THE NEW CULTURED JAMAICANS( FRIEND KILLERS)

killer

When I began JMG I have to say I was naive to a lot of the goings on our Jamaican culture maybe because it was hard to accept that there was really so much sick-hate in our people.
There is a new breed of Jamaicans a friend of mine calls ”friend killers”, they are found in the trenches of the Jamaican garrisons , the place where more than fifty percent of Jamaicans call home.
Gone are the days of genuine friendships, in the new Jamaica, you have no friends or even family.

And it begins with the men; There may be a baby mother/wife at home and that man will not deny there is a woman in the house but he will tell a woman he is sleeping with everything intimate about that woman knowing fully well he will not leave. But, the betrayal and disloyalty is the norm for the new breed.

The new breed have a love for cliques and sects because they thrive off the energy of others incapable of realizing their own potential so the members of the clique really means nothing,its their energy that they need..Each one dependent on the energy of the other
The U.S law enforcement has to have Jamaicans as some of the biggest rats in the system because once they are able to have a sit-down with a Jamaican, just about everyone that Jamaican knows, whether he/she had a problem with them before, all of their business will be told…But lets get to the matter at hand..The friend killers…

I remember a killing in Queens with Lefrac along with two other men, what rang to me was how the killer knew exactly where their car was at the time they pulled up. The person who supplied the information to the killer, had to be supplied by a friend, a friend who had shared a drink with them perhaps moments before, laughed with them. But, set them for dead and may have gone to his funeral, mourning as if his ”friend died”.Friend killer.

During the Dudus trial, there was an audio released where Dudus conversed with a man who told him he loved him and was concerned for him and the way in which the men were running things in Tivoli . It was later revealed that,this man was also friends with the men who he told Dudus were disloyal to him and he was working for the FEDS. He, was telling a man he was setting up he loved him..Friend killer.

Shawn Storm, whose family was intertwined with Lizard’s family and who had no personal falling out with Lizard was able to carry Lizard to his death. He went back home, ate, slept and pretended not to know or feel anything for the young man who he had known all his life, the mother of his son, who was family to Lizard , also went on about her life…Friend killer/Family killer

Chow, the main witness for the prosecution in knowing that he was testifying against Kartel and Shawn storm, hailed Shawn Storm for his birthday, knowing that he was on the stand to testify against him, brought a shock to my system until I realized that his aunt who had raised him and promised his father that she would take care of him when he died accepted a bribe that would have set Kartel free if it worked and put her nephew’s life in danger. Family Killer.

Jamaicans trading drugs have never experienced real success for long because there is always a friend, who will for nothing, befriend the enemy sometimes for nothing and set his ”friend” up to be robbed or killed.

The line of loyalty has diminished for some and has vanished for others. For me, looking at the recent killing of the young man ”Jamey” who was involved in wrong doings but his back was left open by a friend. The friend was present at the shooting and went along with them to the hospital where he/she was able to take pictures and send back to the person who ordered the hit. The same friend who will most definitely be at his funeral and pretend to grieve along with everyone else. It makes me wonder about the time it was being said on the streets that Kartel sent a group of men to fire shots at Mavado and at the same time they were shooting, he called Mavado on the phone and was talking to him. Is this how Jamaicans roll now? I can become your friend, laugh with you, drink with you but all while seeing your blood run and walk over you?

What has created this culture?

0 thoughts on “THE NEW CULTURED JAMAICANS( FRIEND KILLERS)

1. “Your Worst Enemy Could Be Your Best Friend & Your Best Friend Your Worst Enemy”
    ― Bob Marley
    Now a days you can hardly tell your enemies from your friends….

2. Bwoy metty yu lick di nail right pan di head (the friends killer dem) the ( family killer dem) good morning mi dear. Aye sah inna mi granny voice

3. What has created the culture? Good question. I will say it is the same for small Islanders and even the African American community. Maybe Obara can weigh in on how it may be some result of institutional slavery

1. smh u know africans rarely do it but it ina Jamaicans nuff..a di real bad mine dis ..and is because dem know di person all dem life and the person did poor and never have noting and a get a little something then its time to kill dem

4. I must say it is not only with men. I have experienced it as a woman . I had a fren I knew for years and the moment I started dating a man who was helping me she bece my worst enemy. The worst part was that she ate and drink with me call me for things she want for her and her child and was talking my business behind my back to strangers not knowing that the stranger knew someone who I was friends with. I cried for days because it was someone who smiled so much with me and I did so much good for but yet she would set me up and kill me if she got the opportunity. Could you believe she still wanted to be friends with me after I confronted her about the things she said. People are evil and it’s all because of bad mind. Old time ppl said you will see a man face but you can’t see his heart . They will never want to see you doing better than them.

1. Yes some of the women are just as bad they will kill another woman because their life may be going better than their’s

5. You are so on point with this article ‘Met’…I am from the ‘garrison’ and it is the friends who always kill their friends. There is no loyalty among themselves….Badmind is the root of this evil in our beloved island….God help us

1. Morning I am so sorry for Jamaica because mi nuh understand this new breed . How do u smile with someone and set them up to die?

6. Psalm 41:9
    He who Shared My Bread Lifts his Heel

…8″A wicked thing is poured out upon him, That when he lies down, he will not rise up again.” 9Even my close friend in whom I trusted, Who ate my bread, Has lifted up his heel against me. 10But You, O LORD, be gracious to me and raise me up, That I may repay them.…

Cross References
    Matthew 26:23
    Jesus replied, “The one who has dipped his hand into the bowl with me will betray me.

Luke 22:21
    But the hand of him who is going to betray me is with mine on the table.

John 13:18
    “I am not referring to all of you; I know those I have chosen. But this is to fulfill this passage of Scripture: ‘He who shared my bread has turned against me.’

John 17:12
    While I was with them, I protected them and kept them safe by that name you gave me. None has been lost except the one doomed to destruction so that Scripture would be fulfilled.

2 Samuel 15:12
    While Absalom was offering sacrifices, he also sent for Ahithophel the Gilonite, David’s counselor, to come from Giloh, his hometown. And so the conspiracy gained strength, and Absalom’s following kept on increasing.

Job 19:13
    “He has alienated my family from me; my acquaintances are completely estranged from me.

Job 19:19
    All my intimate friends detest me; those I love have turned against me.

Psalm 55:12
    If an enemy were insulting me, I could endure it; if a foe were rising against me, I could hide.

Psalm 55:13
    But it is you, a man like myself, my companion, my close friend,

Jeremiah 20:10
    I hear many whispering, “Terror on every side! Denounce him! Let’s denounce him!” All my friends are waiting for me to slip, saying, “Perhaps he will be deceived; then we will prevail over him and take our revenge on him.”

Jeremiah 41:1
    In the seventh month Ishmael son of Nethaniah, the son of Elishama, who was of royal blood and had been one of the king’s officers, came with ten men to Gedaliah son of Ahikam at Mizpah. While they were eating together there,

Jeremiah 41:2
    Ishmael son of Nethaniah and the ten men who were with him got up and struck down Gedaliah son of Ahikam, the son of Shaphan, with the sword, killing the one whom the king of Babylon had appointed as governor over the land.

Obadiah 1:7
    All your allies will force you to the border; your friends will deceive and overpower you; those who eat your bread will set a trap for you, but you will not detect it.

Micah 7:5
    Do not trust a neighbor; put no confidence in a friend. Even with the woman who lies in your embrace guard the words of your lips.

see it dey, anyone can change on you.

7. I guess we as Jamaican is following the American government saying “my enemy enemies is my friend” and but true

1. When was this said by the American government……..now when did this trend begin in Jamaica, PULEEEEEEEEEEZE stop blaming everything in the world on Americans! People are who they are because of the evil within’, it is only exposed now more than ever and a big part of this exposure can be thanks to modern technology!

8. Morning Metti. Bad mind, greed, envy, but more than anything Ungodlyness. Every man for himself that is the attitude these days. No love for thier fellow man or sense of loyalty.

9. Hey I can speak on this matter from experience I am from poor n humble beginnings so poor were water did not run through the pipes of my house we had to hook our hose to my neighbors pipe n lead it to the kitchen bathroom n so on for use we slept 4-5 to a room n to think someone who I shared this life with would go to ppl I INTRODUCED her to n speak all kinda things about personal things that I decided not to share with anyone who wasn’t apart of my life when it happened, n for what she saw that these ppl were kind n giving and because a greed n badmind she was mad that me n them had such a good friendship. But the same ppl dem turn round tell everything n say they could neva trust her cause if she betray me that she grow with wat will she do to them smh boy a DONT know if is a Jcan ting or black thing but it sad bad smh

1. Chuet mi think is a jamaican think is like a piece a evil ina dem whey nuh normal yo..i find myself not wanting to have too many jamaicans around me..i can’t deal

1. Met its just who you associate with the kind of friend and company you keep they dont have to be necessarily Jamaican any race! If yuh inna dirty dealings u aguh stumble upon dirty people with dutty heart and mind. Just haffi watch out and nuh keep nuh whole heep a friend me learn that.

2. Met mi say everyday me think bout it believe I have forgiven her but I can never be the same with her again smh I’m fraid a too much ppl period I keep my circle small n tight cause I’m a private person but ppl who u know from birth or from early childhood who just because them see u a make a rise is very scary to me smh no wonda Kartel sing say him no trust ppl nowadays u have to really study ppl different cause ppl all grudge ppl fi dem struggles dese days not only u success

1. forgiving someone nuh mean say u haffi accept them back in your life…i wouldn’t be able to chuet that is a side a me i wish i could change…when i get to the point where i feel its time to let go i cannot turn back.

1. I’m a very forgiving person Met u have to really hurt me for me to cut u off completely but I see that sometimes it’s best to cut every muma RASS off fi real

2. dwl…mi know man…a suh unuh tan…haaaard fi forgive once you get hurt. I’m a Cancer and you sound just like me, that’s why I asked

10. To put another twist to this,I think sometimes wwhat’s causing these type of violence amongst each other is the fact that SOMETIMES you grow up with a person with nothing then all of a sudden one person buss start to eat food ( money) then he/she start moving sideways (not eating with the ppl he use to starve with) start buss an par with bare new ppl then when ever they talk now its all about what they got and how much it cost etc not remembering the struggles he /she went thru with the same ppl so a person will start to feel some type of way and loose all respect because he/she chose royalty over loyalty

1. Sometimes it would seem like the person a move side ways but if a person is a real friend dem will confront it and cut lef dem but fi set up someone u grow up wid is a new breed a evil

2. But it’s beyond me why ppl feel that they are entitled to others achievements DONT me wrong I couldn’t leave a friend behind who was there from the jump but u have ppl who feel that because u make a money that money belong to dem that’s not right

1. Yesssss it buck inna some ppl more than others the white man have long since recognized the crab inna barrel mentality that is within us so when him want to bring us down he don’t even have to do the dirty work by himself him send a friend or family member it sad bad

11. Its just life ! GOOD/EVIL

Some people are born with good hearts and nothing will ever change that. While some people are just pretenders they cant be happy for nobody all if unu a fren all if a yuh owna blood its just how they are and nothing will change it. Some people believe in order to get by in life you have to be evil you cant be a good person. While others are humble.

12. Good day Ms Met & all good in heart!!!

This is the wheat and tares, the children of Yahweh, and the children of the devil…
    “Let both grow together until the harvest, and at the time of harvest I will say to the reapers, “First gather together the tares and bind them in bundles to burn them, but gather the wheat into my barn.””…
    Beware of the company u choose and put your trust in Yah…

1. Thank you for sharing, that took courage.
        Re: 9:52 comment – Met, that’s why we all need listen to the discerning spirit (the still quiet voice that directs us in the right path). So, we can see not just situations but people for who and what they are. Our trust should always remain with God and not men. We are imperfect and will disappoint ourselves and others at times. But God remains the same.

1. Amen..thats why the morning prayers for the 7 days mi mek sure read it before day break so that God can always direct me fi real

13. people say am cold but as a one violate in real way man or woman me juss cut dem off so dem nuh get nuh second chance my phone use to ring 100 a day now if it ring 3 time that nuff and the dancehall circle is the biggest poison for that bz people like excitement i got ridicule how my instagram page boring always hear hype life bring nine night

14. This hit close to home because it’s so much I can say in this topic from experience it first hand..just don’t want to incriminate anyone.. But I will say Friends do kill friends, and it all stem from jealous FACT!

15. R. Remember
    E. Everybody
    A. Ain’t
    L. Loyal

I am baffled that these type of people are surprising to y’all….The stories I can tell!!! THIS IS FROM JUDAS days!

16. that culture stems from NOTHING, EMPTINESS. A BIG EMPTY SPACE. no drive to get to a better place. ANIMAL LIVING , just looking as far as your eyes can see. we grew poor and it mold us for life . some use where we come from to fuel us to go ahead. to higher levels. no matter what we do . then u have some who cant dream and act on them ambition who just live as far as they can see. rob you to pop a bottle in the party tonight while them kids are eating CUP A NOODLE. FRIEND KILLERS ALWAYS THINK THAT THE WORLD OWE DEM.

1. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! u hit the nail on the head they feel the world is obligated to them mi dont know where it come from..

17. Shani “side-bar” ….yuh have any idea Shantal (Rosie sista) last name. I get a inquiry. Lol. Or anyone reading that knows. Por favor. Gracias.

18. Wow@ met well said . And not only friends but family too staying away from those two words ,, :tkp :tkp

19. Kartel seh him nuh trust people but can people trust him.Every nationality complain about their own people but there is something about Jamaicans that is very different from others.Too many DICK RIDERS and YES MAN/WOMAN.For 50 cent these people will sell you.

20. Greed and fear. But above all…..heartlessness (mi mek up dah word deh). Our young generation in Jamaica has been desensitized for years now….to the point where taking someone’s life is like breathing air. Nuff a dem weh a kill ppl today, whether it is for money or out of fear…..has either seen someone being killed or watch someone die. Dem see so much evilous (my word dat too) tings growing up an witness so much violence dat dem grow without regard for human life. Cause if dem did have a heart, dem wudevn kill a dog on the street. Mi sorry fi Jamaica because especially nowadays with ppl recording killings and other crimes…..violence and crime tings like dat commin like joke to nuff likkle yute. Look pon di man dem stone to death in Clarendon weh day. Woman wid likke pickney stand up an watch dat. Kids deh one side a watch. Crime for nuff a dem is learned behavior. It sad fi say it but a nuff likkle yute now a grow up wid icebox ina dem chest. Nuff talk the talk but don’t walk the walk cause Jamaicans quick fi talk bout loyalty and sell out…..yet dem have no loyalty to nothing and to no one. Is like how a man get mad if yuh talk bout him madda but yet still him don’t know how she eat. Him love him madda so much him will kill a man if a man diss har….yet she ina di ghetto a suffer. Dem talk bout loyalty but don’t know how to show it. It’s sad all around.

21. All FRI(END). Must end
    All ship must sink FRIEND(SHIP)

Your enemy could never hurt you them haffi stay far and yuh watching out fi dem. must be yuh friend Especially if money is involved dog eat yuh suppa.

22. First off, this is not a new phenomena by Jamaican men. If you read the Shower Posse Book, you will see the same type of friend setting up friends from Tivoli for Robbery and killing as far back as the 1970s. A lot of the drug related killing back in the late 1970s and 1980s was due to envy and greed among friends. Lost a schoolmate who was scrimping from his other home grown dealers and was shot to death in New York by his own cronies. As someone who said above, it just because of the internet and technology why it appears as if it is a recent thing.

BTW, most thugs on the street don’t really trust their so-called friends. These guys have a 6-sense that most of us don’t have. They lose their life because they eventually let down their guard and that is when the Ninja’s strike. Remember, all Jamaican soldiers want to be leaders and will never settle for being a soldier. That desire to be the leader is why they get killed before they kill the leader.

The other thing with Jamaican men, they have a hard time concealing their true self, if you watch their body language and their eyes. You know you are a target (and in big trouble) when they refuse to look you in the eye. I know this by study these ex-gangsters who try to change their life, but cannot put badness behind them. They will bite the hand that feeds them, just to screw you (the feeder) in the process. It is the dumbest thing I have ever seen. They will kill you today and starve tomorrow, while feeling good that they got rid of you for no reason, but being bad mine.

1. Yes they will kill today and starve tomorrow…that is the part I dont get so is like dem a go spend dem whole life time being snakes then smh

23. To me it is a poor (ghetto) people thing. The Italians, poor Jews and Irish did the same back in the early 1920s through to the 1980s in USA, Sicily and Ireland.

24. I don’t want any friend from any Jamaican gals, I have white friends and Spanish friends. I don’t want them around me nor my family once they are Jamaicans.

25. LL it is foolish ti think having white and spanish friends only. Spanish are mostly black. But as a Jamaican n not wanting no jamaican roun u nah help solve d problem. We understand d envy n bad mine n nonsense killings. But we need fi look how we can solve it. Lets try a convo wid try solving d problems. Anyone wid ideas can start put them up.

1. True..It would be good if we could show how people succeeded being unified and hear from someone who was betrayed and from someone who betrayed a person …then we could find out why then take it from there..

2. I understand what you are saying but it’s the experience I’ve had with them why I made that choice.

26. It’s been that way for ages. You a talk bout fren alone try fambly to, dem worse. Set you up fi tun roun laff afta you, you tink dem easy. I learned that shit the hard way, I keep to miself dese days and hold to God as mi primary source of friendship. Many a wi nah read wi dreams and other signs wi receive wi suh blind all when di spirit a God a scream out in wi eayze wi deaf to it. I seen dem in mi dreams more than once and I teck it as mawk fi trod mi own road. Please also memba a whole passel a dem a ride obeah man and ooman fi dem fren and fambly fi hold dem dung.

1. Yup yup I’ve heard of instances whey sister have sister name pon paper with candle light pon it dem family caaaaa no easy a rass

27. When mi a read bout Jamey death mi tell somebody that is him owner friend line him up him friend on the phone a direct the killers when to come then the the friend turn round and help put him a vehicle to escort to the hospital to make it dont look suspicious. In these days trust no one not even some of u own family. U cant find loyal friends anymore has u step up bad mind kicks in.

28. I do not think it is a “Jamaican” thing or that it beholden to any one culture, it is a Human thing.

Since the beginning of time human beings have been betraying each other for one reason or the next, and often time for no reason at all, some people are just innately evil.

Snitch, informer, traitor, betrayer et al, are all the same thing. From time began this is a quality in human beings, matters not where they are from or what ethnicity.

The world is full of backstabbers, betrayers, thieves, and liars, hate and jealousy, wicked people, vile and ruthless . They walk among us, they are related to us, we marry them, or have them as boyfriends or girlfriends, they are our leaders, employers, boss, best friends, co-workers, employees and then some. Enemies are everywhere, and the most dangerous ones are the secret ones. When a dog barks you know his intention, but the cat, simply watches without sound!

In Africa here,my husband always says “In this world trust no one, but how can you live a life without trusting anyone?

Some people are good actors and carry out their betrayal with the victim having no idea of the evil they are amongst.

It is a sad affair but sadly one which some people are destined to pass through and there are explanations for this.
    Julius Caesar was betrayed by his own nephew Brutus
    Jesus by Judas (although poor Judas was hand picked for the job, because he was the most learned/advanced disciple believe it or not, he understood the Christ consciousness and the message his master had brought to the world)
    Khalid Mohammed’s death have people speculating if his wife Ambush (hear har name?) did it, as she cannot be found after he died allegedly.

It is the way of the world. Towns, Cities, villages and countries have been built and many people rich and live in opulence because some body or a group or race was sold out. The whole slave trade was built on this, people selling out their own. Empires were built in Europe and all over because some traitor or informer did his or her job.

It is a cycle, and it will forever be. There are Universal Laws which explains all of this, and some people have to be on either end of this very bad game, but again it is what some people have to face as a part of their journey here to this world.

This will continue until the end of time,and time (as we understand it) shall never end!

29. Bless up Obara meji good to hear from u! I had dream tht a white rat was in my bed sniffing around as I slept. I woke up and saw the rat, but was too exhausted to get it off my bed, so I layed and watched it until I fell back to sleep. I was not scared because it was not trying to attach me, but I didn’t want it on my bed. Any ideas what this means?
    Afternoon Met.

1. Hello Anonymous, a rat in a dream is a betrayer, or a thief, someone who wants to in a sneaking way deceive you, however it is a white rat which makes a difference, and the fact that you woke up and saw it says something else to me. It is night time in Africa now and in our culture we cannot speak of dreams at nights, so I will stop here, just be aware and be smart!

1. Thanks Obama Meji, hopefully in the morning you can go into more detail for me. The dream seemed like it was real life.

30. Sleep a kill mi but this topic is so interesting and the comments way more interesting. Thanks to the scriptures quoted esp to Obara I learned several things here. We just have to be vigilant and pray forconstant guidance and protection

31. I met some of the best and worst people when I was in Jamaica.

The best people were the ones I could trust with my life, they were willing to help me no matter what. Mek sure mi good an safe an happy.

The worst people were the ones who acted as though they were friends: laugh/eat/drink/party together but the minute I need help, they disappear. It’s a good way to find out who your real friends are.

I also had two “friends” set mi up fi some crazy ting, and when the plan get mash up, they come look for mi and lick mi. Dey was 2 Jamaican bad mind…wid a name like Strawberry yuh can guess mi a gyal. Mi still cyaan believe dey would lick mi…2 men lick 1 gyal! Mi nuh do nuttin fi hurt dem mi was always nice an sweet wid dem. Mi neva find out how dem set mi up until me get outta da hospital…

When bad mind find nice people dem jus want tek advantage.

Greed and money are some of the main reasons why friend and family killers exist.

32. Met you are on point with titis one I haven’t commented on any topic for a long time but this one i had to add my two cents , It is not just a Jamaican ting , working in a multicultural environment you hear stories daily from Africans,Indians,Chinese,Caucasian . What surprised me is the betrayal within families in every race , the friend one was always there it’s just that violence is more now. The main factor seem to be greed the world of technology have people so caught up in evil where people will do anything to have.Look how many affricans dying to get to Europe our people in South Africa killing each other SMH , women don’t value themselves naked for designer stuff or to be seen . All is not lost there are few decent ones left

33. It’s sad but it’s very true, everyone is on point… LA had their fair share of friends setting up one another and people murder from its coming like the new trend… i try to tell my man friends as soon as they start to complain bout dem friend’s if you feel that way bout him you need not be so close and watch your back it comes like don’t invite people to your house. I learned my lesson this girl wasn’t never my friend and her actions made me completely stop talking to her being around her and now I see all rhe things we were planning to do that was all that is being done with someone else… i rather not have people that’s not good for me around me… i will never chat her business and I would up she wouldn’t blut you never know with these no good bitches!

Leave a Reply to obara meji Cancel reply