SIMONE CAMPBELL LIFELINE?

Dear Met,

I want to start a non profit called The Simone Campbell Lifeline. I initially want to start as an onling organization who programs goal is to reach out to Jamaican Unisex Domestic Violence survivors as well as Jamaicans in general. From time to time as apart of the program I want to give out safety packages which will have things life safe telephone numbers, pepper spray, condoms with teeth, contact info for the programs chatroom ,etc. I also want to take time to speak with and give advice and group counseling sessions on person and in the programs chatroom as well there in Jamaica and when I am away. Simone Campbell’s story is the inspiration behind this non profit I would like to start and she is also the inspiration for my wanting to be an entrepeneur. And as the years go along eventually I will get a physical location in more than one place including Jamaica and there will be fundraiser galas in Simone’s honor and the non profit as mentioned before with be dedicated to her life/her. Do you think this is a good idea? Do you think it should be called The Simone Campbell Lifeline? Do you think that this should be the logo?

49 thoughts on “SIMONE CAMPBELL LIFELINE?

1. Are you a family member? You have good intentions but you cannot use the woman’s name just like that. Who knows maybe her family will not like it either, as we have seen from their reaction to her death, they seem to want the whole thing to just go away.

1. look im not an outsider. this isnt random. that i understand but honestly i gave up on contacting as i mentioned to the commenter below an i honestly wanted to do something genuine. there are many people with the same name who have probably been through the same thing but the point is it was something genuine i was considering doing. thats all. I was not trying to and will never exploit the woman or her name . i am not a malicious or money hungry person or an evil person. i have nothing but love, empathy , understanding , reassurance, acceptance, and so much more to give to others.

2. Sender, did you speak to the family of Simone Campbell and ask them their opinion on your “non-profit” venture? Another thing to note, there has been several instances and cases similar to Simone”s that we have seen especially in recent times, so why use her as the “face” of the campaign? Are you a relative, or was it the media coverage that this story generated gave you some $$ ideas. What about the pregnant lady Weh di man chop up along with the two kids just the other day (after Simone’s murder), didn’t that story “inspire” you..
    Morning and manazzz Met and Metters, Met I’m waiting for the sender to respond so I can give you a likkle more a dis cerasee tea cause scamming come in a many forms.

1. No the media coverage didn’t give me any money ideas. that venture is something i genuinely want to do. she inspired my work ethic. i wanted to dedicate the non profit to her because i thought it would be a great way to keep her memory alive. also i would have the faces and stories of other victims/survivors either on plaques on the wall when i eventually decide to do a physical building or i will have a special mural designed and have the pictures of other victims/survivors within the mural. I don’t want to make any money off of her i want to show my gratefulness to her being my inspiration. No i haven’t spoken to the family. iv sent out condolences and no one has ever responded to me so I gave up on communicating with them.

2. no I haven’t.I gave up on trying to speak to them because no one is answering messages and no one seems to care about the messages. i do understand that however i want to keep her memory alive . as mentioned in the previous response to you i will have a special mural on the wall dedicated to other victims/survivors of domestic violence including myself. yes I am a survivor myself. i do not want to make any money off of Simone or her name. i am not money hungry or looking for a quick come up. I genuinely want to help others and decrease the rate of domestic violence ad sexual violence/abuse in Jamaica.

3. I think it’s noble of you to want to help victims/survivors of domestic violence but why use simone’s name? For all she was and did, why should she be remembered solely because she was one one millions of victims of domestic violence?, nuh body Inna yuh family neva beat yuh yet? Or get beat up by another family member? That’s domestic violence too..mi nuh really get the non-profit bit, because mi nuh even see how profit come Inna something like this? You will certainly need funding and you will never have enough for all the victims that are out there. Can you kindly explain how condoms with teeth can protect against domestic violence/rape? I hope your entrepreneurial skills extend beyond setting up a non-profit business…

1. condoms with teeth can help protect against rape . how it works is that a woman puts the condom on with the smooth side facing her vaginal wall and the part with the sharp teeth would be inside of the condom itself so when a man forcefully puts himself inside of that woman the teeth from the condom latch onto him and if he tries to pull out it takes off his skin and cause him a lot of damage. its also good for containing evidence so the perpetrator can get caught immediately.

1. Phucking mockery you a mek of rape! Womem must walk wid this in dem pussc incase dem get rape ?!

Simone collymore campbell was no damn domestic violence victim nor is she worthy of a campaign.

She was the girlfriend to a scammer and killer. She was with the man during the time frame of a woman losing her life. She went on to become wife, mother and financial success (in the same profession as the dead woman- Angella Aguair);never once showed signs or reported domestic violence….your point is?!

1. First of all I am not making a mockery of rape. Why don’t you Google condom with teeth. It’s a product that has already been created and it’s been given out to women in Africa. WHat is your probl em? I asked for advice and answers to my questions and opinions not for anyone to judge me for wanting to do something nice.By the way what you said at the end of your comment that is one of the biggest signs of domestic violence. Domestic violence is not only physical, it is verbal, emotional, and mental. Phantom Pheonix I would advise that you do your research before commenting because you sound stupid.what she did , said , didn’t say or was involved in doesn’t put a hold on the fact that she is a victim of domestic violence.

2. corpse’.

In an interview with CNN, Ehlers told how the woman said: ‘If only I had teeth down down there’ said Ehlers. ‘I promised her I’d do something to help people like her one day.’

True to her word, Rape-Axe has jagged teeth-like hooks that latch onto a man’s penis during penetration.

Once its in place, it can only be removed by a doctor – a procedure Ehlers hopes will be done with authorities on standby to make an arrest.

‘It hurts, he cannot pee and walk when it’s on,” she said. ‘If he tries to remove it, it will clasp even tighter… however, it doesn’t break the skin, and there’s no danger of fluid exposure.’

30,000 of the female condoms are being distributed around the various South African citites where the World Cup football matches are taking place.

Ehlers said that she had taken the proper research and development steps before launching the product.

‘I consulted engineers, gynecologists and psychologists to help in the design and make sure it was safe,’ she said.

Once the trial period is over, they’ll be available for about £1.50 each.South African Dr Sonnet Ehlers: ‘This will make some men rethink before they assault a woman’

“The ideal situation would be for a woman to wear this when she’s going out on some kind of blind date … or to an area she’s not comfortable with,” Ehlers added.

2. You can google it if you want it’s a product that was already created. They give them out to the women in Africa. and yes my entrepreneurial skills extends beyond setting up a non profit.I do have other business ventures outside of having a non profit in mind but I want to set a foundation to build the non profit on such as name , mission vision, logic model etc. Anyway my intentions are genuine and out of love for others.I have no intentions of exploiting Simone or her Name.

3. why would you ask those kinds of questions? are you looking for me to get beat up? you are supposed to be giving advice or your opinion on my message not judging me. how about helping to life me up instead of putting me down. who says i was trying to help all the victims out there? i have to be realistic as i plan this business and a goal of helping all is not realistic listen to your self hun. just so you know I am not an outsider to Simone and the Campbells.

4. i am not say she should be remembered soley because she was a victim of domestic violence. i just wanted to keep her memory alive period. what kind of question is that? you need to re read my message to MET before you comment again so you can get an understanding of what i am asking and saying.

4. :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak If i laugh in heree today yah essi :ngakak :ngakak Mi like yuh ambitious thinking doe.. look here mi nuh see why yuh hudda want to start off with her but today nuh negative suh mi naaa seed out nuh negs energy yeah.

1. thank you so much Official Latty. why do you say you dont see why i would want to start off with her? im not looking to make any money off of her im looking to keep her memory alive.

5. You can start your own foundation/non profit without using Simone’s name. Your intentions may be good and she may have inspired you in some way or another but, use another name and logo. Don’t try riding off the girl name. #myopinion

1. i dont want to ride off of her name i dont want to make any money off of her name i want to keep her memory alive.

1. Why Simone though? So many women have been victims and survivors. If you’re not a family member I don’t think it’s appropriate.

1. Who said I am not a family member? I never said I wasnt. I chose her name because I wanted to keep her memory alive. In previous comments I mentioned a mural.

6. Sender start your foundation but leave Simone’s name out of it. That would be for a member of her family to do something in her name. Not sure what the profolactiics have to do with it as she was a victim of domestic abuse and suffered from low self esteem. Can you help to explain further your qualifications for helping victims? Please volunteer with a reputable non profit to gain experience if you haven’t done so yet.

1. i didnt want my message to be too ling to read thats why i didnt include everything i want to do with the non profit but self esteem boosting workshps excercises, and group and individual therapy will be done in order to help with low self esteem problems. my qualifications are a Bachelors of Science in Social work, Master’s of Science in Non profit leader ship and past internships. yes that describes her as does many. i am a survivor myself. so i know what i am doing and no worries i will be looking into work with survivors/victims of domestic violence before i fully get my organization up and started. i dont not and i repeat for you and the other commenters who mentiend me riding off her name or making money off her name I DO NOT WANT TO MAKE ANY MONEY OFF OF SIMONE”S NAME!!!! I WNT TO KEEP HER MEMORY ALIVE. NONPROFIT MEANS NO PROFIT!!!!!

2. Pardon any spelling and grammatical errors above. Message got sent before I was totally complete and I didn’t have a chance to review it.

7. I commend you and won’t discourage you, but it’s super important to get mom’s permission on this. She is still grieving, so she may decline.

1. idk who that is but that person did not send that message. i am the sender. if you look you will me replying to everyone.

8. non- profit means not for profit . its not a store. it is an organization that is dedicated to helping others for a special cause whether its domestic violence, child abuse, sexual abuse, mental health, physical health, etc. Hospitals are considered non profits. thank you for the compliment i appreciate it. i wanted to you use her name to keep her memory alive not to put her at the top of the list of victims or make money off of her i do not want to make money off of her. i wanted to do something special to keep her memory alive.

9. Starting a foundation of this nature is great.

There are alot of women that would benefit from this new venture but…… if you are NOT a family member please please proceed with your foundation and leave Simone’s name off. She is sadly one of the million victims of domestic violence. I am almost sure her family would not be ok with you creating a foundation in Simone’s name.
    Please sender leave this option for the family members. Her kids might want to revisit your idea in years to come.

I for one would not want my daughters name used by an outsider. Whether or not your intentions are good, this is still a sensitive topic… Lets just lay low until that dead beat man get sentenced..

1. Kim I am not an outside but i wont say who i am because I don’t think thats important right now. but i will say this i wouldn’t want to do this non profit not foundation if I was an outsider. thank you so much Kim i appreciate your compliment and advice.

2. it will always be a sensitive topic for years to come but all I wanted to do was something genuine to help others.

3. not to be cold but my idea is my idea other people can come up with their own . I can make changes to my idea but it will always be my idea.

10. I concur with everything everyone has said. I totally agree with the person asked if the pregnant woman wasnt more of an inspiration. I am not here to judge how or why the inspiration. Please use this as a brainstorming exercise. The consensus is not to use Simone’s name or likeness. If you are short of inspiration, link Met and I can supply you with names.

1. You agree with a comment that was a judgement made. I repeated over and over why i wanted to use her name. Thats exactly what I am doing thats why i asked for opinions and answers not judgements because im brainstorming. Tell me this do you really agree that I am trying to make money from her or her name? Yall keep saying if i am not family dont use the name but you would encourage me to use the name of someone else i dont know and have no relation to?? Im confused.

1. 1 I am not trolling. 2 I am not married I am happily single thank you very much. I want to start a bit venture and I asked for answers to my questions and advice what is wrong with you? Food you have a bad morning? Or a rough night? DoEs you wake up on the wrong side of the bed or are you just naturally full of hatred.

1. You absolutely right Met but tjat individual pissed me off so i felt like i needed to put her or him in their place.

2. I was saying that a lot of the comments really upset me so I felt like I had no choice but to respond but MET you are absolutely right.

1. Again I never said I wasn’t a family member so stop jumping to conclusions. Have a great day. You are very rude.

11. I read all the comments so far. Anonymous while your endeavor is a great one? You yourself stated that you tried to reach out to the immediate family and your messages are being ignored. That alone should tell you that the usage of her name is not supported. It’s too soon for some. You do have a noble idea. Not one person on here disagreed with this venture. Everyone is encouraging you to go ahead. It’s not if you have ulterior motives, it’s just not appropriate to use someone’s names without authorization from the immediate family even if you are a part of the extended family, friends or community.
    The suggestion and common consensus is to move forward with your nonprofit but dedicate it to all victims. You can possibly highlight the victims who you chose, but even then so make sure you get the permission of these families. You don’t want to be sued when you are trying to do what’s right and helpful. I wish you well. The Island can really benefit from several of these kinds of outreach.

1. Thank you so much I appreciate you advice. Reread some of this comments because two asked me about making money off her and her name and phantom Phoenix just curses at me and told me I’m making a mockery of rape and people keep assuming I am not a family member, and one person ca lied me a for who isn’t gething enough attention from her spouse and another assumed I’m some other commenter. I asked for answers and advice not to be judged or cursed at. I get the feeling some of these commenters have no idea what I am talking about and just feel the need to run their mouths.

12. You know unu fi gwan Better met your so right she need to stop respond ! You have a good intention regardless of who or what you choose to use do it ! Pray and trust god and do it for the right reason , there are many organizations who don’t know a specific victim and has helped . My daughter raised $55k and donated it all to her school to help homeless kids because she found out a girl in her school did not have school shoes and was living in a shelter . Yes there is so many scams out there but to judge this women and cuss and condemn her is just wrong ! Women help in whatever way you see for them well lucky . My daughter gave every dime of it and end up get 25k scholarship from local leaders for it and she does not need it because her father had a college fund set up for her . So not everyone intention is to scam some crimes just touch you differently

13. Those comments that you spoke of, I was only able to see after I commented. If your intentions are sincere, as well as if you are indeed close to the family or a friend? You must still be hurting over her being gone. There are other ways that you can assist or extend your support to the other grieving parties. Normally though when I have seen a foundations, scholarships or anything started by people in honor of a dearly departed loved one, these things are usually started by immediate members of the deceased family. Parents, children, spouse or siblings.
    You have to be logical and rational. In this modern day era, social media, just the worldwide web in general have been known to harbor scam artists in droves. Think about one site GoFundMe. This was started up to help people in dire situations to raise funds that they don’t have to cover funeral costs, surgeries (not cosmetic nor selective) etc. Now its filled with all kinds of unscrupulous individuals. You may have a sincere heart to help, but the public will be suspicious especially considering the circumstances.
    The family did not announce an initiative to do what you are proposing. You stated that you tried to contact them which resulted in no response from their end. For these reasons as well as you using someone’s name that was recently murdered. There is still an ongoing investigation. It’s a very complicated situation. I will suggest that you name your nonprofit with a title that at first glance express support and outreach for domestic violence and murder victims. Get creative. Your heart is in the right place. I want you to know that if you use names and likeness of people without their or their family’s permission you can be sued. Yes even if the reason behind your project is noble. Good luck. Don’t be discouraged.

14. The condom with teeth is a great idea, ….so are all the other motivational and supportive ideas you have for ur org.

My constrictive criticism is to change the name… whether you indeed are a family member, 1st cousin, distant aunt, uncle, best friend, close friend, long time friend, clearly it doesn’t matter. If her Mother has not returned your contact or even suggested to join in on the venture, clearly the family is not with the idea at the time. Keep the same positive vision, but change the name.

Also for anything involving using victims, get the victims (if theyre alive) or family members (if theyre deceased) permission for using faces, names, other public and private information on victims.

Even as a non profit business its good to consult with/retain a Lawyer to discuss legalities.

Good luck!!!