SUH A GOOD GOOD BEATING DEM DID GET DEN?

I should have stayed away – Gay man beaten at dead yard amazed by relatives’ reaction

The gay man who was attacked by family members at his great grandmother’s funeral in Westmoreland recently said it’s not the first time he has been beaten because of his sexuality.

The man, who identified himself as K Martin, said that in addition to daily verbal abuse, he has been chopped, stabbed, beaten and has partially lost sight in one of his eyes after his co-workers set a trap for him.

But he said that as painful as those may sound, nothing is more hurtful than the beating he got from his own flesh and blood.

BESIDETHE CASKET

“If me did listen to mi mada this would not have reached me because she tell me say me shouldn’t go. Me still go because me a say a me great granny ting and me say me and me partner a go. But by the time mi aunty give me a wreath and say me fi go put it beside the casket, a man walk up to me and lick me on my shoulder,” he said.

The 24-year-old said he was also hit in the chest with a gun that belonged to a relative. Martin’s partner suffered head and arm injuries.

His aunt, who tried to rescue him, was also chased and threatened by the men who continued to hurl blows at them in the police’s presence.

“All a them a some cousin whe me don’t even know and me don’t do dem a ting. Dem a go tell me say dem no wah no b***y bwoy round dem and me never see dem at all. My partner is even upset because he is saying that I invited him somewhere and my family do him tings. Me feel really bad because to know that we all share the same blood and this happened,” he said.

Martin, who is based in St Ann, said he and his partner were told to leave their residence or they would be killed.

“We are not interfering with anyone. We are supposed to be an educated set of people but nothing has changed,” he said.

In a bid to escape the attacks and insults, Martin said he has stopped working at a hotel and even travels a different route whenever he has to go on the road because “sometimes the youth dem on the street take set on me.”

“I am very good at my job but for the past eight months I cannot work because a few of my co-workers set up a chemical and it spill in my eyes so now I can’t see clearly. But other than that, me just can’t manage the insult dem,” he said.

He said he has even attempted suicide.

“Everyone has their life to live and I cannot live another person own or vice versa. It’s full time Jamaicans leave people to be themselves,” he said.

9 thoughts on “SUH A GOOD GOOD BEATING DEM DID GET DEN?

1. I am telling you the honest truth, my heart grief over his story, how can families do this to their own flesh and blood, while I don’t love the lifestyle, I am going to love my family, just like God hates sin, but loves the sinner, this is a wicked act, especially at a funeral, for his dearly departed grandmother, I don’t understand we Jamaicans, a child was raped, murdered, and burned to death, and we don’t run in and beat the perpetrators of such an heinous crime, what a gay person do with themselves is on them, as long as they don’t bring it to me, or try force their life styles on anyone, and I am not condoning it, as it is wrong in the eyes of God, but to do this to your own family? That’s another story.

2. Him lucky Granny never rise and box him. Not even to my grave I don’t want MY SON bring no man. God forbid he chooses to live that lifestyle, he will always be welcome but he can NEVER under no circumstances bring a Man or wear a dress, wig, woman shoes nor lipstick in my presence. Take that shit were you’ll be accepted bout me and my partner(BRIGHT). Maybe thats the reason they mud him up because he flaunting it in their faces. Move uptown or link the Gully Queens…no dem run Jamaica.

3. @Bammy, you raised a good point regarding the brutal murder/s and desecration of these poor babies, in recent times. Now, THAT’S something to focus and act on!

I very strongly believe that if he opted to attend the funeral by his lonesome, this wouldn’t have transpired. I think they felt utterly violated that not only has he chosen such a lifestyle, but had the audacity to come amongst them with his “partner” in tow, as though it’s nothing. He SHOULD NOT have done that! Granted, he’s already theirs, irrespective of the lifestyle he’s chosen, but I think they thought he crossed the line, by bringing company; for he MUST HAVE known that his family has little to no tolerance appertaining that aspect of his life!

I am yet to fathom WHYYYYYYYYYY ON GOD’S EARTH these people choose to live like this! Even here in America, it’s no walk in the park, being gay, let alone Jamaica. In the most liberal countries on earth, gays have their FAIR/UNFAIR share of battles and ill treatment as a result of their way of life. I CAN/WILL NEVER get why an individual would elect to lead such a risky, contemptuous, miserable, painful, trying, troubled life. Smh

4. Dem set a cousin deh soon dead and gone, hear him seh dem a gun man, dem soon meet dem match, what I’ve seen is that some of these gay men have more love in them than the ones criticising them and take better care of their elders and siblings, so in my eyes they are more a credit to society than some of these reprobates walking around with guns who don’t even like them self much less family

5. “Everyone has their life to live and I cannot live another person own or vice versa. It’s full time Jamaicans leave people to be themselves,” he said.

Yep that part… He’s fully right about that part.

6. smh from me deh a school me teacher dem always tell me when me a make presentation to know my audience … ergo dis young man should have known not to present himself with a partner if his family would not be receptive … he said his mother warned him … not justifying the actions of the family cuz what they did was abhorrent but doan rub butter inna puss mout. At huge family gatherings ppls emotions run high and funerals are no exception so anything that provides an outlet from the immediate pain is a target. I am sorry your family felt the need to abuse you there is no excuse for that kind of behavior but now you know how they truly feel about your lifestyle stay away from them.

7. THEY COULD HAVE ASKED HIM TO LEAVE…I dont condone this behavior at all. They had no right to physically abuse him bunch of ANIMALS. This is so painful to read. I can bet u the ones who initiated the attack are probably badman and menace to society..I cant with that illiterate group. Their are heinous crimes being carried out as we speak and many know and turn a blind eye. Hypocrisy at best!!!!

8. Boo rass ooooo.. See is one big tinking dutty family weh walk clean up bout dem a fight a funeral. Dem deh a di dead an wah kill more dead a wah dat. Sumbaddi ill shit inna di miggle an no family memba nuh wahh clear it up.