SHARON MARLEY PRENDERGAST MARRIES GHANIAN PARTNER

Sharon-Marley

Sharon-Marley2

SHARON Marley Prendergast, former Melody Maker, tied the knot with Ekow Alabi Savage at private ceremony in Ghana on Tuesday.

Marley Prendergast, who had met her husband 23 year prior, is the biological daughter of Rita Marley and was adopted by reggae legend Bob Marley when the two married in 1966.

According to ghanaweb.com, Marley Prendergast’s mom — Rita Marley — was unable to attend the wedding as she had travelled to the United States. She was, however, represented by Dr Erica Bennett, Ambassador for the Diasporan African Forum (DAF).

“The Marley family is an iconic family, and they welcome you into their family. And they have allowed you to be part of their (Marley) family. They asked me to give you a message — No Woman, No Cry. They don’t want to see any tears in her eyes.

“The tears she’s shedding today are tears of joy, but there should never, never, ever, be any tears of sorrow. I will like to raise this glass and make a toast for Mr and Mrs Savage. May you have health, happiness and wealth,” Dr Bennett said in her toast.

Daddy Bosco (Ahuma Ocansey), Administrator of Musicians Union of Ghana (MUSIGA), who was the MC for the wedding, said the union was another extension of the Marley legacy.

“Sharon’s mother, Rita Marley, we all know moved to settle here with us in Ghana way back in 1990s and for her to give her daughter’s hand in marriage to one of Ghana’s disciplined sons is indeed plausible. For the wind of love to circulate around these two people for 23 years is no joke at all.

“It’s even going to be denser than it was in the past years and it is our hope and prayer that this lasts forever, like the Marley legacy. A huge history has been made in Ghana with this marriage because it stands as the first and direct African marriage bonded to the Marley family. It will go a long way to solidify the connection of Ghana and Jamaica. Bob Marley himself in songs have always wanted to be back to the motherland, we have his wife Nana Rita with us and now Sharon too has followed the trend. In other words, it will also go a long way to give the Ghana Reggae industry and the entire music and cultural sector a lot of good,” said Daddy Bosco.

As part of the reggae group Melody Makers, Marley Prendergast, enjoyed huge commercial success with her sibblings — Ziggy, Stephen and Cedella. The group won three Grammy Awards.

Marley Prendergast, was at one point, married to Jamaica football official Peter Prendergast.

0 thoughts on “SHARON MARLEY PRENDERGAST MARRIES GHANIAN PARTNER

1. Wat kind of mother misses her daughter’s wedding hmm hmm this don’t sit right with me Rita u not REAL something tells me U R NOT REAL RITA
    Metsy morning hon :peluk morning metters

1. Are U sure she was officially or otherwise invited? What do U know about the relationship between mother and daughter? Do you know if she approves of the marriage and/or spouse?? Come out of the people’s personal life and go and manage your own affairs.

Do you know where your kids are and what they ate doing at this minute? How are they doing in school? Stop trying to put down other people who doesn’t even know or care that U exist!

1. phuck rita is more in order…go tell har dat.

She busy a hol up plague card fi other people daughters, but have stand in a fi har daughter affair. You seem to a drop hint bout mother daughter relationship and then complain bout people inna people business…lol again, phuck rita.

1. See ya now unnu luv come comment when me gone a mi good good bed but wicked Rita whey rob up all a Bob money Rita whey know say she n Bob was in no marital situation fi yearsssssssss before him ded n busy a collect di money n a use it fi spite di other woman dem whey breed fi di man is too rawseeeeee wicked n two face, she a preach love n unity from JA all the way to Africa till she ketch a di USA is a wicked woman I don’t give two rats ass if dem on good terms r not, if a di one a di jacket whey she cut n stitch give Bob a married she would have been there.
          Look here unknown element mi no have no kids yet so my time n energy will be spent on watching Rita live har lie dem u hear so u n har betta get use to to that rawseeeeee. OLE PIRATE YES THEY ROB I AND TOOK ALL A DI RASTA MAN MONEY MANY MANY MOONS AFTER DEM KNOW SAY DI RASTA NEVA DID A EVEN LOOK PON DEM :kr :kr

2. She look really nice in her wedding attire …Morning miss chuetty Please Rita outta of this,,,,,,,,SHE went to the US to BRING BACK OUR GIRLS ……………………….. :alay :alay

1. yep….u leave Africa where the girls were allegedly kidnapped and went to the US to bring them back ……………..Big up Rita Marley straight is a oman weh mi rate …………… :thumbup

3. Shame on Rita there is no other engagement better than your daughter wedding unless it life n death!!! Did you bring back our girls? smh

4. Yeah seriously, did Rita not know that her daughter was going to get married? Maybe she is tired of the many names that her daughter has taken on: Marley, Prendergast and now possible [Savage].

If it were up to Sharon, at the time that she was adopted by Bob, she probably would have kept her original last name and hyphenated it with Marley 🙂

5. I wonder if we could get the full hundred pon Rita one of these days cause bwoy mi hear so much mix up bout she dat mi jus nuh know.

Leave a Reply to Lalibela A Nile Cancel reply