SEAN PAUL CLAIMS HIM DEFENDING DANCEHALL

Sean Paul has come out swinging against pop stars Justin Bieber and Drake, chastising them for using Jamaican music without giving credit.

“It is a sore point when people like Drake or Bieber or other artistes come and do dancehall-orientated music, but don’t credit where dancehall came from and they don’t necessarily understand it. A lot of people get upset, they get sour. And I know artistes back in Jamaica that don’t like Major Lazer because they think they do the same thing that Drake and Kanye did — they take and take and don’t credit,” he is quoted as saying in Britain’s The Guardian newspaper.

He described as “exploitation” the practice by pop artistes who use Jamaican phrases and not pay homage to their place of origin.

Sean Paul’s comments are similar to those of Mr Vegas, who in May took Drake to task for not crediting deejay Popcaan on the hit song

Sean-Paul-1-Optimized

Too Good, on which they collaborated for his million-selling album Views.

Sean Paul is equally dismissive of the term ‘Tropical House’ being ascribed to a genre which draws from dancehall. Tracks such as Rihanna’s Work and Bieber’s What Do You Mean? have been categorised as such.

“Dancehall is back, but this time it’s also infused with Afrobeat, with hip hop, with trap, and that’s fine with me,” he told The Guardian. “Sure, I would like what we do in Jamaica, that authentic dancehall, to be on top, but it simply isn’t.”

— Richard Johnson

6 thoughts on “SEAN PAUL CLAIMS HIM DEFENDING DANCEHALL

1. Good Morning Met,Metters,peepers nd Others….

I wonder if a true fifth Harmony smaple him just gimmie de light mek him now see weh Vegas been a seh and waan call them out on it

1. Nothing but the truth and the whole truth Simpli!! Suh wait whenever time they do a sample they must pay homage to the artist in the middle of their songs? Or dem a look royalty ( money ) cuz mi wuda sidung humble and honored smh everything dem vocal kmt.

2. If this was coming from any other jamaican artist I wouldnt feel a wa, but coming from Sean Paul he sounds like a hypocrite!!! He should have never mentioned major lazer period (even if he was talking about how other artists dont like major lazer) why? because he LOVES major lazer. Him, his wife, and their friends love major lazer events in jamaica and other music events that water down jamaican music/dancehall. He has been doiing so much “pop” music in the last coupld of years that he has no right to talk. If he’s making money then he doesnt care about ‘watering down’ the music. At the end of the day these artists dont need to give credit as long as they pay you for what they sample..if they have a dancehall vibe then thats up to them. If he has issue with dancehall being exploited or disrespected then he needs to first address his wife and her sister (among many) because they love to make fun of dancehall and its people (even though thats how his wife eats)

3. How do we know that the people who is using dancehall music to make a killing on their records is even paying the Jamaican artists for using their stuff… All I say pay dem at least if you don’t want to acknowledge were you getting it from.

Leave a Reply to simplicity Cancel reply