SOMEONE WITH SENSE

pnp
Dear Editor,
For years I have always disliked Jamaica’s political arena; however, this year is quite different. With all that has been transpiring since Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller ‘flew the gate’ some weeks ago, I can’t help but to sit back, relax and enjoy the show.
The past few days has proven to be an interesting one in Jamaica’s political history. In the government’s quest to evade the national debate, they have demanded an apology from Opposition Leader, Andrew Holness for referring to Portia as a ‘con artist’. For the People’s National Party (PNP) to decline a debate against this background is rather foolish as trash talk among politicians is common during election season.
In the same way high school students’ squabble about their indifferences, politicians hurl words across the fence in an effort to attract the masses. Therefore, the government needs to stop being so petty and get over it. If that was not enough, the PNP also asked for the debate structure to be changed and lastly much to my annoyance, they called for Holness to declare the source of funding for his assets. The Government, not knowing that Holness would be courageous enough to reveal his financial details, opened a can of oil which they seem to now be sliding in as a plethora of questions are now left to be answered by them.
Sponsored Links
8 Poisonous Foods We Commonly Eat
DailyHeathRemedies.com
Bill Cosby’s Net Worth Will Surprise You
BuzzAura
With this in mind, I use this medium to express my unbiased thoughts on the current issues at hand. I am in no way, shape or form affiliated to either political party; I am just an ordinary Jamaican youth who is interested in the affairs of my country and the way it is governed.
National Debates should be mandatory
Firstly, let me address the issue of the debate. For a political party to decline a national debate is rather ludicrous. This shouldn’t even be a questionable issue; national debates during election season should be mandatory. I strongly believe that the PNP’s decision to ‘duck the debate’ was carefully strategised as a ploy to evade the media and the people of Jamaica. Some may want to dismiss the importance of a political debate but they serve as a platform for politicians to discuss their manifestos and it also provides us with an opportunity to assess how well they’re able to think on their feet in challenging situations. While politicians may use rallies and street meetings to mislead the masses, this sort of privilege isn’t afforded in a political debate. Die-hearted supporters already know which party they’re voting for and the debates won’t change their minds. On the other hand, the undecided like myself see the debates as a necessity as they help us to analyze our leaders’ stance on certain issues.
My fellow Jamaicans, it is time we hold our politicians accountable and responsible. I move the motion that leaders of both political parties must participate in mandatory debates during every election campaign; one where members of the media question both leaders, and one which is open to the public. In addition to this, eliminate these flamboyant street rallies and allow for a debate in each constituency between candidates for those areas. We must change our political culture if we want a better future.
Politicians’ assets trivial to Election
With regards to Holness’ assets, I am appalled as to how this even surfaced. Who doesn’t want to enjoy the fruits of their labour? Isn’t it everyone’s dream to live in a mansion, drive a nice vehicle, take trips across the globe and take care of their families? For a politician’s assets and his family affairs to be the centre of a political controversy is beyond me, I can’t fathom how the country is faced with so many problems yet this is what takes forefront. For Peter Phillips to use this as a ploy to distract the electorate from the JLP’s 10-point-plan is absolutely ridiculous. By doing this, he has trekked down a rocky path without even knowing it. Any well-thinking business oriented individual knows that placing all your eggs in one basket and investing all your funds in a country such as Jamaica where the economy is failing is a foolish idea. Which is why being the sensible economist that Holness is, he made a smart move by investing offshore. Being the Finance Minister, one would think that Phillips would understand the reality of the business world.
What needs to happen
Going forward, I propose the following even though sadly, they won’t be implemented:
1) Members of parliament (MPs) should reside in the constituency which they wish to represent; real representation will only be made when one experiences the real needs of people.
2) Ministers of government should be selected, not merely because they have been elected to represent a constituency, but on the basis that they have the knowledge and expertise in the area over which they have been asked to govern.
3) Citizens should be allowed to vote for their party leader separate from their MP’s. We all know that some MP’s do absolutely nothing within the communities they serve; yet, you’re forced to vote for them just so that your favourite party becomes the next ruling government. The number of votes accumulated by MP’s within a particular constituency shouldn’t be a determinant as to who becomes Prime Minister. This is a recipe for disaster. What will happen is that you have a hardworking leader and a lackadaisical MP wherein the candidate who lost in that constituency would make a better MP.
Reason for voting unclear
Why people vote is another issue that I have always baffled with. It is sad that majority of the electorate have no clue as to why they vote; they simply vote on the basis of party favouritism. Let us face the reality that for years Jamaica has been a PNP monopoly, in all my years on Earth they’ve been the people’s favourite. So regardless if Tanto Blacks were leader of the PNP, you would see people walking around talking about “Tana Monae/Real Rich Politics”.
Jamaica’s political elections are not about choosing a better leader for our beloved country; it’s about staying loyal to orange or green. That is why Jamaica’s progress will forever be at a snail’s pace and sadly, that’s not even the fault of the leaders, but the fault of the people. The bells are ringing and the heads are bobbing. Who will it be? On the night of Thursday, February 25 we will know which political party has won the ‘lottery’. I implore you all to think thoroughly before placing your ‘X’ on Thursday as your future and our children’s future depend on it! May God bless Jamaica, land we love.
Concerned Youth
Mandeville, Manchester

6 thoughts on “SOMEONE WITH SENSE

1. I have been sitting and watching the entire fiasco of this Jamaican general election and i am not impressed…..kudos to the writer of this article….well written, articulate and expressive. Come Thursday, Jan 25th we will see where the heads wobble and the bells toll!!!

1. the way yuh sick and tired a the foolishness yuh think wi still in January hush mama..wi know a February yuh mean

1. Piece a shit dem won’t print it. The media houses of Jamaica is what goebbel was to hitler… Dem is the shadow ministry of propaganda fi Jamaica.
      They print half ass facts and not even lickout pon the no debate issue knowing damn well dem reporters a get diss too. Jamaica press corp a bogoyaga to.