower of Babel, knowledge cause men to almost build a tower reaching into heaven, The Almighty had to confuse them and gave them different languages , so clearly from the beginning too much knowledge cause sin, and this mother don’t do a thing that we are not used to, it’s just the cutlass was a little over the top, but why spare the rod and spoil the child, one year ago, and she never dead, so now it on the internet like wild fire, and the police acting like the USA system, and decided to prosecute the mother, O please!!! Them pickney need more lick, bout them a suck …., left the woman alone, guh find the gunman, and the big ole man them weh a predator pan the young children, both girls and boys.

14. @anonymous 10.31 bitch shut ur f**kin mouth if u don’t have nothing to say the woman is very wrong for beating her child with a cutlass how the f**k married come into it bitch whose married man ur f**kin / suckin u cah bet u bitch like u all a sell f**k all bout are thief / suck pussy move u bloodcloth and Leave di woman half a Jamaican woman wah have kids not married and their kids grow proper….u sound stink bitch

15. Jah know mi nah lie eye Wata drop outta mi eye a work fi dis. No buds a cry. U personally know how iris with these teens I have a fast ass neice who is also 13 and more while she mek mibheart grieve the way how she behave so dem Pickney yah fi get lick under dem skin. No nuh condone the lass but har skin fi feel. Free up the ooman and gi har some help bout unno a lock up..the kikkle girl want counseling

16. Come on now a frustration .. if she did really a beat her hard wid di cutlass she couldn’t sprint weh so fast … mi really understand se a machete is extreme .. but dem a gi man bail weh a kill ppl and dem a do it over and over .. me holness you went to the mother whose daughter got killed by so called dons do something fi did lady to she a try prevent at daughter from tun community flip flop … free di Oman … her other kids need her … mi si ppl Inna Jamaica shoot after dem pickney already a nutten nuh come outta it … surprise me please

17. I’m from this very small community and though my family and I migrated years ago, I fondly remember “DA”, it’s extremly sad to witness the occurrence on the internet but it’s even more heartbreaking watching the public hanging and condemnation of this woman. Her choice of weapon was totally wrong but I know it was never to hurt the child. She’s not a an abuser she often assisted my family with domestic chores to care for her kids. Though the child is not to be blamed everyone in the community can attest to the fact that she is a handful and then some. Let us not be so quick to judge, watching my own aunt in this video beg for her realease brings tears to my eyes. This family needs counseling and resources that cannot be rendered from a jail cell!

18. Mi seh mi nuh waaah look enuh cause mi madness weee chip een….. but mi nuh care…. fight har if yuh have tuh bout yuh out deh naked a beat di gal wid cutlass kmrct…. yuh shudda snap when di f**k wey yuh f**k an bring har come did too nice an neva see dis coming…. everyting happn fi a reason mi learn dat a muss reason why dis occur maybe a fi di betta…. a bet every baddie inna dis learn dem lesson eeh madda, dawta, camera man/ooman and di whole neighborhood… parents affi wise up some a dese kids naaa get nuh betta dem a get worst cause we inna worst times and dem expose to nuff nuff.

Everybaddie wrang bang inna dis a bet seh nuff fally ground get shake up dis might just be a intervention cause everyting ago change.
    mi still ignorant bout my lick dem :rolleyes: all now dem nuh ware off.

19. @ Larry .. sometime u too Raw, the lady could a use belt and lick out child eye right? She use a machete which is very wrong but the child didn’t die or get cut.. jail is not where this lady belong the lady need help clearly she stress and tired of the child a misbehave . Free the lady to come care for her kids n go lock up gunmen

20. Just saw this on the internet. If any lawyer out there can represent her, please do so or if any generous person can help, please do so. Wonder if the rich people like Apple, Robbas and such delight can instead of buying that expensive brand name item can donate to this lady:

http://jaradio.com/machete-wmother-that/