RUSSELL SIMMONS, WHO NEXT?

Russell Simmons has stepped away from his companies following a second allegation of s*xual misconduct, though the Def Jam founder again denied ever being violent.

Screenwriter Jenny Lumet, who co-wrote “The Mummy” in 2017 and “Rachel Getting Married” in 2008, penned an essay published by The Hollywood Reporter on Thursday in which she recalled a night around 1991 when Simmons took her to his New York apartment and had s*x with her, despite her repeated demands that he stop.

“I desperately wanted to keep the situation from escalating. I wanted you to feel that I was not going to be difficult. I wanted to stay as contained as I could,” wrote Lumet, the daughter of filmmaker Sidney Lumet.

Simmons said in a statement released after the essay’s publication that Lumet’s memory of the night is “very different” from his, but it’s clear to him “that her feelings of fear and intimidation are real.” He apologised for being “thoughtless and insensitive” in some of his relationships. He said he would resign from his businesses because, “I don’t want to be a distraction.”

Lumet wrote that she never told anyone about that night until last month after allegations lodged against movie mogul Harvey Weinstein unleashed a torrent of stories about s*xual misbehavior in multiple fields.

Lumet said she went public after model Keri Claussen Khalighi said Simmons coerced her to perform a s*x act and later penetrated her without her consent in his New York apartment in 1991.

Simmons, 60, denied those allegations, saying everything that occurred between himself and Khalighi was completely consensual and with her “full participation.” He suggested that Khalighi’s accusation came from feeling shame.

“I’m deeply saddened and truly shocked to learn of Keri’s assertions as to what happened over the course of that weekend,” Simmons said in the statement. He later wrote that he “never committed any acts of aggression or violence in my life” or would “never knowingly cause fear or harm to anyone.”

Hollywood figures including Debra Messing and Ron Perlman praised Lumet for coming forward. Messing on Twitter thanks Lumet for “bravely sharing your harrowing experience” and Perlman said: “Every man or woman having trouble understanding the ripples of this abhorrent behavior should read Ms Lumet’s words.”

Def Jam Recordings was founded in 1984 by Simmons and Rick Rubin, making stars of such hip-hop artists as LL Cool J, Slick Rick, The Beastie Boys and Public Enemy. Its roster currently includes Kanye West, Justin Bieber, Frank Ocean, Alessia Cara, Jeremih, Jeezy, Iggy Azalea, Big Sean, Nas and 2 Chainz.

Simmons’ empire includes the Argyleculture clothing line, Rush Communications, yoga studio Tantris, the energy drink Celsius and the film and television production company Def Pictures, along with several other philanthropic efforts like the Rush Philanthropic Arts Foundation and the Diamond Empowerment Fund.

He was married to TV personality and designer Kimora Lee Simmons from 1998-2009 and they had two daughters. She did not immediately respond to a request for comment from The Associated Press.

Simmons is the latest figure in the entertainment world to have his career derailed by accusations of misconduct. The accused include comedian Louis CK, Pixar and Disney Animation chief John Lasseter, actors Kevin Spacey and Jeffrey Tambor, writer-director James Toback and TV anchors Matt Lauer and Charlie Rose.

15 thoughts on “RUSSELL SIMMONS, WHO NEXT?

1. Im noticing a similarity that most of the accused share…their wives/ex wives were in their late teens or early 20s when they hooked up. This says a lot about these men. Hollywood tun right over.

2. 26 years later, the rape allegations. I guess everyone is looking for million dollar payout, even after 26 years. Why not report the rape back then? Why go to a man appartment? Why not a restaurant?

1. Him and she did involved and she claim dat one time she tell him no and him still sex har. Russel penis is very small I heard

2. I went to police 10+ years later. Time means nothing. Do u know how much therapy costs. Payouts are a must. She went to his home and what??? The women in Matt’s cause was RAPED AT WORK IN HIS OFFICE…DAMN HOW DARE THEY GO TO WORK.

1. So you went 10+ years later expecting a payout, NOT justice? You fit the profile to a T. You don’t want justice, you want money. If the man was poor, would you report the crime 10+ years later…let me guess…HELL NO!

1. Kiss my ass! ur a fuqqen idiot who don’t know the meaning of words…mi Neva know say a dat me write…..FOH and nuh try sum up what u don’t understand. Yuh sound like one a dem who like to victimize the victims….yuh mind dark…..

3. Mi believe!! Sometimes a just fraid ooman fraid fi talk das why……. some a dem duh some crazy tings fi reach wey dem want like wey him deh…. a hope di ress come fawud… why dem muss defile ppl…why dem muss corrupt ppl fi gain…. finish him!!!

4. Marie… yuh connect it!

Remember Kimora was living with him from about 14/15.

At the beginning of her modeling career. Then AFTER she turned 18 all of a sudden… dem DEH….wtf???

Let’s fast forward to their divorce… he got with another Asian woman who was Kimora’s junior.

NASTY set a f*ka dem

5. ten tory eena one why dem tek the fu….k an reach wey dem want, its the caasting couch, use up the money they got… an tun roun bawl out so many years later..be wary of some of these reports, not ALL we hear go so, things happen all Russell an fi him cock size how far een did it go, a years now, never expect it to grow and look how him rich

6. mi grind an get wuk eena govt, some get house, car jamaica u want hear bout harassment, some get harassed grine an get nutten, u think mi woulda call up the man name , good almighty see conyers gone a hospital,, well mankind deh pon its own, really man cant call to woman again, not even tell her her eyes her are beautiful,

7. I love sex, but bitches don’t go a man yard and then scandal the man, come into my parlour said the spider to the fly, weh di rass fly expect, drinks movie,, WE are given drinks for a reason, you put urself in that position, no mek man tell u f**kery to get u there, kmt

8. I believe her. There are many women out there of different class, color usually black girls that can share a story of that kind. Many girls/women can say they had sex and did not really want to. Many believe cause they were not hit so it not rape. And because after saying no and he enter her so her body respond that mean its ok what he did

9. Based on Awnonymous’ response a husband cannot rape his wife. Let the focus be on men who have no self control not on their victims. There were rumours for years about Russell, LA Reid and Diddy.