Dear Met,
We will have varying views by people when the question of what is the main problem you find with Jamaica’s police force. I know of a situation that I witnessed which proves the number #1 complaint I’VE ALWAYS seen and heard about our cops.The criticism is why our cops always a pressure the lil man,dem focus on small fries and the big fishes operate with impunity,untouchable even.
I’M passing the inspector and 2 of his squadies, the music wasn’t loud but we all heard it.Met u know those guys who sell CDs and dem push a lil hand trolley with the speakers and a battery to power them lil radio? The inspector barked”come HERE,yuh have any weapon on yuh bwoy”
Looking at the yute probably for like 20secs,a profile emerged of one of those gangsta yutes who kinda put down the badness and a try the honest route.He frighteningly answered”no sah”
But squadies already had guns drawn trained on him cuz like I said he looked menacing but instantly I felt frightened too,for him at least.
Inspector barked more orders”you will be charged under the noise abatement act,do you not see the supreme Court in session!!The Gangsta looking yute broke OUT crying,i felt a knot in my stomach and a lump in my throat but I managed a feeble plea of “Give him a bly Boss please”The look of “if you don’t MOVE yuh $@#&$ from ya SUH” that the cop gave me would normally send me scurrying.However the yute was crying and babbling something about cops tekking a set pon poor ppl and why dem don’t go look for Gunman! I knew right away if I leave him , a beating would be imminent for running off his mouth at cops. I intervened Met.
I said “Super can I pay his fine?”
Inspector look me up and down in such a way that I knew the deal was on.
“Spec please use your discretion and let him go,i don’t know but the sun is so hot,maybe u can buy 2 juices with this and cool down? I gave him my phone, the cash was underneath it,he pretended to examine my phone and return it minus the cash. I walked off and at a distance I took a picture of them releasing the CD yute.Met this is the system in Jamaica and while I’m not proud of what I did,niether am I ashamed.Powerful forces in our country bribe police to bypass drugs,weapons,make files disappear for rapists,murderers even dropped charges too. The police decided to not charge the CD yute and I applauded the decision and expressed my gratitude and pleasure via buying dem drinks,perfectly legal or is it?
Oh and YES,WE are all a part of the problem because we are a part of the same system because we uphold with the breaking of the law once it is our loved ones or someone we are sympathetic to.All of us broke the law BUT some will see me as a good Samaritan aiding a perfect stranger, the state not paying cops nowhere near dem true value so some ppl especially squadies’s family view this as supplementary income,survival even. The CD yute will break the law again because he suffered no consequences.All I can do at this stage is go Church and pray for forgiveness but hey welcome to Jamrock!
Attachments area